Chevron Left
Algorithmic Thinking (Part 2)(으)로 돌아가기

라이스 대학교의 Algorithmic Thinking (Part 2) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
200개의 평가
35개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Experienced Computer Scientists analyze and solve computational problems at a level of abstraction that is beyond that of any particular programming language. This two-part class is designed to train students in the mathematical concepts and process of "Algorithmic Thinking", allowing them to build simpler, more efficient solutions to computational problems. In part 2 of this course, we will study advanced algorithmic techniques such as divide-and-conquer and dynamic programming. As the central part of the course, students will implement several algorithms in Python that incorporate these techniques and then use these algorithms to analyze two large real-world data sets. The main focus of these tasks is to understand interaction between the algorithms and the structure of the data sets being analyzed by these algorithms. Once students have completed this class, they will have both the mathematical and programming skills to analyze, design, and program solutions to a wide range of computational problems. While this class will use Python as its vehicle of choice to practice Algorithmic Thinking, the concepts that you will learn in this class transcend any particular programming language....

최상위 리뷰

RL
2018년 3월 24일

Great class...Luay's lectures and problem sets were a great continuation to what Joe and Scott started. I suppose I will get started on Course 7 shortly.

JO
2018년 4월 28일

Excellent class in the series. Even if computational biology is not your thing, the assignments are really interesting, fun and informative.

필터링 기준:

Algorithmic Thinking (Part 2)의 35개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Daniel W

2020년 1월 8일

Pros:

Lots of good material to learn. Challenging. Lectures are easy to understand.

Cons:

More dense, textbook-jargon "CS major" feel to this class than the others. Expect to spend more hours and have less fun vs. parts 1-4. Much easier to get discouraged. Major problems waiting for assignments to go through peer grading process, sometimes taking *weeks*.

Suggestions:

More basic handouts such as: 1) Set notation cheat sheet. 2) Pseudocode examples fully decoded into simple language. Also, watching a visualization of the base-pairing algorithm (Needleman-Wunsch) is highly recommended for understanding what you're trying to do. You can google it, but it would be nice if they added it to the course. Also, more smiling.

In summary, it's a challenging course and I'm a better programmer for having finished it. However, it's more daunting, took me longer, and lacks the easy going/encouraging/illustrative style of the earlier courses. Peer grading takes way too long, especially if you're paying for a subscription.

(My review applies to both Algorithmic Thinking Parts 1 and 2)

교육 기관: Kasey C

2016년 12월 17일

This class gets very math and theory heavy, so I would not recommend it for those looking for programming practice with the algorithms/programming approaches presented in this class. If you want thorough theoretical background information, this class would be a better fit.

The use of RNA secondary structure alignment as an example of dynamic programming implementation is overkill. There are much simpler ways to introduce dynamic programming.

교육 기관: Alvin L

2017년 11월 22일

What the professor explains he explains well, but there is a lot of stuff in the homework assignments that is not explained

교육 기관: Pini K

2016년 8월 12일

I took all 5 previous courses in this series and they were all great.

But suddenly Coursera has changed its policy, and one can not take courses for free anymore.

If you just want to learn and gain knowledge without chasing the certificate, than the course is useless, because you can't receive feedback for your work.

교육 기관: Rudy H

2019년 3월 15일

Great course, needs a lot more computational brain power than any of the courses in the specialization. Very little to no spoon feeding, but the forum and class notes have adequate info. It is very beneficial to have this kind of experience of a close to a real life situation in a course. No company as i know will pay anyone to be spoon fed. Thank you very much to Prof. Luay and all others that are involved.

교육 기관: Zou S

2017년 10월 16일

Very impressive and full of challenge. Really learn a lot . Data clustering and sequence alignment are very practical and interesting problems, divided and conquer and dynamic programming skills are very impressive and powerful. I really enjoy myself in this course. And I've got a feeling like that all things are connected to each other, math , programming and real life. Thank you so much for Luay!

교육 기관: Jiaxing B

2016년 9월 23일

You cannot get easy answers for homework and it pushes you to think hard.

교육 기관: Samuel J

2016년 5월 26일

Super good, challenging course that forces you to think.

교육 기관: Roberto M P F M

2019년 6월 10일

The content is great, but it is taking ages for me to have my last assignment reviewed

교육 기관: MacMike

2020년 8월 19일

At times, I felt the need for slightly more instruction.

Then again it's good to be thrown in at the deep end and, writing code eventually helps comprehension.

It felt great to conquer the questions we were given.

Now I have to go back over the past six courses and write them up a little more before it becomes too hazy.

Thank you

교육 기관: Max B

2019년 3월 21일

Oh man, I hade so much fun in this course! The lectures and material are very good, and everything is wrapped up in much fun projects and applications where you will learn a lot. I especially enjoyed the more mathematical approach in AT compared to PoC and IIPP, and also the general class structure! Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Tudor B

2021년 4월 4일

This part completes where you left off in the first part. You'd find efficient Sorting, the Master Theorem, Data Clustering or playing around with strings in Dynamic Programming a fun and challenging journey!

교육 기관: Rohan L

2018년 3월 25일

Great class...Luay's lectures and problem sets were a great continuation to what Joe and Scott started. I suppose I will get started on Course 7 shortly.

교육 기관: Julian O

2018년 4월 28일

Excellent class in the series. Even if computational biology is not your thing, the assignments are really interesting, fun and informative.

교육 기관: Kenneth L

2016년 11월 17일

This is a challenging course that teaches an invaluable problem solving approach, applicable in many domains.

교육 기관: Bakhmai B

2020년 9월 18일

Here the best teachers and very useful materials on algorithmic thinking. Thanks everyone for this course.

교육 기관: A&Tower

2016년 8월 18일

great, but really difficult for people with poor reading and writing skill to finish.

교육 기관: Tairan Y

2018년 5월 13일

Great course!

Definitely learned a lot from the process of doing projects

교육 기관: Vern K

2018년 7월 26일

Course and assignments were very well thought out and informative.

교육 기관: Andrew F

2018년 5월 28일

Another fantastic course from the team at Rice - thanks guys!

교육 기관: Michael B R

2017년 12월 16일

Yet another great course in this specialization

교육 기관: Yvan O

2016년 10월 19일

The last awesome course on computing science.

교육 기관: Jaehwi C

2018년 1월 11일

Great course to learning computer science!

교육 기관: Tianyi Z

2016년 10월 26일

Great course, problem solving oriented

교육 기관: Rachel K

2017년 8월 19일

Challenging and enjoyable!