Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
3,214개의 평가
734개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 715개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Steven

Dec 03, 2015

Sad.

교육 기관: Hardik M

Mar 04, 2019

The course is great as it allows you to apply all the concepts taught in scenarios that are really practical. The resources supplied with the course are extremely useful,and all in all the course is good for anyone trying to understand data analytics.

교육 기관: Achmad R A

May 21, 2019

its a good course but maybe in the future you can add another case for participants to build another model beside bank credit model

교육 기관: Soukaina K

May 02, 2019

Excellent course, I learnt a lot and really enjoyed it. Definitely recommend !

교육 기관: valentine M

Apr 12, 2019

Great course improves data analysis insight

교육 기관: Eddie M

Nov 16, 2018

The course is quite challenging and therefore worth doing. The materials provided are excellent and the video tutorials and Professor are excellent - but make sure you pay attention!

However, I was a bit disappointed with some of the quizzes particularly those in the final project. The penultimate quiz and peer assignment quiz do have problems. The penultimate quiz answers are not accurate and do not match the actual correct answers. You therefore need to be careful when responding and choose the answer that is closest to your result. On the peer review problem setting there are certain aspects required in your answer that are not defined in the problem. Indeed the way the problem is set out it appears that you can choose between predictive linear regression OR binary classification. Beware.

Also I would strongly recommend finishing the course work for week 3 AND 4 BEFORE taking the quiz on probability and distributions.

교육 기관: Kenneth W

Oct 12, 2018

Great course. My one caveat would be that, as other reviews have stated, the name of the course is misleading. In my opinion, this course isn't nearly about Excel as much as it is about probability and statistical analysis. If you haven't taken classes and don't have any experience with these, you will be in for a very rough ride. However, Professor Eggers does a good job of guiding you through it and gives you the resources you need to succeed. It will undoubtedly be tough, but if you are persistent and believe in yourself, you will succeed. And you will come out on the other side better for the wear. Cheers!

교육 기관: Doug J

Apr 29, 2019

Very comprehensive. Lot of theory and practical. My request would be to add a week focusing on a couple models and a couple methods to select metrics and validate confidence.

교육 기관: Santiago H

Jun 30, 2019

The exercises, resources and quizzes were really good. I felt they were putting to you to the test to see if you had applicable Excel knowledge.

The videos I believe were not that helpful. Too focused on the arithmetics of statistics, while lacking a stronger explanation behind the logic and the importance of certain concepts such as conditional probability, CLT, etc. The arithmetics you will i) forget ii) can easily look them up. But the logic not so much.

I do think the course should have shown how to run regressions with the Data Add-In. This is a helpful tool, makes more sense than forcing you to do everything manually.

교육 기관: Matthew T

Apr 30, 2019

There were a lot of holes in the teaching of this class. We covered more statistics content than I did in my full-time MBA statistics class over a few 10 minute YouTube videos. Additionally, there is some calculus which I have not studied in 10 years or so. I would have liked to see more excel functionalities explained to add to my tool bag. With all that being said, I learned from the class and enjoyed some of the spreadsheets that were provided. I expected to be challenged since the course is done through a prestigious university and definitely was.

교육 기관: Christopher M A

Mar 18, 2020

The material ramped up in difficulty very quickly. It was a miracle that I completed the final project after initially giving up hope. There were no examples in Excel for how to do many of the stat problems despite the course being about excel. If it was not for the Discussion forums I would not have passed the class. I was lost frequently. That being said though I did learn a lot, but since the explanations are sparse, I am not sure if I will retain this or how well I can apply it professionally without making a mistake.

교육 기관: Kaela W G

Feb 07, 2016

Probably the worst class I have ever taken on Coursera. The teacher asked us to do tons of things without explaining how and used tons of complicated math formulas without explaining what they were, what they did, or when and how to use them. There were also actual incorrect answers in the videos on occasion, so that even if you did do things correctly, you would think you were wrong and be confused, and there were a lot of inconsistencies between the spreadsheets used in the videos and the methods used to solve things compared to the actual spreadsheets given to us, which makes things pretty impossible to learn. If you're more advanced, it may be easier to find and understand the differences between the video and the spreadsheets, but the whole point of this class is that it is for beginners.

교육 기관: Benjamin C

Dec 02, 2015

Warning: The lecture videos along will NOT be enough to prepare you for the final assignment! Be prepared to do your own research for the extra study materials. On the forum, many students said they had to drop out during the last week (probably without getting a refund!) because they were completely caught off guard by the huge knowledge gap between lectures and the final assignment. If you are determined to get the specialization certificate, you should definitely start the final assignment as early as possible. Don't wait until the last week or two!!

교육 기관: aaron m

Jul 23, 2019

Completely disorganised. You will be tested on material BEFORE you take the lesson teaching it, making you question your ability. The outline they provide for the order you should take the materials is completely wrong. If you want to learn by a guy scribbling quickly and messily with little in depth explanation about the concepts he teaches, go ahead and take this. Otherwise, avoid at all costs. Also, you learn nothing about using excel to perform data analysis, just given templates with no explanation on how they work.

교육 기관: Fabio P

Apr 24, 2020

There is no Excel here but a lot of theoretical and statistical topics that really make the lessons impossible to be understood if you don't have the appropriate background. At a certain stage, if you want to continue, you need to spend a lot of time to catch up trying to find on line what the trainer is talking about.

It is a pity because I used Coursera already and I was happy with their courses, but not in this case

교육 기관: Rob N

Dec 23, 2015

If I could give it less than 1 star, I would. It wasn't an Excel class, rather it was a targeted business statistics class with only disjointed lectures and no benefit of textbook to actually help you learn. Lots of errors in the lectures and tests, and little to no support from course staff. Stay away! You won't regret it.

교육 기관: Peter C

Apr 27, 2020

I aced the first two weeks. It was recommended that I finish the first quiz of the final module. The information from the first two weeks would be fresh in my mind. I attempted the quiz, and encountered problems I was in no way prepared for.

교육 기관: Prasad H

Aug 17, 2016

Though the Course name is Mastering Data Analysis in Excel. This course will take you beyond Excel mastering skills. Quite a Short Course compare to amount of Statistical and Probability concepts you learn. This course covers most of the concepts and models necessary for any Data Analyst & Data Science students and Professionals. This course is quite challenging and at times frustrating and time consuming but in the end you will feel you learnt something what you don't know. It will be worth your effort.If you don't know something what you don't know. Here is the course, it is an accelerated course. You many not master all of them, you will master some, I can assure any future students Professor will give all the information and concepts that you need to master. Even after completing the exam I keep repeating and going back to videos and notes which is really valuable.

교육 기관: Martin S

Sep 30, 2016

I read some of the other reviews and feel I should comment on some of their criticisms.

The material, objectives and tuition are top-notch. Yes there are things that are unclear and difficult and I you will need to read around the subjects introduced from other sources and persevere.

But that is how you will learn and remember.

So far I have yet to complete the course, I am about to start my 4th attempt, but I get a little further each time and the next presentation acts as revision initially. Daniel Eggar introduces key concepts that you need to master, this course is not spoon fed, but is better for it.

If I have a criticism, perhaps the course is badly named, maybe it should be called "Core statistical concepts for data science using Excel"

교육 기관: Rod S

Sep 06, 2016

This course isn't for the faint hearted, you need a decent background in statistics, intermediate mathematics and good grounding in excel. All of these are covered well in the course but there's a lot to take in and I can imagine it being quite tough for those not so familiar. That said, the topics, examples and tools provided are exactly those required to build a good foundation in Business Analytics and I imagine, Data Science. Prof. Egger as always, delivers the course with great aplomb and shares his considerable knowledge in a wise but unassuming manner. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Ryan V

Dec 29, 2015

I learnt a lot from this course. The first week seemed very straight forward and I was worried the course was a bit too rudimentary. From there it stepped up four or five gears and I had to work hard to reinforce the concepts and apply the concepts.

A really great course for any analyst or anyone seeking the true insight in data. The discussion board is a wealth of knowledge and a good read with tutors posting very plain english easier to understand answers to questions.

교육 기관: Seshadri G

Jun 28, 2017

I got to learn life skills that are essential for a data analyst. The biggest addition to my knowledge via this course would have to be binary classification and entropy. Although I was familiar with the theory of probability and statistics prior to taking this course, everything was brought into perspective or context in this course. Grateful to Prof. Egger for his enoromous efforts in recording the videos and providing the spreadsheets for our practice and future use.

교육 기관: Volney P

Jun 25, 2017

This Course is awesome!

It is incredible how some concepts clearly defined and put into practice turn into a a powerful tools for data analysis... like binary classification models, confusion matrix, bayes theorem.

I am really enjoying this course... I highly recommended to everyone... thanks a lot professor Daniel Egger for sharing your knowledge with us, Coursera and Duke University for making this course available...

Hungry for more...

Volney Poulson

교육 기관: Swetha J

Nov 22, 2015

Very good course. Loved Daniel's teaching. I have a request to make coming from healthcare/ lifesciences background and a starter to analytics it would be very very helpful if Daniel can include basic/ elementary videos on probability and statistics/ Bio-Statistics in this course to enable us to go deeper.

Else a separate course on BioStatistics and probability would be WOW. Looking forward for more courses from Daniel.

Thanks,

Swetha

교육 기관: Md. H I S

May 28, 2017

Excellent!!!

Its has so many things to learn; from understanding the data analysis process to building actual models. This course definitely laid the foundation of basic understanding and implementation of making decision thorough data analysis.

I would recommend this course to whoever is interested in learning data analysis or is involved in rational decision making through the data analysis.