Chevron Left
After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure(으)로 돌아가기

코펜하겐대학교의 After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
343개의 평가
94개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

최상위 리뷰

JY

Apr 15, 2020

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK

Oct 13, 2018

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

필터링 기준:

After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure의 94개 리뷰 중 76~94

교육 기관: Glenn H

May 07, 2020

Interesting course.

교육 기관: RAID A R S

May 28, 2020

Excellent course

교육 기관: Abdulaziz S B

Jan 26, 2020

Excellent .

교육 기관: Mahmoud E

Apr 15, 2019

very good

교육 기관: Antoine C

Jan 20, 2018

Aw

교육 기관: VARUN P

Jun 08, 2020

The course seemed to be interesting in the starting and end but was quite boring for some time in the middle. I myself found some terms used in the course difficult as being a student from a science background. All the topics and aspects were fully covered with an unbiased approach. I would be glad to learn more from you in the future.

교육 기관: Aude P

Dec 28, 2017

It would be better to add more illustrations, and when pictures are shown, to comment them. As it is, it is hard to read the picture caption, and listen to the speaker (even harder when one has to read the transcript)

There are some mistakes in the english transcript

교육 기관: Sara A M

Mar 29, 2018

the course is very good,I learned a lot of information I didn't know before .

although sometimes I felt that there is generalizations, and sometimes the instructor was biased.

I think they also should add the model answer and the justification

교육 기관: Ana S

Sep 29, 2017

The course is very interesting. It's important to understand the world we live in and it's important to understand the reasons of its current state. It's a light course, but it provides an interesting overview of the Arab exception.

교육 기관: Christine J

Jun 30, 2020

I found the course very interesting and appreciated the references to Arab, European and American authors and scholars. However, the course does not at all emphasize the differences between Arab countries.

교육 기관: Tatjana G

Aug 28, 2017

The course is very interesting and helpful to understand the big picture. But sometimes I lost the overview at which point of the review/ discussion we actually are. Anyway, I recommend the course.

교육 기관: Rebecca T

Feb 10, 2019

Overall, a very interesting and deep look at a the structural issues which plague the Arab Spring. The readings, however, consistently required more then the allotted 1 hour set in the course.

교육 기관: Moises G G

May 17, 2020

Good experience and materials. It is neccesary to consider external factors in the same manner as internal ones.

교육 기관: Danny C

May 15, 2020

Meaningful insights on the causes and consequences of the Arab spring from several points of view

교육 기관: Aishwarya S

Jun 13, 2020

Very interesting

교육 기관: Smriti L

May 27, 2020

nice course

교육 기관: Rory P M

Apr 08, 2020

Awful. Quizzes are broken down unnecessarily and barely any opportunity to critically engage. Not worth it

교육 기관: Catherine V

Dec 18, 2017

This course is Coursera's hidden gem of neo colonial discourse and that is what makes it worthy of attention. It's not so easy today to find an academic institution which members openly support cultural imperialism and teach in a way like Edward Said never existed. And I really like those subtle details when white majority make people of colour voice this kind of content. If a white person would have to say something like "members of underperforming socieities", that would be racism. But like now it can be safely named "diversity"!

교육 기관: Hannah E

Feb 12, 2018

Not a very objective outlook on the Middle East after the Arab Spring. Quite disappointed to be honest as the University of Copenhagen is well known, and I expected their courses to be more informative instead of highly subjective.