학생용
Chevron Left
The Ancient Greeks(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 The Ancient Greeks 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,673개의 평가
470개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

최상위 리뷰

AS
2018년 4월 22일

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

MH
2015년 9월 3일

Brilliant course. Superbly assembled and presented material. And I love the prof's wry sense of humour!\n\nI've been wanting to learn about this subject for many years. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

The Ancient Greeks의 466개 리뷰 중 401~425

교육 기관: Yashvardhan A

2020년 6월 5일

This was one of the best online courses that I have been part of; The course was enlightening and informative and the teacher put it forward in a way that was easy to digest and interesting. The teacher himself is an interesting figure. My only complaint would be that some of the reading links that were given not viable to read or access anymore.

교육 기관: David F

2015년 9월 10일

Good introduction to the period - balances political history with wider social and cultural topics. Well supported by original source material. Maybe the expectations of weekly reading are set a little high for many students. I personally found the sections on early Greece particularly interesting as I was least familiar with that era.

교육 기관: James G

2019년 6월 7일

Good value for money. It provides a backbone structure for the 1000 years or so of Greek history. beware of the time requirements for the assignments - the course says a reading assignment is 10 minutes - for 100 pages of Thucydides - I often found it was more like a month! The course took me about 9 months to complete.

교육 기관: Andreea D L

2015년 11월 15일

The course was very interesting. My recommendation would be to also include videos as resources, where possible. For example, I found videos of 'Medea' and 'Antigone' on Youtube and watched them and loved them! Since it's theater, it's completely different seeing the play than just reading it.

교육 기관: Roberto G G

2020년 7월 16일

My only concern is about the quizzes in general. Be prepared to questions about details that aren't the most crucial thing to understand the big frame of History, nor were they emphasized in the lecture. It's a kind of a tricky question. Besides this annoying thing, the course is helpful.

교육 기관: Bradford K

2017년 7월 12일

Very interesting course! Combined aspects of art, architecture, military conflicts, political developments, literature, and philosophy into a wide-ranging overview of ancient Greece. Helped to put a lot of things into perspective. Good use of visuals and supplemental reading material.

교육 기관: Suzanne M Y

2015년 10월 26일

I had forgotten how much reading there is! I didn't have a lot of time, but I enjoyed the lectures a lot and it revisited my interest in history and ancient civilizations. I think I learned more from this than the Ancient Civ class I took many years ago in college! Most enjoyable!

교육 기관: S. A S V

2020년 12월 5일

Muy difícil para mi persona. Se me dificultan mucho los nombres de personajes, lugares y guerras en griego. Ofrezco una disculpa. Las exposiciones del profesor son excelentes. Las lecturas se me dificultan por ser tan extensas y mi dificultad para leer en la computadora. Gracias.

교육 기관: Felipe D

2021년 3월 28일

very integrated and profound course. a great experience overall. the only problem i must note is that there is no feedback in the questionaries: sometimes i had problems figuring out what was i wrong about. with that aside, i believe this was a wonderful and enlightening course.

교육 기관: Sue B

2020년 6월 6일

I enjoyed that, but would have liked it to be longer and therefore more informative. I would particularly love more about the literature and philosophy during and after the Peloponnese war, and subsequent events e.g. Plato's trip to, and involvement with, the tyranny of Syracuse

교육 기관: Víctor H A G

2017년 6월 4일

Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, es un gran profesor de historia Antigua. Su didáctica es ágil y amena, posee un adecuado manejo de los conocimientos que logra eficientemente transmitir. He aprendido mucho sobre la historia antigua de Grecia. Gracias profesor Andrew.

교육 기관: Tony L

2017년 8월 28일

Great romp through Ancient Greece. Lectures are wonderful. Note that there is a fair amount of reading required, and the time required to get through the readings are very understated. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in this topic

교육 기관: Colin H

2021년 1월 22일

Throughly enjoyable course & the course content was well spaced and presented. Slight annoyance at some of the background traffic noise in a few of the lectures, but this didn't spoil my overall enjoyment of the topics being discussed.

교육 기관: Wendell H

2020년 1월 16일

I very much enjoyed the lectures and wish there were more of them. The only “criticism” I can offer is that the description of the reading assignments as requiring 10 minutes each to complete is woefully immaculate and misleading.

교육 기관: Rafa M

2015년 11월 23일

It is a good course and the instructor is very knowledgeable on the subject. It´s just that, after a while studying about wars it seems that there´s no ending or purpose. It is a very good analisys though.

교육 기관: Tyler R

2020년 5월 1일

Great material, but very in-depth and a bit difficult to follow for someone who has not studied this before. More review and repetition of a smaller amount of material would be beneficial.

교육 기관: Ross L

2016년 11월 18일

Very Interesting course that covers a huge range of topics over a long period of time. A very well informed lecturer who can speak about the subject matter in a clear and concise manner.

교육 기관: Vincent L

2018년 2월 3일

It was really interesting especially with the lectures having lots of visual aids. The reading activities also helped me understand more and learn in general. It was a great course.

교육 기관: James I C

2015년 10월 26일

The lecturer was quite knowledgeable, but I think he needs to work on his presentation a bit. Particularly at the start of the course he didn't quite know what he was trying to say

교육 기관: Lisa S L

2015년 11월 1일

Excellent survey course. Only wish there was more information given on details of daily life, also wish the course was a bit longer. Had issues with verifying the quizes.

교육 기관: Wendy M

2016년 10월 15일

Some great material and I learned a lot. I did in fact complete the course but chose not to submit written material. Sometimes the lecturer was perhaps a little dry.

교육 기관: Desfossez

2018년 4월 9일

The ton of the professor is a bit monotonous, but the facts are interesting and we were able to discover a part of history that is quite unknown to most people

교육 기관: Kaitlin H

2017년 9월 1일

I loved the information and the structure of the course. The supplemental readings were fantastic. I wish there was more content to this course.

교육 기관: Claudia K

2016년 8월 10일

Great course, but the quizzes are not quite there yet. They focus too much on minor details and the questions are sometimes awkwardly phrased.

교육 기관: Nevena D

2015년 12월 6일

I enjoyed this course. It was very interesting, the teacher explained each topic well. A very informative journey through the Ancient Greece.