Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
3,558개의 평가
842개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

JE
2015년 10월 30일

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

PW
2020년 10월 13일

The course was excellent. A little difficult and overwhelming at times but as long as you stayed the course the professors gave you every opportunity to succeed. Thank you for your time professor.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 821개 리뷰 중 726~750

교육 기관: Kentaro H

2017년 8월 9일

Very confusing. I passed this course but I felt like I didn't learn too much. I think they should include prerequisite for this course.

교육 기관: Jeffrey J

2020년 10월 18일

Was quite advanced and the topics weren't explained as well as I expected them to be .Overall, the course was below average.

교육 기관: Michelle V

2016년 3월 28일

I found much of this material wasn't as applicable to excel analysis as hoped and didn't cover many of the analysis tools

교육 기관: Gabriela M

2020년 2월 15일

Este curso tiene mal el titulo, no trata sobre excel en absoluto, sino mas bien es un curso sobre matemáticas.

교육 기관: Brianna B

2020년 8월 4일

The instruction was lackluster and left a lot of details out, filled with mistakes that were fixed in post.

교육 기관: Jairo S

2019년 3월 11일

The course is poorly structured, taking a lot of effort to decipher what is required in the assignments.

교육 기관: Alfonso F

2017년 5월 7일

Some hard statistical/mathematical concepts with little explanation. Bad pacing and confusing structure.

교육 기관: Hassaan K

2016년 1월 12일

Content not discussed in proper detail. Instructor skims over the concepts. Its difficult to follow.

교육 기관: Wings S Q

2016년 9월 25일

I'm here learning Excel skills, but this course, especially week 2, does not teach Excel skills.

교육 기관: Lidiya G N

2017년 11월 12일

Not enough examples on how to actually do the complicated assignment at the end of the course.

교육 기관: Jaya S

2016년 2월 26일

To course got tougher every week while the lecture video is not cover everything.

교육 기관: 何泽林

2019년 4월 12일

There are some problems with the spreadsheet, which cost me truly a lot of time.

교육 기관: Kong L

2016년 1월 21일

This course is mostly theory based and certainly not what i am expected!

교육 기관: Bria M

2020년 8월 16일

Video lessons did not prepare students for the homework assignments.

교육 기관: Nazish K

2016년 3월 3일

This is definitely not a course for beginners .

교육 기관: Achilleas B

2020년 10월 19일

Hoping that next courses will be more useful.

교육 기관: Edward J B

2019년 11월 28일

Not what i expected for my analysis via excel

교육 기관: yishu s

2016년 3월 4일

This course contains too few solid content.

교육 기관: Yvonne C

2016년 5월 5일

Too difficult. The lessons go too fast.

교육 기관: Francesca M

2020년 11월 16일

Won't apply to my job in any capacity

교육 기관: Michael D

2016년 3월 7일

Week 1 a little disapointing

교육 기관: Kecheng J

2019년 7월 8일

many irrelevant content

교육 기관: Yi L

2016년 5월 9일

Not quite about Excel

교육 기관: Scott M R

2016년 6월 13일

When the instructor for the course expresses amazement at the level of difficulty people are expressing in the forums that tells you a lot about how out of touch he is with what he is teaching and what is really required prerequisite knowledge.

There is minimal actual instruction in excel-most often concepts are taught much like Khan Academy, on a digital blackboard. Nothing inherently wrong with that but when your course title has the word 'EXCEL' in it one would reasonably expect the instructor to actually demonstrate using excel. Nope, not here.

If you've never heard of linear regression or Bayes Theorem don't bother with this course. Honestly. While those things may be easy to explain without the math they are very difficult concepts to implement and a simple 10 minute video won't clear the fog.

You absolutely will not 'master' data analysis with this course. I've used Excel for over 15 years, daily, and to have the gall to say your course will 'master' something with a few videos is misleading and deceptive.

If it wasn't for the TA/Mentors who do the lions share of work in the forums answering questions and deciphering the questions so students can understand them this course would be an abysmal failure.

If you're wanting to jump on the data analysis/ scientist bandwagon look elsewhere. i.e. EdX has a great course on a true introduction to data analysis that is more in line with people's impression of actually using excel in that context.

Now, having bashed the course I do believe the instructor to be a very competent and knowledgeable individual, but I feel he's been in academia too long and has grown accustomed to teaching those who've been in school continuously and still have algebra/ stats fresh in their minds vs. those who need to brush away the cobwebs. The course in more on the level of a 201 and in certain parts 401 level but not 101.

교육 기관: jean a m c

2017년 3월 7일

I´m quite disappointed in this course. First you should know that the first week doesn´t reflect at all the rest of the course in difficulty and in matter. As I was delighted by the first week presentation and way of explaining as soon I started the second week I was wondering what happen to the clear, concise examples and ideas presented in the first one. First The presentation of the following weeks is done by handwriting on software that give a very very poor graphic view. It´s BARELY READABLE ! It allows really smalls amounts of infos to be displayed. That could be redeemed by good explanations you may say but sadly it´s not the case most of the time. The examples are rarely connected to something real, numbers come up from ... nowhere. The level of difficulty could be challenging if you don´t have a bachelor of sciences like Math or Physics or Bio. It´s NOT A BEGINNER COURSE.

To give more context I have done and succeed more 16 courses , 2 specializations, followed/audited about 3 others courses and that is the first time I´m giving a bad review. I´m sure the teachers put a lot of effort in doing the course , there is a lot subjects presented but I definitely suggest a change in the presentation to start then connect and fully explain examples. With some changes that course will fly high :)