Chevron Left
The Ancient Greeks(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 The Ancient Greeks 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
1,197개의 평가
297개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

최상위 리뷰

AS

Apr 23, 2018

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

MH

Sep 04, 2015

Brilliant course. Superbly assembled and presented material. And I love the prof's wry sense of humour!\n\nI've been wanting to learn about this subject for many years. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

The Ancient Greeks의 296개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Aline F

Feb 29, 2016

An excellent course for those interested in an introduction to classical studies. I studied roman history and latin at high school, and I was eager to learn more about the ancient greeks. This course provided me a great introduction. And it raised my interest in reading ancient greek authors. That was the strongest point for me: no need of animation, I liked the invitation to read ancient texts.

교육 기관: Newportfiji

Feb 13, 2017

Excellent overview and introduction to Greek history. I am travelling to Greece later this year and wanted to get a better understanding of Greek history to appreciate the art, literature, architecture and sites which I will be visiting. This course was both educational and entertaining. I highly recommend and look forward to building upon the knowledge acquired in the course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Laurent G

Oct 28, 2018

This course is in my opinion exceptionally well made. The reading requirements are dense (clearly not to be done in the 10 minutes allocated each time), very informative and well integrated in the course itself. The course is introductive, but goes far enough to give a great background to build upon. I believe this course is a necessary first step for anybody interested in Greek history.

교육 기관: Frances Y

Jul 30, 2017

Only criticisms would be that a number of the links for the readings are broken and I had to go searching for substitute sites to read them. Luckily being from the fifth century, all the readings are in the public domain. Also the majority if not all the readings are labeled to take 10 minutes but I found many took more than an hour and for the particularly longer works two hours.

교육 기관: Barry D

Sep 14, 2015

Very interesting class. The readings were helpful in understanding a deep appreciation for the subjects covered. Still dislike the multiple guess questions at the end of each section, think essays would show mastery of the bigger picture, but understand the constrains of time on the professor. Still, I would recommend this class as a basic introduction to Ancie

교육 기관: Jonathan W

Nov 12, 2015

I've found this course extremely helpful as I teach Greek history to my high school classes. Professor Andy explains crucial events in enough detail yet the videos are concise enough to watch multiple in one evening with good comprehension. Thank you so much for the lectures and great resources! They are invaluable to my planning my unit on Ancient Greece!

교육 기관: Ion G F

Sep 18, 2015

Even though it covers some topics a little "superficially", this course is of great value for those who want to get more knowledge about the history and development of ancient Greece. It is really interesting that it does not only cover political and military issues, but also daily life and civic aspects of this civilization.

Really recommendable!

교육 기관: Spitsyna K

Jan 11, 2017

Ancient History: it is not boring anymore (for me)! Charming Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak gives materials in a way, that you feel an every character (even mithological) was a real person involved in a real story. I also like nice sence of humor and a voice of lecturer! A lot of reading was easy and interesting to learn during the course.

교육 기관: May W

Mar 22, 2020

Excellent history course presented in such a way that is both informative and interesting. I visited Greece last summer and feel like going back to see more now that I am equipped with more knowledge about the ancient Greeks. I especially like the professor's cool and composed manner. It has truly been a great learning experience.

교육 기관: Gavin R

Dec 27, 2015

An engaging look at Ancient Greece from the Minoan civilisation on Crete through to the death of Socrates (with some bonus material on Alexander the Great by popular demand!). The course is extremely well-designed and presented by first-rate lecturer, Professor Andrew Szegedy-Maszak of Wesleyan University. Totally recommended.

교육 기관: Gail J

Dec 08, 2017

A fantastic course with so much information and so much modern scholarship about Ancient Greece. The discussion forums are excellent. We covered so much in these lectures. Anyone interested in history would enjoy this class. I wish this professor would cover other parts of ancient history for Coursera.

교육 기관: Martha P T

Aug 03, 2019

It was a delight to listen to Ph. Szegedy-Mazsack teaching us about the Greek Culture. I recognized the Greek legacy in our world. I enjoyed a lot the beautiful buildings, statues and paintings. So, History, Litterature, Art and Philosophie supported the marvelous Greek Culture view. Thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Michael S

Mar 15, 2019

Very good course. I had only studied Greece briefly during World History class so some of the topics were familiar but this course fleshed them out in great but easy to understand detail, and there were many topics we had omitted in World History that were covered in the course. Highly recommend!

교육 기관: Lucy I D L R T

Apr 04, 2017

Estudiar historia, es parte de estudiar lo que es el hombre, y el arte siempre revela la parte más bella de este, su parte creativa. El arte Minoico, Arte Micenica, y los poemas de Homero, son parte de ese arte hermoso que es un legado y un disfrute, para ver, leer, estudiar y comprender.

교육 기관: Rhonda S H

May 30, 2016

I love this class. So much important history that can be related to current events and people. I highly recommend everyone to take this course and think about it. We still make the mistakes these people did, and the successes are a part of our existence today. Instructor is very pleasant too.

교육 기관: Joanna C

Dec 08, 2015

Fantastic course. Nicely paced with good lectures and background reading. Highly recommended if you want to learn about history of ancient Greece, with a side order of drama, literature, lives of women, slaves and metics (do the course and you will know who they are). Highly recommended.

교육 기관: María A E

Jan 12, 2019

A great course. It gives you a deep idea of the Greek world in those centuries, the way of thinking and behaving. A good base to continue deepening The professor is stupendous: synthetic and critical in his vision of History.

Thank you very much for giving us this opportunity to learn.

교육 기관: Marta F

Sep 08, 2017

Muchísimas gracias a Coursera y a todos los que participaron en la elaboración del curso, principalmente al profesor. Es un gran regalo poder escuchar estas conferencias y aprender con tan grandes maestros. Muy ameno el profesor y muy buena la información. Saludos desde México.

교육 기관: Priscilla C

Jun 23, 2018

I learned a lot from this well organized and well presented course. I appreciated the lists of readings... but unfortunately a lot of the links to the texts did not work. This was easily remedied by doing internet searches. I wish this professor would have more online courses.

교육 기관: Angela T

Aug 24, 2017

I found this to be an excellent course and really fascinating. it contains a great deal of information and provides some interesting readings materials and has improved my knowledge of the Ancient Greeks considerably. Very professional presentation and great visual resources.

교육 기관: José C E

Jan 08, 2018

This course is run by an utter expert on the field. Professor Szegedy-Maszak is a passionate narrator whose approach to Greek culture helps the student get involved and quite interested in it.

I recommend anyone to take this course on such important subject to our culture.

교육 기관: Billy W

Nov 01, 2015

Professor Andy lectures really made me enjoy my time spent learned and studying about the Ancient Greeks, now having skimmed the top of some history of the Ancient Greeks I look to discover more by myself and as suggested in this course. "Think like the Greeks." Good day.

교육 기관: David H

Aug 23, 2017

This course was very interesting and the way presented was great. By concentrating on the major events and historical figures everything fell into place logically and chronologically. The Prof was good at getting his message across. Thanks for a pleasure able course.

교육 기관: Elena

Sep 23, 2015

I loved this course and I was a bit sad when I finished it. I found it very interesting and the teacher was very good explaining and making it simple enough. The material used (presentations, maps, photos) really helped to round up the lessons. Overall, a ver

교육 기관: Germán K

Dec 23, 2019

Excellent course to think about the story. Coordinated with an exhaustive teacher to explore through of the epic, tragedy, comedy, architecture and art in general as elements to get closer to understanding the Ancient Greeks and their democracy and politics.