Chevron Left
Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms(으)로 돌아가기

스탠퍼드 대학교의 Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
4,260개의 평가
802개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The primary topics in this part of the specialization are: asymptotic ("Big-oh") notation, sorting and searching, divide and conquer (master method, integer and matrix multiplication, closest pair), and randomized algorithms (QuickSort, contraction algorithm for min cuts)....

최상위 리뷰

KS
2018년 9월 13일

Well researched. Topics covered well, with walkthrough for exam.le cases for each new introduced algorithm. Great experience, learned a lot of important algorithms and algorithmic thinking practices.

DT
2020년 5월 26일

Thank you for teaching me this course. I learned a lot of new things, including Divide-and-Conquer, MergeSort, QuickSort, and Randomization Algorithms, along with proof for their asymptotic runtime

필터링 기준:

Divide and Conquer, Sorting and Searching, and Randomized Algorithms의 782개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Rohit K S

2020년 6월 9일

This course was very helpful.

I learned a lot from this course.

I learned why algorithms are important how they help to optimize time and space complexity , moreover I learned how to analyse time and space complexity of any given algorithm.

I learned various sorting algorithms and various other algorithms used for solving problems such as finding number of inversion and finding minimum cut.

This course will not only help me in my academics but also add to my resume, which will help me to get a job.

교육 기관: Charlie Z

2018년 1월 28일

Roughgarden creates a great mental model for algorithms. He explains the ideas that connect them and how they are organized. He doesn't waste your time, hitting the key components in both the math proofs and in explaining the algorithm implementation. The way he teaches in like induction; he uses a super simple example (base case) and abstracts that out to get the general case.

After the course, I *get* algorithms now... (instead of memorizing them, I can see how to deduce them). Thank you!

교육 기관: Mohamad S D

2019년 1월 12일

I was always looking for a good material to study this complicated topic , and after a lot of purchases and digging , I finally found this course , these sequence of courses will not give you every detail about every algorithm in the universe but it will give you the knowledge that will enable you to walk alone in the street of algorithms . Really great course , I'm still in course no 2 of the 4 courses but i'm very happy of what i've seen so far and looking forward to finish them all isA

교육 기관: Hrishikesh A

2016년 12월 14일

Tim gives great insights and draws attention to the right things at right time! Exercise and quizzes are very helpful and makes you think in right direction. Also the in-video-quizzes are well thought of to make you think about the topic being described in the video and thus makes it easy to understand the contents. This is just the right course anyone should take to improve/learn algorithm and data structures course. I've got got aaha! moments multiple times. Can't thank Tim enough!!

교육 기관: Berk B

2017년 4월 26일

I had a great time taking this course. It was a very good course in algorithms that explained the core concepts really well rather than just providing a high level overview. The assignments take some time but it aligns with what the instructor is teaching. The instructor is absolutely excellent because he takes the time to go through the math and iterations which helps to develop a deeper intuition for these algorithms. Looking forward to completing his other courses when I got time.

교육 기관: Manuel V

2019년 8월 8일

This course immersed me in the fundamentals of one of the most interesting and useful problem solving methods in computer science.

Each problem assignment is so carefully thought out, that it forced me to apply what I learned and constantly ask myself "could I do better?"

Very well combined with historical reviews and mentions of the "protagonist of the week", which enriches the learning and made me get closer to the way of thinking of those who pushed our beloved computer science.

교육 기관: Ravi P

2020년 9월 6일

What a wonderful journey.Tim Roughgarden is one of the best instructor I have ever encountered, this course is very totally worth it and goes very well and indepth, the problem covered and the material discussed were just WOW!.

But I won't suggest this course to any beginner as this course is sort of high-level and also requires you to have a strong fundamental knowledge. Overall best course looking forward to the 2nd course now.

교육 기관: Yohan S

2018년 1월 4일

This was perfect introductory class for me to begin my learning on algorithm. As the instructor said at the introduction, many of the algorithms were fun and challenging and the explanation of the instructor was great. Although the fact which the Programming Assignments do not check the actual code but the final output was the only downside of this class, everything else is great for checking one's understanding of the course.

교육 기관: Sophie Z

2017년 6월 25일

This course not only taught me some basic concepts of algorithm but also taught me how to analyse the underneath disciplines as well as how to manipulate them. The analysis using probability seems complicated at first, however, the instructor managed to illustrate it in an easy way. I especially love the assignments, they are very enlightening. The test cases in the forum is also of great help in my debugging process.

교육 기관: Ethan h

2017년 12월 11일

I would probably still be fascinated by algorithms without the enthusiasm of these lectures, but it certainly helps. The discussion forums don't seem to be too busy these days, but enough people have taken this course over the years that I'm sure any stumbling blocks along the way have already been navigated somewhere in the archives. Anyone who enjoys puzzle-solving and analysis should appreciate this course.

교육 기관: Ellen Y

2017년 5월 6일

The instructor speaks very clearly and describes everything in a good amount of detail. There were quizzes throughout lectures that keep you engaged and test your understanding, and I liked that I could use the problem sets as a way to practice since there's no penalty for multiple tries. I really enjoyed the course and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a solid understanding of algorithms.

교육 기관: Jonathon P

2018년 10월 8일

I am a professional software engineer and I've made it through week 3 of this course so far. The lectures are well done, easy to follow, and it feels like a 1-on-1 tutoring session with one of the world's top professors.

I already feel like I have grown as an engineer after implementing merge sort to find array inversions (among other exercises and assignments). I can't wait to see what's next!

교육 기관: Ashish D S

2018년 8월 1일

Excellent course on Algorithms. I have done few UCSD algorithm courses before (I equally liked them as well), this course is more focused on Mathematical part. Programming assignments are probably simpler as compared to UCSD course but quiz are hard and requires considerable knowledge of probability and combinatorics. Better to do this course after some basic course on discrete mathematics.

교육 기관: Matt R C

2017년 11월 9일

Absolutely not what I expected. The instructor is excellent, you can tell his passion about what he is teaching and he presents it great. That being said, this course is way more difficult than what I expected, so be prepared to put in some time and effort to get the most out of it. The material definitely stuck, I'll never look at algorithms the same way again, that's for sure1

교육 기관: Sam S

2020년 3월 27일

A very thorough and rigorous beginning to algorithms. Professor Roughgarden does an excellent job walking through everything in a clear and succinct fashion. There isn't too much programming needed, but it can be tricky if you aren't familiar with how to operate on various data types. A good understanding of high school math (algebra in particular) will help you in this course.

교육 기관: GongPing

2017년 6월 11일

These lectures are incredibly mind-blowing, full of insights for algorithm designs and valuable suggestions. This course is really a great enjoyment to follow, because the lectures & quiz & programming assignments are so well arranged! Wish I had took this lectures earlier. Thank you very much Prof Tim Roughgardern for providing the world with such an excellence on-line course!

교육 기관: kumar d

2018년 4월 21일

This is the best thing to happen for learning algorithms (close second would be the book by steven skiena). This course took me 13 years back to my college 2nd year when I fell in love with algorithms. This is like living your first love all over again. Thank you professor Roughgarden, and I hope you create another course with advanced algorithms with latest developments.

교육 기관: Stefan T I

2016년 12월 25일

This course offers one of the best introductions to reasoning about algorithms in a mathematical way. However, it is not just theory, it also gives you practical advise and forces you to polish up your programming skills as well by implementing some of the most useful and popular algorithms for sorting and similar applications in whatever language you wish.

교육 기관: Md A R

2018년 4월 8일

The course is awesome. But the video quality could be improved specially those with echos. It would help concentrating. I have completed algorithm as a undergraduate course and this course is to revisit those area where I had some minor weakness. And this course really helped me building an strong understanding on those points. Overall experience is good.

교육 기관: Stefanos L

2017년 10월 31일

Very well structured. The lecturer/resources/customizable speed etc are excelllent. I only found the programming assignments too difficult (especially the 4th one) and I had to revert (more than I wanted) to internet sources to do them (or it, especially the 4th one). In contrast, the quizzes were too easy. Perhaps personal taste. Excellent work overall.

교육 기관: Haitham S

2020년 6월 17일

The course is very well designed. It is programming language agnostic and this allows you to focus on the actual content and learn the way to approach algorithms. Also, the approach the professor takes makes the material more approachable for people coming from different backgrounds! Thanks to Coursera, Stanford University and Professor Tim Roughgarden!

교육 기관: Peter P

2020년 7월 6일

The teacher is excellent and explained the course very well. I like that the material is concise and straight to the point and offer high level of concepts that is easy to understand. I appreciate that the professor doesn't spoon feed every little detail information so that the student would get a chance to think and fill in the gaps!

교육 기관: Vishwas D

2020년 10월 8일

First, I would like to thanks a team of Stanford for allowing and approving my financial aid for this course. While waiting for the approval I visited the videos and I completed this course in a day. I sincerely thank the team Stanford for arranging such a wisdomic platform for learning the best tools from the Stanford experts.

교육 기관: Feiyu L

2018년 4월 23일

Now I truly understand how to think of algorithm in terms with Recursion applying Divide and Conquer, and how to use Master method to prove an algorithm's complexity. Even though it is more rigorous then what is required for a software interview or engineering project, having the exposure of theory is better than not having it.

교육 기관: Aditya k

2018년 6월 19일

This is an amazing course focusing on some of the important fundamentals required to design the right algorithm to a problem statement. Prof. Tim Roughgarden does a fantastic job in explaining the concepts and catching the attention of the students, while not making the course boring. Thanks Courseera for hosting this course.