Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
3,009개의 평가
673개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 654개 리뷰 중 126~150

교육 기관: Pedro A L M

Mar 08, 2016

I really recommend this course. Very useful!!

Perfectly explained.

교육 기관: Nikhil S

Aug 09, 2016

I would like to recommend for every beginner who wants to learn data analytics!

교육 기관: Elena D

Jul 03, 2017

Really good and complete course.

교육 기관: mikelvol1

Sep 07, 2016

闲下来复习下概率也是挺好的,excel只是个幌子

교육 기관: Danny I

May 14, 2016

Dense! Very Dense. Cool testing methods.

교육 기관: Lishu W

Dec 18, 2015

Great course! I've learned a lot useful equations in business, and the appliance in excel.

교육 기관: Samir C

Oct 22, 2015

This is just awesome.

교육 기관: Seshadri G

Jun 28, 2017

I got to learn life skills that are essential for a data analyst. The biggest addition to my knowledge via this course would have to be binary classification and entropy. Although I was familiar with the theory of probability and statistics prior to taking this course, everything was brought into perspective or context in this course. Grateful to Prof. Egger for his enoromous efforts in recording the videos and providing the spreadsheets for our practice and future use.

교육 기관: Do H L

Jun 22, 2016

Well, it'll be good if you set the expectation that you're learning information theory and binary classification in this course, with Excel being the tool by which you use to learn those concepts.

However, do not expect this course to be entirely about Excel, it is not.

With the right expectation, this is a great course!

교육 기관: Yingyu G

Mar 25, 2016

This course really tortured me , but really worth the time and effort, I did learn something by heart :)

교육 기관: Tianju C

Nov 12, 2015

Perfect course!

교육 기관: Hang S

Feb 07, 2016

Awesome!However, you need knowledge of statistics.

교육 기관: Oscar B

Mar 07, 2016

Great Course, it's a useful tool to improve your excel, and your Knowledge in statistics.

교육 기관: OKAI-BONSU B

Jan 15, 2016

good course for all

교육 기관: Armaghan

Dec 15, 2015

very good training.

교육 기관: Simran K

Dec 18, 2015

Great one

교육 기관: Pramit A M

Nov 02, 2015

Awesome

교육 기관: Karen H

Jan 22, 2016

Very informative, and very challenging! The final project really challenges you to pull all of the concepts together in a real-world situation. That process helped solidify my understanding of the concepts.

Would have liked to have had more explanation on linear regression, but overall everything was great. I have a much more concrete understanding of the basics of data modeling.

교육 기관: Ge W

Jun 18, 2017

Practical tools, models and templates are very sufficient in this course. It really guide me to a new world of data analysis.

교육 기관: winnielou

Oct 24, 2016

k

교육 기관: Artem A

Apr 14, 2016

Noiiice!

교육 기관: Muhammad b A

Aug 24, 2017

Very challenging

교육 기관: Ming J

Nov 09, 2016

Really great! Things taught in this course are useful.

교육 기관: Atish S

Aug 30, 2017

Statistics knowledge can be extremely helpful. Conceptually and course design is sufficient to explain what all is required to make a predictive model.

교육 기관: Rod S

Sep 06, 2016

This course isn't for the faint hearted, you need a decent background in statistics, intermediate mathematics and good grounding in excel. All of these are covered well in the course but there's a lot to take in and I can imagine it being quite tough for those not so familiar. That said, the topics, examples and tools provided are exactly those required to build a good foundation in Business Analytics and I imagine, Data Science. Prof. Egger as always, delivers the course with great aplomb and shares his considerable knowledge in a wise but unassuming manner. Highly recommended.