Chevron Left
Aboriginal Worldviews and Education(으)로 돌아가기

토론토 대학교의 Aboriginal Worldviews and Education 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
340개의 평가
172개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Intended for both Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal learners, this course will explore indigenous ways of knowing and how they can benefit all students. Topics include historical, social, and political issues in Aboriginal education; terminology; cultural, spiritual and philosophical themes in Aboriginal worldviews; and how Aboriginal worldviews can inform professional programs and practices, including but not limited to the field of education....

최상위 리뷰

CB

2021년 9월 14일

This course was amazing, I first took Indigenous Canada and this was my 2nd course. I felt I had to learn all I can on these important and current issues - a better understanding is what we all need.

CB

2021년 3월 25일

I really enjoyed this course and I learned a lot. Thank you so much for the time and energy you put into creating it and providing it in this way so people from all over can enhance their learning.

필터링 기준:

Aboriginal Worldviews and Education의 177개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Irene S

2020년 11월 3일

I want to thank the University of Toronto for giving me and others around the world the opportunity to attend this course. It was so interesting. It increased my cultural baggage and my humanity a lot. Thanks also to Prof, Restoule for his clarity and the evident commitment in his job.

교육 기관: Marion T

2020년 8월 9일

An excellent overview of very difficult issues. I would have appreciated a complete references list on a stand alone document. also the video transcripts could be bundled into one pdf so that students can compare the texts back and forth.

Thank you for the chance to learn this!

교육 기관: Carol J

2021년 12월 17일

T​his is actually geared towards teachers, but provides valuable insights for the lay person wanting to better understand North American Indigenous worldviews. The accopanying YouTube videos are must-see, and this resource is probably the most valuable for non-teachers.

교육 기관: Amanda M L

2021년 8월 2일

This was a genuinely engaging and valuable starting point for understanding Aboriginal culture and where education in our modern society has come from the days of residential schools and their harmful intent to reduce culture and stability in the indegineous community.

교육 기관: Agnieszka M

2022년 4월 22일

It was an eye opening experience and I have learned many things that surprised me. There were many valuable resources shared throughou t the course content. The only suggestion I have is to keep updating the content and especially the discussion posts.

교육 기관: Jude O

2020년 6월 13일

This study is beyond my imagination,,as it exceeded my expectations and renewed a passion to study and learn more about indigenous people and their very unique cultural identity. The course is worth more than than any price tag you can ever imagine

교육 기관: jessica h

2020년 11월 8일

This was the best course. I loved the way the information was presented and the additional resources lead me on a wonderful journey of learning and contemplation. I hope that one day I will be able to take some of these classes in person. Miigwetch!

교육 기관: Richard J

2020년 9월 22일

The course provided a new perspective on the negative effects of imposed non-native education systems and values as well as providing an understanding of how positive change can be implemented.

Many thanks for the opportunity. R. Joseph, Halifax, NS

교육 기관: Alison M

2020년 11월 18일

An essential course delivered by an expert and empathetic instructor. In my opinion, this course is a must for educators in Canada, anyone working with aboriginal populations, or anyone who cares about the past, present and future of the country.

교육 기관: Mutheu M

2021년 2월 22일

This was an extremely enlightening course. I have learned SO much and I will definitely be going over some of the material again, as well as recommending the course to others. I share what I have learned with others almost daily now.

Thank you.

교육 기관: Joyce N

2017년 7월 16일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I learned so much about the history of our First Peoples. The teachings and teachers were exceptional. Thank you for making these courses available to those of us that cannot attend a class room setting.

교육 기관: Gerry E R

2021년 3월 17일

i grew up as an aboriginal person my mother was Cree treaty 6 territory, so I know what the society had in store for us as children grewing up and it was not a pretty sight. This course took me back to my youth and its powerful.

교육 기관: Mava S

2020년 9월 11일

I believe this course offers a very good foundation for people new to Indigenous knowledge and the history of Aboriginal people in Canada. I personally learned a great deal and feel motivated to learn even more about the topic.

교육 기관: Lauren K

2019년 10월 8일

A wonderful course with a fantastic instructor! This course is very informative for anyone who wants to learn more about the Aboriginal population and includes discussions of their history, current issues, and the future.

교육 기관: Yvonne W

2020년 6월 12일

Excellent, thoughtful, and dynamic course! I would highly recommend it. My only critique is that the links on the site should be updated since several are broken (saves time from looking it up in the discussion forums).

교육 기관: Boris T

2017년 4월 7일

This has been an phenomenal course on the education and worldviews of First Nations people. As an educator in a First Nation's community in Ontario's north, the knowledge in the lectures has been phenomenal.

교육 기관: Anne B

2021년 8월 16일

Very educational and grounded. I felt myself growing in both understanding and disappointment . I wish that I could speak to my ancestors to help them see how blind they were. I am now definitely an Ally.

교육 기관: Susan D

2021년 3월 13일

This has been my most challenging course in more than a decade of my participation in Coursera.org. My humble accolades to the Instructor, and the many others who invite ALL of us, to change the world.

교육 기관: Dawn S

2020년 9월 17일

I really enjoyed the content, It brought about many emotions and clarity, while still guiding my inquiry and desire to learn more and further my journey towards better understanding and reconciliation.

교육 기관: ANGELO R S

2017년 12월 3일

I appreciated the course because of its rather specific worldview. A very interesting introduction to another way of thinking, and seeing historical facts from a quite different perspective.

교육 기관: Hally H

2022년 2월 2일

First Nations in Canada. This one is head and shoulders above the rest.

Thanks ever so much for putting on the course, it was incredible and possibly life changing learning experience.

교육 기관: Katie O

2021년 9월 28일

The instructor is super knowledgable and provides clear insight and perspectives in Aboriginal Worldviews and Education. I am hooked. This will not be my last Coursera course!

교육 기관: Colleen G

2021년 11월 18일

T​his is an excellent course for teachers to take to increase their foundational knowledge and pedagogical knowledge of First Nations, Metis, and Inuit history and education.

교육 기관: Jennifer T

2020년 10월 14일

Fantastic starter for understanding perspective. I can now understand the Canadian news better than I ever have, and I am asking better questions, especially of politicians.

교육 기관: Titilayo S

2020년 8월 29일

This course was a journey worth taking. I have learnt so much and engaged in self reflections that would make me forever empathise with and appreciate aboriginal world views.