Chevron Left
The Ancient Greeks(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 The Ancient Greeks 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,559개의 평가
430개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

최상위 리뷰

AS
2018년 4월 22일

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

GL
2015년 10월 15일

Well presented, wonderful insight into the world of the ancient Greeks. I learnt a lot, and it has whetted my appetite for more. I really loved this course, and enjoyed it very much indeed

필터링 기준:

The Ancient Greeks의 426개 리뷰 중 351~375

교육 기관: carlos f z

2015년 10월 26일

Magnífico

교육 기관: Yash D

2020년 4월 9일

good one

교육 기관: Ekaterina P

2016년 6월 29일

Perfect!

교육 기관: Ekaterina M

2016년 9월 26일

Amazing

교육 기관: saheeb a

2020년 10월 4일

Great

교육 기관: Patrick K A

2016년 11월 10일

Good

교육 기관: Matthew R

2016년 7월 24일

Cool

교육 기관: Giovanna M

2015년 8월 19일

W

교육 기관: laura k

2020년 6월 15일

I loved the course and learned a great deal. My only issue what that with many of the quiz's there were questions that had "check all that apply" well I some cases I would get those wrong and then reread my notes, go back over the videos and readings and take the test again only to get the same type of question wrong. I would look and look for the correct answers and with some there just were none. I wish there was a way that after you have submitted you last test that you could get the answers so you would know why you got it wrong and what the right answer was. Some of them were very confusing because the answers would span the whole series of lectures and then maybe a very short part of a reading. I guess I just wish I could know what the actual answer was for some of the questions.

교육 기관: Katherine M

2016년 9월 18일

I found this a really interesting course to complete. The lectures are easily digestible and help to provide context for various readings that you complete along the way. I would have liked an introductory lecture that gave an overview of some of the major themes of the course more clearly (I felt a bit at sea throughout the first topic having never studied this before. I didn't know what to pay attention to). But once we were underway, I had no trouble working out the flow of events. I really enjoyed this- thank you!

교육 기관: Elsa A

2015년 9월 7일

Excellent course! Very knowledgeable professor, yet easy and pleasant to follow. The programme is well structured and the content approached with some depth (considering the introductory nature of the course). I would have loved to see, though, a focus more on philosophy (pre- and post- socratic), visual arts and the Hellenistic period, as it is most of the times neglected, even in today's historical accounts. Hope to see more courses on Classical Studies soon at Coursera.

교육 기관: Elizabeth O

2017년 11월 22일

lectures were excellent--comprehensive, well paced, interesting. I wish that there had been more of an introduction at the outset that framed what we would be learning in the course (date ranges, that it would be focused on Athens, etc.). For a learner completely new to Greek history, understanding these boundaries at the outset would have been a nice framework. Otherwise, excellent course--thank you!

교육 기관: José E S V

2017년 6월 13일

El curso ha sido muy interesante y ameno. He aprendido mucho y sobre todo me he divertido. El profesor (los videos) ha introducido los conceptos más interesantes de forma corrrecta y el material del curso es bueno; por decir algo me hubiese gustado que alguno de los recursos fuese en español aunque entiendo que ello sea muy difícil. Me gusta la historia y solo aprendo por hobby.

교육 기관: BARANIAK

2020년 6월 11일

Ces cours m'ont redonné une bonne vue d'ensemble sur l'histoire de la Grèce ancienne

et fait découvrir des aspects que je ne connaissais pas ou que j'avais oubliés.

Merci à notre éminent professeur pour la clarté de son exposé, son calme et sa bonne prononciation

qui m'a permis avec un sous-titrage en anglais d'améliorer ma compréhension orale de l'anglais.

교육 기관: Yashvardhan A

2020년 6월 5일

This was one of the best online courses that I have been part of; The course was enlightening and informative and the teacher put it forward in a way that was easy to digest and interesting. The teacher himself is an interesting figure. My only complaint would be that some of the reading links that were given not viable to read or access anymore.

교육 기관: David F

2015년 9월 10일

Good introduction to the period - balances political history with wider social and cultural topics. Well supported by original source material. Maybe the expectations of weekly reading are set a little high for many students. I personally found the sections on early Greece particularly interesting as I was least familiar with that era.

교육 기관: James G

2019년 6월 7일

Good value for money. It provides a backbone structure for the 1000 years or so of Greek history. beware of the time requirements for the assignments - the course says a reading assignment is 10 minutes - for 100 pages of Thucydides - I often found it was more like a month! The course took me about 9 months to complete.

교육 기관: Andreea D L

2015년 11월 15일

The course was very interesting. My recommendation would be to also include videos as resources, where possible. For example, I found videos of 'Medea' and 'Antigone' on Youtube and watched them and loved them! Since it's theater, it's completely different seeing the play than just reading it.

교육 기관: Roberto G G

2020년 7월 16일

My only concern is about the quizzes in general. Be prepared to questions about details that aren't the most crucial thing to understand the big frame of History, nor were they emphasized in the lecture. It's a kind of a tricky question. Besides this annoying thing, the course is helpful.

교육 기관: Bradford K

2017년 7월 12일

Very interesting course! Combined aspects of art, architecture, military conflicts, political developments, literature, and philosophy into a wide-ranging overview of ancient Greece. Helped to put a lot of things into perspective. Good use of visuals and supplemental reading material.

교육 기관: Suzanne M Y

2015년 10월 25일

I had forgotten how much reading there is! I didn't have a lot of time, but I enjoyed the lectures a lot and it revisited my interest in history and ancient civilizations. I think I learned more from this than the Ancient Civ class I took many years ago in college! Most enjoyable!

교육 기관: Sue B

2020년 6월 6일

I enjoyed that, but would have liked it to be longer and therefore more informative. I would particularly love more about the literature and philosophy during and after the Peloponnese war, and subsequent events e.g. Plato's trip to, and involvement with, the tyranny of Syracuse

교육 기관: Víctor H A G

2017년 6월 4일

Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, es un gran profesor de historia Antigua. Su didáctica es ágil y amena, posee un adecuado manejo de los conocimientos que logra eficientemente transmitir. He aprendido mucho sobre la historia antigua de Grecia. Gracias profesor Andrew.

교육 기관: Tony L

2017년 8월 28일

Great romp through Ancient Greece. Lectures are wonderful. Note that there is a fair amount of reading required, and the time required to get through the readings are very understated. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in this topic

교육 기관: Wendell H

2020년 1월 16일

I very much enjoyed the lectures and wish there were more of them. The only “criticism” I can offer is that the description of the reading assignments as requiring 10 minutes each to complete is woefully immaculate and misleading.