Chevron Left
Mastering Data Analysis in Excel(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Mastering Data Analysis in Excel 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.2
2,988개의 평가
662개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Important: The focus of this course is on math - specifically, data-analysis concepts and methods - not on Excel for its own sake. We use Excel to do our calculations, and all math formulas are given as Excel Spreadsheets, but we do not attempt to cover Excel Macros, Visual Basic, Pivot Tables, or other intermediate-to-advanced Excel functionality. This course will prepare you to design and implement realistic predictive models based on data. In the Final Project (module 6) you will assume the role of a business data analyst for a bank, and develop two different predictive models to determine which applicants for credit cards should be accepted and which rejected. Your first model will focus on minimizing default risk, and your second on maximizing bank profits. The two models should demonstrate to you in a practical, hands-on way the idea that your choice of business metric drives your choice of an optimal model. The second big idea this course seeks to demonstrate is that your data-analysis results cannot and should not aim to eliminate all uncertainty. Your role as a data-analyst is to reduce uncertainty for decision-makers by a financially valuable increment, while quantifying how much uncertainty remains. You will learn to calculate and apply to real-world examples the most important uncertainty measures used in business, including classification error rates, entropy of information, and confidence intervals for linear regression. All the data you need is provided within the course, all assignments are designed to be done in MS Excel, and you will learn enough Excel to complete all assignments. The course will give you enough practice with Excel to become fluent in its most commonly used business functions, and you’ll be ready to learn any other Excel functionality you might need in the future (module 1). The course does not cover Visual Basic or Pivot Tables and you will not need them to complete the assignments. All advanced concepts are demonstrated in individual Excel spreadsheet templates that you can use to answer relevant questions. You will emerge with substantial vocabulary and practical knowledge of how to apply business data analysis methods based on binary classification (module 2), information theory and entropy measures (module 3), and linear regression (module 4 and 5), all using no software tools more complex than Excel....

최상위 리뷰

JE

Oct 31, 2015

The course deserves a 5-star rating because: (1) content is relevant, (2) the professor is concise and possesses great teaching skills, and (3) the learning modules are applicable to daily problems.

NC

Dec 20, 2016

Overall, the course material is good with many example. Need a general knowledge with mathematical and statistical from the beginning to pass the exam, because course slide is a little bit fast.

필터링 기준:

Mastering Data Analysis in Excel의 643개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Mikhail P

Jun 18, 2018

Wonderful course in all aspects!

교육 기관: SAIRAM C

May 09, 2017

Great. Thank you. Keep going

교육 기관: Chang L

Nov 07, 2017

great course, the final project is really hard but I can really learn something.

교육 기관: Xue L

Oct 23, 2017

The course is very helpful. The final project is a very good practice and it summarized most of the knowledge in this class.

교육 기관: Maycon O F

Dec 12, 2016

Such a good course to learn about data analysis and statistics by using Excel!

교육 기관: Kayla H

Jan 20, 2018

This course was very helpful in refreshing my knowledge of Excel I had previously and including new tips and tricks for working in Excel that I didn't have before.

교육 기관: Michal K

Oct 07, 2017

V

교육 기관: RUSI L

Apr 27, 2017

Very useful course.

교육 기관: Athanasios K

Jul 25, 2017

Amazing and Very tough Course!!!

교육 기관: Rod S

Sep 06, 2016

This course isn't for the faint hearted, you need a decent background in statistics, intermediate mathematics and good grounding in excel. All of these are covered well in the course but there's a lot to take in and I can imagine it being quite tough for those not so familiar. That said, the topics, examples and tools provided are exactly those required to build a good foundation in Business Analytics and I imagine, Data Science. Prof. Egger as always, delivers the course with great aplomb and shares his considerable knowledge in a wise but unassuming manner. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: AKINWALE Z O

Nov 16, 2016

pragmatic enough and a lot of stat to be learned

교육 기관: Kunal M

Jun 26, 2017

course is very helpful

교육 기관: Chengyu H

Oct 04, 2017

I'm happy to learn some concepts of handling data in excel, though it's a bit roughly.

교육 기관: Nikhil S

Aug 09, 2016

I would like to recommend for every beginner who wants to learn data analytics!

교육 기관: Peter M

Feb 23, 2016

Great course for learning some data analysis with excel that is also accessible even if you have had little experience in excel before.

교육 기관: Elena D

Jul 03, 2017

Really good and complete course.

교육 기관: mikelvol1

Sep 07, 2016

闲下来复习下概率也是挺好的,excel只是个幌子

교육 기관: Austin K

Jun 01, 2017

pretty clear explanation for new learner

교육 기관: Atish S

Aug 30, 2017

Statistics knowledge can be extremely helpful. Conceptually and course design is sufficient to explain what all is required to make a predictive model.

교육 기관: Lisa Y

Jun 05, 2017

Very informative and a big learning curve for beginners. But love the guiding projects, which make sense of a lot things!

교육 기관: Barbora B

Feb 06, 2018

Amazing course, I recommend it very much!! It is a just-right challenge - not too easy but not impossible to do either. It's also quite up to everyone how deeply he/she decides to immerse in the subject. Thank you professor Egger!!

교육 기관: anny r

Dec 13, 2015

Thank you very much, the lesson is very useful to me. in order to understand what the necessity of a function. and the professor clearly explains everything in the right pace.

교육 기관: Ermiyas M D

Oct 21, 2015

Excellent training in helping me to master excel.

교육 기관: HUILIN M

Dec 02, 2015

useful

교육 기관: igor s

Mar 23, 2018

Thank you very much for this course, although it is may too difficult.