Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
3,039개의 평가
680개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 661개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Md. H I S

May 28, 2017

Excellent!!!

Its has so many things to learn; from understanding the data analysis process to building actual models. This course definitely laid the foundation of basic understanding and implementation of making decision thorough data analysis.

I would recommend this course to whoever is interested in learning data analysis or is involved in rational decision making through the data analysis.

교육 기관: Кирилл

Apr 07, 2017

Nice

교육 기관: Yichen W

Mar 10, 2016

Fantastic course, a lot of work. You definitely need decent maths and a bit of basic statistics to fully understand the course. The course covers many topics and provide great practice on core application in statistics field.

교육 기관: Luciano d A P

Nov 15, 2015

Great course! Excellent videos and good exercises.

교육 기관: AIDA B S H

Nov 09, 2015

EXCELLENT! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

교육 기관: juan a c

Feb 06, 2016

very good is increible this course for practice

교육 기관: Volney P

Jun 25, 2017

This Course is awesome!

It is incredible how some concepts clearly defined and put into practice turn into a a powerful tools for data analysis... like binary classification models, confusion matrix, bayes theorem.

I am really enjoying this course... I highly recommended to everyone... thanks a lot professor Daniel Egger for sharing your knowledge with us, Coursera and Duke University for making this course available...

Hungry for more...

Volney Poulson

교육 기관: Lingwei H

May 31, 2017

great course

교육 기관: Rohan D

Dec 22, 2015

Meticulously designed for crisp understanding!

교육 기관: 马杰

Apr 12, 2016

Great contents and teachers!

교육 기관: Fidel B

Mar 28, 2016

Excellent

교육 기관: Mohammad U

Aug 26, 2016

First step toward becoming data scientist.

교육 기관: Sylvia S

Jan 27, 2016

Very thorough and useful. Thank you so much.

교육 기관: Abir H

Oct 24, 2015

The instructions are excellent. It really helps to learn the analytical functions in Excel

교육 기관: Oscar R

Jan 09, 2016

Very good teachers/instructors.

교육 기관: Geoff S

Mar 16, 2017

I enjoyed the class even though I felt it was a little over my head. I learned a lot about the processes involved in doing this work.

교육 기관: Luis M G

Nov 23, 2015

Excelente temario!

교육 기관: Giovanni V

Jan 25, 2016

This is a great course.

교육 기관: Nikolay L

Jan 15, 2016

Excellent and reasonably challenging course. One of the courses that would be extremely hard without a solid foundation in maths.

The final project is massive and time-consuming - I didn't see it coming and was surprised, not in a good way ;) You better start working on the final assignment since the beginning of the course.

교육 기관: Dengjiahao

Feb 09, 2016

Very good Courses!

교육 기관: Stepan P

Nov 14, 2015

Great Course! Thanks)

교육 기관: Danny I

May 14, 2016

Dense! Very Dense. Cool testing methods.

교육 기관: Adriana B Q

Feb 07, 2016

So far so good!!

교육 기관: Galina

Jan 13, 2016

Thank you very much for great course.

I have some difficult with this course and I did not finish it. Whatever the course was very interesting.

교육 기관: Martin S

Sep 30, 2016

I read some of the other reviews and feel I should comment on some of their criticisms.

The material, objectives and tuition are top-notch. Yes there are things that are unclear and difficult and I you will need to read around the subjects introduced from other sources and persevere.

But that is how you will learn and remember.

So far I have yet to complete the course, I am about to start my 4th attempt, but I get a little further each time and the next presentation acts as revision initially. Daniel Eggar introduces key concepts that you need to master, this course is not spoon fed, but is better for it.

If I have a criticism, perhaps the course is badly named, maybe it should be called "Core statistical concepts for data science using Excel"