Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
별점
3,315개의 평가
773개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 753개 리뷰 중 526~550

교육 기관: Stefano J N

Apr 29, 2016

The Course is fine, explanations and videos are a bit hard to follow at times.

The final assessment is in my opinion very bad, as it i appears to me quite unrelated to the course it self. The lectures are quite abstract and the exam is a practical application of the concept.

The instructions of the course also aren't very good as you need to do each part of the final project at the end of each week.

I would strongly suggest to not take this course unless you have many spare hours.

교육 기관: Kristin K

Feb 27, 2018

The course covers some good topics, but it is not introductory due to the requirement that you have prior knowledge of statistics. I found the lectures got progressively more confusing with few examples of how to apply the knowledge. If you take the time to figure out what is actually being asked and how to do it in the spreadsheets provided you can learn something, but the amount of time wasted hunting for the correct approach to their spreadsheets can be quite frustrating.

교육 기관: Dhananjay P

Mar 15, 2016

The class has great concept but it needs a bit more structure and change to hit its full potential.

The Good:-The spreadsheets and exercises along with Quiz material. The project was also very informative.

The Bad:- The video need to better explain how Area Under Curve and how the Credit model make sense. It was not very intuitive and I struggled for over 2 weeks to put the Project together due to this gap.

But a worthwhile class with great potential. I am glad I took it.

교육 기관: Mohit M

Jan 04, 2016

Course contents are rather deep which is good and makes it challenging. Explanations could be better and there should be more content on some topics for better understanding. Someone with background in statistics would find this course more useful than on who only has basic knowledge of statistics. Nevertheless, it inspired me to learn from other sources to fill the gaps in my understanding.

교육 기관: Grant V

Apr 05, 2017

Leve of difficulty was above my expectations. Moved too fast. Could have been more thorough in applying the content to examples similar to the quiz. Seemed to stick to the bare minimum of what would be required before moving to the quiz. Be transparent with future prospective students that this course absolutely requires knowledge of calculus, probability, and statistics.

교육 기관: Thao V

Nov 16, 2015

The course has some valuable information, however course materials and videos are not so helpful. If you already have some knowledge about statistics and excel, it will be a lot easier to follow the instructor's lectures, otherwise I don't feel how a beginner could really follow up on this course. Some topics are run through so quickly that they are confusing to students.

교육 기관: Ambreen H

Mar 23, 2016

This quickly became a statistics course, which although important was really difficult for me as I went in not expecting it.

However, Dr. Egger is incredible! I think he's a fantastic and well-versed instructor in the Data & Analytics realm and am eager to find ways I can use what I've learned into practice at work.

교육 기관: Marta M

Feb 02, 2016

I would like to have more example, it feels there is mostly theory. The quizzes were super easy, I dropped out at final project, I couldn't get through the first questions. The course (and especially the final project) requires a good basis in statistics beforehand.

The assistants are super helpful and patient.

교육 기관: Christopher C

Aug 15, 2016

The instructor should spend more time putting equations and concepts into concept, and tying them together. It often felt like values and questions were arbitrary. This is less about master data analysis in Excel, and more about gaining ground in a few key concepts, so the title is misleading as well.

교육 기관: Allen O

Jun 30, 2020

The quality of the content did not meet my expectations. There were typos, incorrect answers, and vague explanations. Courses like these, which are fully online and do not have any sort of support besides the forum, really need to make sure everything is robust in terms of content and quality.

교육 기관: Sam H

Aug 22, 2017

Difficult and too condensed for a beginners course. Although I appreciate that some of the worksheets were put together for us, I can't understand the underlying concept as well as if I were the one putting everything together. Logistically, it's not appropriate for a class this short.

교육 기관: Nicholas J S

Nov 29, 2019

I definitely learned a lot from this course, however, the teaching was very poor. The teacher is very hard to understand and much of my learnings I was forced to find elsewhere. Questions in the quizzes are not in coherence with the classes and one is often left very confused.

교육 기관: Malcolm N

Sep 20, 2016

nice syllabus overall with great exercises.

wish it would teach more commonly used excel skills in business e.g. pivot tables, index-match, vlookup etc.

lectures were a bit hard to follow (esp the mathy ones) - i'd suggest reworking the blackboard craft

교육 기관: Ali H A

Feb 14, 2016

This course did not live up to its potential.

The course should be retitled as an "Intro to Statistics" not learning functions and visualizations on excel.

I still have three stars because I at least picked up some useful concepts from it.

교육 기관: Cynthia N

Feb 07, 2016

Great class, however I felt it was very heavy on statistics and math concepts versus how to use Excel for data analysis. I would've liked to see some strategies on how to analyze large datasets, look for trends, and clean up bad data.

교육 기관: Lieselot D

Jul 17, 2018

The course was challenging and I learnt a lot. Some more practical exercises would have been helpful for me. Now everything came together in the peer graded assignment, where I missed some professional feedback to learn from.

교육 기관: Nguyễn T B L

Mar 11, 2016

The attendants might already have a good foundation of econometric and probability statistics before taking this course. Some definitions might be difficult to understand especially how it would be applied in real life.

교육 기관: Hazel H

Dec 29, 2017

so many materials need to read, feel loss patience. but in general, the course is useful. hope can reduce part of the material, no one can stand after 5 or 10 min's video, another 5 or 10 mins reading come along with.

교육 기관: Yuting W

Aug 05, 2018

The tool and the video don't relate very tight.The tool costs me a lot of time.By the way ,for the Quiz 4, I totally can't get the results for the quiz.I found someone in the discussion met the same problem.

교육 기관: Skyler M

Aug 04, 2016

This course is very challenging. I may not have had the proper background in mathematics to full absorb the material. Similarly I may have to busy of a lifestyle to have properly focused on this class.

교육 기관: John E P

Aug 09, 2018

This course was very informative, but in my opinion it has a very steep learning curve. The course takes some very steep jumps from basic concepts to building binary models with out a lot or guidance.

교육 기관: Dove

Dec 08, 2018

Too much math makes it difficult to comprehend. I like week 1, basic excel also practical and easy to understand. But after week 1 everything becomes super confusing... The frustration is real.

교육 기관: Qinwei W

Jul 09, 2017

This requries you other mathmatic or stastical background. So when you choose this course, you need check if you have master these knowledge. Otherwise this course will be so hard to you.

교육 기관: Bader A A

Oct 21, 2019

the data in this course is more as methodology than descriptive, he should have explained more about the real use of methods in data analysis because you will stuck a lot

교육 기관: Zuoren P

Jun 28, 2016

Quiz does not require hands-on experience of creating templates but rather simply plugging in numbers. Students may forget most of the content after finishing the quiz.