Chevron Left
Age of Jefferson(으)로 돌아가기

버지니아 대학교의 Age of Jefferson 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
282개의 평가
87개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course provides an overview of Thomas Jefferson's work and perspectives presented by the University of Virginia in partnership with Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello. Together, UVA and Monticello are recognized internationally as a UNESCO World Heritage Site....

최상위 리뷰

HM

Jul 25, 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

PL

Oct 13, 2017

Great lessons in the history of UVA and its architect/founder Thomas Jefferson. The professor was clearly excited about the subject matter and conveyed the history with enthusiasm and vigor.

필터링 기준:

Age of Jefferson의 85개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Charles E M

May 09, 2018

Thanks to this course I understand a great of the legacy of President Thomas Jefferson, and why my first cousin seven times removed, Congressman Thomas Wynns of North Carolina, was such a staunch supporter of this president. Thomas Wynns helped to begin the University of North Carolina at Chapel H

교육 기관: Lori L

May 02, 2016

I already love this and not just because Jefferson is my life long love affair, nice.

교육 기관: Denise B

Nov 02, 2017

Thank you, I enjoyed learning more about Thomas Jefferson.

교육 기관: Jenny l

May 06, 2017

I really enjoyed it. It was great to dive into the mind of Thomas Jefferson

교육 기관: Marianne B

May 25, 2018

The professor and material were really great

교육 기관: Michael A

Sep 05, 2017

Nice dive into some of Thomas Jefferson's life and writings. Well put together between the texts to read and the lectures.

교육 기관: Doug F

Feb 11, 2018

I enjoyed the course. Jefferson was a true revolutionary; this course details his leadership in bringing about many of the liberties we take for granted today.

교육 기관: ella e o

Nov 29, 2017

He's a well educated man, lively; a good speaker

교육 기관: Amanda

Aug 27, 2017

Absolutely LOVED this class. Professor Onuf is passionate, realistic and on the money in terms of explaining to the masses who Jefferson was and what shaped his thought process through and post-revolution. HIGHLY enjoyed this class

교육 기관: Jomals M J

Feb 28, 2016

Great course

교육 기관: Robyn J

Oct 08, 2017

Mr. Onuf's knowledgeable, impassioned presentation, together with the readings provided me with so much. At age 57, this was my first look at the Declaration of Independence and other important historical events. The material both challenged and encouraged me and I highly recommend this course. It's sad that we are not learning this as part of our primary education, which is where it should begin in earnest. I am looking forward to more courses on Jefferson and other history courses and would love very much to a student of Mr. Onuf's again. I am looking forward to receiving more information on the courses offered at UVA.

교육 기관: James E

May 07, 2017

Thank you for an interesting, informative course.

교육 기관: Ekaterina P

Aug 01, 2016

The lectures are so thought-provoking and enlightening... Thank you very much!

교육 기관: Charles H

Jul 05, 2017

Professor Peter S. Onuf never deliver his course with a text, but he did with passion. Thank you sir for your guidance

교육 기관: Marci A B

Oct 30, 2015

Outstanding overview of one of the most important figures in American History.

교육 기관: kenneth j j

Apr 25, 2016

g

교육 기관: Marco B

Oct 06, 2016

Great Course! A profound analysis of Jefferson ideal and wish for the nation to be. This course demonstrate how great, clever and wise Jefferson was. Now I can better understand what JFK said during a Nobel prize winner reunion at the White House: This is the highest concentration of intelligent in this house since Jefferson had dinner alone. Thank you for sharing this course on the net.

교육 기관: Becky E

Dec 29, 2016

Excellent class! This is an overview of who Jefferson was, what he really thought and believed in, what his contradictions were and why they existed, and how the perception of him has changed through different historical periods. I thought I knew a reasonable amount of information about Jefferson and the revolutionary period, but I learned so much about the historical and cultural context of the time and how it shaped Jefferson's thoughts!

Given our current judicial system's split over whether the constitution should be regarded according to the 'originalist' intention or whether it is a living document, I was surprised to find that Jefferson himself saw it as a living document, to be reshaped by each generation. Understanding why he thought that is really essential to understanding how to think about the problem today. So this isn't just history, it's current events!

I was concerned that the course seemed to be all lecture, but by the second week I was hooked. Dr Onuf is a compelling speaker, and tries to convey who Jefferson was, the world he existed in, and get you to think about Jefferson in all his complexity. The reading material is all pertinent, and (thank you!) not overwhelming. This course is "right-sized" for an online forum. I think you could spend about an our or maybe two per week on the lectures and reading material, and do fine. You would do yourself a favor to view each lecture twice though, as there is a lot of material in each one.

I would consider retaking the course for review, and would definitely take another course from Dr. Onuf. This was terrific, and I don't say that lightly.

교육 기관: Dana C

Jun 21, 2017

One of the most thought provoking classes I have ever taken. Professor is very interesting and promotes looking at Jefferson with new eyes. I was challenged and I really enthralled by the class and it helped me to contrast Jefferson and Hamilton better to understand the conflict between them. Bravo!! I would take the class again anytime.

교육 기관: Kelly

Nov 28, 2015

Exceptional course! I would have enjoyed several more weeks. Dr. Onuf's style and methods in presenting the material made it possible to understand Jefferson in a way I have not understood him before. Wonderful teacher. Thank you.

교육 기관: Cheryl L D

Oct 11, 2015

As a former student of UVA, it was wonderful to see the place again, listen to some of the stories we heard around "grounds" -- no campus here -- back when I was a teenager. I have followed Jefferson's life story, but Professor Onuf still manages to tell me some things I didn't know. Well researched lectures.

교육 기관: H. M

Jul 25, 2016

Fantastic course by Dr. Onuf! I learned much and he helped correct misconceptions I harbored regarding Thomas Jefferson. Great videos and selected readings. The quizzes were relatively challenging.

교육 기관: Hans G

Mar 25, 2016

I take my hat off for the passionate professor Onuf. It was a big pleasure to attend his lectures. They deepened my understanding of the American Revolution.

교육 기관: Kathleen S

Jan 12, 2018

The professor is an excellent and entertaining lecturer...very compelling look at Jefferson, his life, and his accomplishments. I'm very happy the educators did not shy away from the more distasteful aspects of Jefferson's life (i.e. his being a slaveholder). There was also a good mix of lecture, q & a, and campus tours of UVA. I re

교육 기관: Trần H C

Jun 12, 2017

Professor Onuf is an incredibly passionate and demonstrative leader: a perfect choice for this course.