Chevron Left
After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure(으)로 돌아가기

코펜하겐대학교의 After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
474개의 평가
134개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Learn why the hope and excitement of the Arab Spring is gone, why so many Arab states are falling apart, why the youth are so frustrated, why there are so many refugees, and what can be done about it. The so-called Arab Spring appeared to end decades of exceptionalism and bring the Arab world back into the mainstream of global developments. The rebellions promised the return of politics and the reassertion of popular sovereignty against their corrupt and geriatric leaders. Much hope and flowery language greeted the young men and women who deposed their leaders and tried to build new, better societies. Today, the Arab world is in deep crisis. Of the 22 member states of the Arab League, at least five have essentially collapsed: Iraq, Libya, Yemen, Somalia and Syria exist only in name today, as their territories have fallen to competing, murderous armed groups. In the remaining countries, the old autocracies have reasserted themselves. The repression at home is now worsened by regional conflict on an unprecedented scale, and the resulting frustration has led to the biggest refugee flows in recent memory. What went wrong? This course offers an overview of the structural shortcomings of Arab states and societies, which help us understand why the democratic awakening did not happen but instead “has given way to civil wars, ethnic, sectarian and regional divisions and the reassertion of absolutism.” This raises the obvious and renewed question whether there is something inherent in the Arab, and by analogy Muslim, condition that makes them special. Does this condition make this part of the world impervious to generally observable trends towards greater accountability, popular participation in political decision-making, greater generation and fairer division of economic wealth? Join this course to find out!...

최상위 리뷰

JY
2020년 4월 14일

Provides a fascinating and important approach to studying this topic. The professor's framework and intellectual depth enriched my understanding of this important and enduring problem.

LK
2018년 10월 12일

An eye opening experience. I really hope this becomes a mandated course among anyone participating in any diplomatic initiatives in the Middle East and the Arabic world.

필터링 기준:

After the Arab Spring – Democratic Aspirations and State Failure의 135개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: CHRISTINE M

2017년 9월 28일

Very interested this course. Thank you.

교육 기관: Maria A V

2018년 1월 2일

Excellent course, excellent professor.

교육 기관: Ruben B P

2017년 8월 31일

Extremely good class from Dr. Afsah!

교육 기관: Ahmer J K

2017년 11월 18일

Excellent, though provoking course!

교육 기관: Saad A W B

2019년 10월 29일

Many thanks...Very fruitful course

교육 기관: Virgil H

2020년 5월 3일

Incredibly interesting lectures.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 9월 20일

fun and interesting course.

교육 기관: Andrea E

2020년 6월 19일

Excellent and brilliant!

교육 기관: Sujata A

2019년 2월 27일

Lucid and informative.

교육 기관: Katharina W

2019년 2월 26일

I gained enormous ins

교육 기관: Glenn H

2020년 5월 7일

Interesting course.

교육 기관: RAID A R S

2020년 5월 28일

Excellent course

교육 기관: Abdulaziz S B

2020년 1월 26일

Excellent .

교육 기관: Ali M H

2022년 1월 6일

very good

교육 기관: Mahmoud E

2019년 4월 15일

very good

교육 기관: Mona A A

2020년 7월 7일

good

교육 기관: Antoine C

2018년 1월 20일

Aw

교육 기관: VARUN P

2020년 6월 8일

The course seemed to be interesting in the starting and end but was quite boring for some time in the middle. I myself found some terms used in the course difficult as being a student from a science background. All the topics and aspects were fully covered with an unbiased approach. I would be glad to learn more from you in the future.

교육 기관: Aude P

2017년 12월 28일

It would be better to add more illustrations, and when pictures are shown, to comment them. As it is, it is hard to read the picture caption, and listen to the speaker (even harder when one has to read the transcript)

There are some mistakes in the english transcript

교육 기관: Sara A M

2018년 3월 29일

the course is very good,I learned a lot of information I didn't know before .

although sometimes I felt that there is generalizations, and sometimes the instructor was biased.

I think they also should add the model answer and the justification

교육 기관: Ana S

2017년 9월 29일

The course is very interesting. It's important to understand the world we live in and it's important to understand the reasons of its current state. It's a light course, but it provides an interesting overview of the Arab exception.

교육 기관: Claire B

2022년 1월 18일

The content of the class was very interesting ! I thought it would rely more on historical events, maybe remind more the arab Spring events. But that is my personal expectation !

Thank you for your work, Professor

교육 기관: Christine J

2020년 6월 30일

I found the course very interesting and appreciated the references to Arab, European and American authors and scholars. However, the course does not at all emphasize the differences between Arab countries.

교육 기관: Tatjana G

2017년 8월 28일

The course is very interesting and helpful to understand the big picture. But sometimes I lost the overview at which point of the review/ discussion we actually are. Anyway, I recommend the course.

교육 기관: Rebecca T

2019년 2월 9일

Overall, a very interesting and deep look at a the structural issues which plague the Arab Spring. The readings, however, consistently required more then the allotted 1 hour set in the course.