Chevron Left
Algorithms, Part I(으)로 돌아가기

프린스턴 대학교의 Algorithms, Part I 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
6,122개의 평가
1,261개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course covers the essential information that every serious programmer needs to know about algorithms and data structures, with emphasis on applications and scientific performance analysis of Java implementations. Part I covers elementary data structures, sorting, and searching algorithms. Part II focuses on graph- and string-processing algorithms. All the features of this course are available for free. It does not offer a certificate upon completion....

최상위 리뷰

RM

Jun 01, 2017

This is a great class. I learned / re-learned a ton. The assignments were challenge and left a definite feel of accomplishment. The programming environment and automated grading system were excellent.

RP

Jun 11, 2017

Incredible learning experience. Every programmer in industry should take this course if only to dispel the idea that with the advent of cloud computing exponential algorithms can still ruin your day!

필터링 기준:

Algorithms, Part I의 1,209개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Rui D

Jan 10, 2018

This course is designed so well that it is the best as an introduction for algorithm beginners. It does not include any obscure maths formulas, but it has a lot of propositions and properties that build up the rigorous analysis framework, teaching us how to think systematically in terms of designing, analyzing and choosing algorithms. Leveraging Java, you can learn the algorithm implementations and applications by experiments. This approach makes algorithms learning very practical. The course also advocates for good programming style which is very important in software construction in the industry. This is assured by using some good tools such as FindBugs and so on. Last but not least, this course provides very rich learning materials, especially the high quality assignments with good auto-graders which provide us invaluable feedback, and high quality example source code and standard library.

교육 기관: Xinyuan Z

Jun 13, 2017

I can't measure how important this course is to me. I am a graduate student in the field of Theory & Engineering of Control, which is actually a domain related half with theory and mathematics and half with engineering, coding and application. I have involved in some international competitions before, responsible for C++ coding. After I struggled to finish this course and all the assignments, however, I find that I have a better understanding of programming. What I should do is definitly not just finish the functions raised by a project, but to analyse my codes, to optimise them and maintain them as something can be reused. Also I got to know the fields of robot path planning (A* algorithm) and so on. I will take another part of this course in the next month cause it really takes my a lot of time, but there are something crutial to deal with. Thank all the friends I've met in the forum.

교육 기관: shant c

Aug 14, 2017

I took this course with no prior experience in Java, and that was not a major roadblock to finish this course. The way Dr. Robert and Dr. Kevin have designed the assignment, it’s just fabulous. They provide the helper class – StdDraw, SET, and etc. All you need to do is think about applying the lectures from Dr Robert. The delivery of the lecture from Dr. Robert is very insightful, crisp, and to the point. I liked how Dr. Robert was excited while mentioning his Red-Black tree reference on a TV series (Spoiler Alert !!!), and how the order of complexity of various data structures are computed and compared. The assignments are designed to apply the concepts on real world problems. I would like to thank Dr. Robert, Dr. Kevin, and other mentors for sharing this well-organized and well-crafted course on Algorithms. I can’t wait to begin Algorithms Part II.

교육 기관: Peter K

Jan 02, 2018

I highly recommend this course to anybody who is willing to learn about data structures and algorithms, understand in which situation which algorithm or data structure may be more suitable, how are these used in real life problems or even if you only want to practice them again. The lectures are very well structured, providing a lot of useful information and each week (except for the last one) requires to program a challenging* assessment (*depends on your algorithms and data structures knowledge and experience level). Even though all the material and programming assessments are in Java, it is should not be a problem to implement the same in any other programming language (except for you might miss the generics in some - requiring you to implement "same" data structures for different primitive/elementary data types).

교육 기관: Liyang L

Feb 06, 2020

Excellent course covers basic algorithms and data structures, where theories are intuitively explained along with practical applications.

What impress me most is the programming assignments, which are both challenging and fun, helps strengthening my understanding of the topics and improve programming skills. It's very satisfying to improve my code and pass every correctness/memory/timing/bonus tests. I do wish there are more programming assignments.

However, I hope each topics are taught more in depth, I feel those text books contains way more contents than online courses, but reading those walls of texts are too dry and daunting compared to online learning and practicing. I understand that buiding a learning platform like this requires huge efforts, so this is just my wish.

교육 기관: Ramshankar

Oct 27, 2019

Prof. Sedgewick is super great. This course is tough although there are only programming assignments in the coursera version. The videos can be viewed several times and we may catch up on ideas that we miss due to short-attention spans etc issues. I shudder to think of the days when we did not have video recordings... The assignments are graded by a machine using a very carefully designed method- they really take teaching seriously out there. It is all fine and such and did you know, they have a super cool java development kit and an algs package.. i haven't used java much for many many years but I enjoyed all the help that i got out of the course's JDK that offered loads of type checking etc. and you can install in linux or windows. Have fun at it, if you can.

교육 기관: Nikita Z

Mar 22, 2017

Great overview course. I have taken algorithms in college, and I am currently a software developer, but I have found this tremendously useful to review the material (especially good for interview prep!). I even gain a better understanding of concepts I thought I knew well already. The professor explains everything in a concise and thorough manner, the homeworks are well thought out, and the hints are helpful. The only improvement I could think of for the course would be to make the lecture sound a bit quieter during the few times the professor would cough -- the mic distortions can be a little annoying. Overall, highly recommend this course to anyone looking to learn basics of algorithms or review the material for interviews or general understanding.

교육 기관: Igor B

Jul 03, 2017

It is one of best courses I took. Prof Sedgewick explains complex things in easy manner, by providing not only steps to algorithms but also reasons, context, history about them. So your background becomes more solid.

For instance, I was always wondering about red-black trees why its properties are stated in some particular way, but by looking at 2-3 trees, I now understand roots.

Practical examples are really good and they teach you program according to API and be careful about small details.

I would ask authors of course to add practical tasks to last 6th week, without them it is just theoretical. I am looking forward for 2nd part of course which should appear soon.

Could you please provide estimates for 2nd part of course if possible?

Excellent work!

교육 기관: Sudhir K

Nov 19, 2016

The best algorithms course. The video lectures are very good. Prof.Sedgewick builds the concepts very well. The code examples/library written by Prof. Wayne and Prof. Sedgewick's code are very compact and the best I have seen. The online website is great supplement to the book. The auto grader is air tight, that forces the student to think and write their code to the specs. My greatest appreciations for Prof. Wayne and Prof. Sedgewick. I wish students have the option to submit their solutions in C++ because in most of the languages the core algorithms/data structures are often written in c/c++ , I understand it is not easy because the course libraries and grader has to written for c++.

교육 기관: Carlos F P

Feb 20, 2020

This course has a great balance. Want to push yourself to the very limit to write code that is efficient, has a small memory footprint and is correct ? just get 100 on the assignments. Want to become familiar with the most basic algorithms and data structures that every programmer must know (my case) ? just get 80 points on the assignments. They are fascinating, and cover some applications of algorithms and data structures to problems, they allow you to see a little bit why these topics are important. Overall a nice experience. I can't believe this course is offered for free. Professor Sedgewick truly wants to help humanity improve, I guess.

교육 기관: Ruchitya T A

Aug 14, 2017

A wonderful course that not only teaches one the concepts behind a given data-structure or algorithm, but also prods one to realize software implementations of the same to solve puzzles/ practical problems. The coding assignments do take some time, they are not easy. I took more than the stipulated 5 hours on almost all assignments. But it was worth it, since the problems presented are definitely not easy and give a real sense of accomplishment once completed. There are plenty of pointers to lead one to the correct answer eventually, in the form of checklists and the discussion forum, so fear not! Will be taking up Part 2 of the course soon.

교육 기관: K M M H

Jun 01, 2017

An excellent course for programmers who already knows programming but want to take it to the next level. Prof. Sedgewick has done an excellent job explaining the data structures and the algorithms by starting from simple idea and gradually building up on that. His lectures are slow and easy to follow. The programming assignments are interesting and challenging at the same time. I wish the programming exercises were available too. I feel that whatever I have learnt from this course will be immediately useful in my day to day job. Thanks coursera, Prof. Sedgewick and Prof. Wayne for the course. Looking forward for taking Algorithms Part II.

교육 기관: Kevin J

Jul 05, 2017

Amazing course to learn data structure and classic algorithm! Thank for all of you provide such a awesome learning experience. As a fresh guy who know little programming skills with python, I just want to try some more challenge course and learn more useful thing but never believe i could complete this course because java and algorithm is absolutely new thing to me. When try to figure homework assignment out, it is really struggling and frustrating, you will definitely enjoying the time during debugging codes and use lecture knowledge to implement your ideas. Finally, thank you so much for all the course mentors and forum's classmate!

교육 기관: Jeremy s

Aug 20, 2019

I am thrilled with this course. I learned so much in such a short time. The instructor was very thorough and his explanations were detailed and comprehensive. My favorite part of the course was the assignments for each week. These assignments taught me to think critically and to approach problem solving in a more directed and sophisticated manner than I had previously attempted. My skill has improved dramatically, as well as my confidence. Additionally, I developed a perseverance to truly understand complex material and complete assignments that I never would have guessed I could achieve. Thank you so much for this course.

교육 기관: Tang

May 25, 2017

the course was perfect after the introductory CS course, it make you starting to pay more attention to how efficient you program runs. Besides, aside from the intricate math analysis, the instructor also spent a fair amount of time emphasizing on the practical applications where these algorithm truly shines, I love the course not only because the knowledge I acquire about these alogorithm, but the more fundamental reason why we even need them at the first place.

HW each week was fun and challenging, however, sometimes it requires a fair amount of self-exploring before hitting the right track, but it was totally worth it.

교육 기관: Julei Y

Dec 09, 2017

Excellent algorithms course. Thank you Professor Robert Sedgewic and Kevin Wayne for producing such high qualify course on algorithms and making it free to all those want to learn.

Professor Robert Sedgewick explains complicated concepts in a much simplified and understood way, with a lot of visualization and concise code it's clear and easy for me to understand the logic. I also like the projects, Kevin Wayne organized them very well, the auto grading is super and give us immediate feedback on function correctness and time memory usage. Doing projects helps a lot to retain and solid what I have learned.

교육 기관: Vivek b

Oct 12, 2017

This course gives a really good feel of data structures and object oriented programming. The programming exercises are real fun (although exceptional handing/corner cases are bit frustrating). The course starts with union find and basic data structures like stack, queue, but the difficulty escalates very quickly (one needs a lot of patience for thorough understanding of Binary Search Tree (BST), Red-Black Tree, and Kdtree). I am sure you would learn something new even if you have already taken a course on Data Structure/Algorithm. Best of luck!!!

교육 기관: Steven C

May 14, 2017

Lectures and explanations are methodical, detailed, and to-the-point. Occasionally I might be upset that I didn't understand something as clearly as it appeared as though Professor Sedgewick did, but, of course, part of the experience mandates that I make myself understand! The professor was encouraging, the TAs were extremely helpful and generous with their time, and my fellow students were kind, respectful, and also helpful. I would highly recommend this class to anyone seeking to enhance their knowledge of computer science and/or programming.

교육 기관: Anton M

Nov 11, 2019

Great introductory-to-middle course on data structures and algorithms.

You're expected to know some Java in order to follow it, but acquired skills can be easily transfered to other languages.

On the other side, instructors will favor usage of classes (like set or stack) from customly written library, not standard Java one. Another thing, after each subject there are some examples of interview questions in the form of exercises. They feel like badly prepared and you'll spend most time looking for a better explanation/answers on the forum threads.

교육 기관: Alfredo V

Mar 08, 2017

Wow, great course, one of the best in Coursera! I enjoyed the lectures a lot, they are engaging and fast paced, the examples of practical applications are interesting; the assignments and interview questions are well thought and challenging.

Thanks so much to the Princeton professors who decided to make this amazing material available online. The course is so good I had to buy Sedgewick and Wayne's Algorithms book, not because it was needed for the course (it is not, you have all you need in the lectures), but because they totally rock! Thanks!

교육 기관: Aneesa S

Sep 12, 2017

After completing this course, I understand the fundamentals of algorithm design and analysis. The instructor presented the course material concisely and has a very deep understanding of algorithms. Being able to see the output of the autograder allowed me to see exactly where my code had errors or was not efficient enough. The assignments were very challenging, but after completing them I was sure I had understood the material fully. Thank you Princeton for this wonderful course! It was definitely the best online course I've ever come across.

교육 기관: Tom T

Nov 18, 2016

Brilliant! I started the Algorithms course with not insubstantial software experience. However, I last took data structures over 10 years ago and decided to give myself a 'refresher' since my area of specialization rarely utilizes structures such as BST's or hash tables.

The assignments are 'just right' in applying algorithmic concepts and real-world technical rigor. The problems are focused and contained to fit busy schedules, but, at the same time, challenging enough to provide a sense of accomplishment and to see practical applicability.

교육 기관: Zachary A G

Oct 01, 2016

I find Prof. Sedgewicks' moderately paced lectures very concise and easy to follow. His animated demo of each algorithm clearly demonstrates how the algorithm works. I find the problem sets challenging and fun, and finally finding an optimized solution as very rewarding, especially when I get the bonus scores. While this course uses Java as the programming language, I find the concepts quite easy to apply in other programming languages such as C. Thank you very much course staff for offering this excellent course for free here at Coursera!

교육 기관: Oleg G

Jan 10, 2017

Typical question of novice of programming: What language should I learn first?

Typical answer is incorrect, sadly.

Correct answer is: It doesn't matter. Algorithms and patterns matters. I'm not sure about patterns, but Donald Knuth and Robert Sedgewick are best at algorithms. And here you have unique possibility to learn from the best. Rush for it! And be prepared, it won't be easy.

And many thanks to Kevin Wayne for his fundamental job. Probably he is the one who we should thank for this great opportunity to learn it here, on coursera.

교육 기관: Amlandeep B

May 06, 2017

Great not just for the underlying basic algorithms taught, but very close to what API design looks like in the professional context. Sedgewick's lectures are concise, focused and very easy to follow. the assignments are also reflective of good design in Java, and serves as a great complement to the four-part (formerly two part) course in Algorithms by Tim Roughgarden (in which I used python for the assignments). I personally took this course After the Stanford course but would recommend the reverse if you're new/still in college.