Chevron Left
The Ancient Greeks(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 The Ancient Greeks 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,694개의 평가
482개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

최상위 리뷰

AS
2018년 4월 22일

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

MH
2015년 9월 3일

Brilliant course. Superbly assembled and presented material. And I love the prof's wry sense of humour!\n\nI've been wanting to learn about this subject for many years. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

The Ancient Greeks의 478개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Daniel M

2021년 5월 2일

Excellent course, the tutor Andrew is passionate and explains everything in an easy to understand way so even total newcomers to the subject can follow along. He will let you come to your own conclusions by giving multiple interpretations of events and sources, but guide you through the Ancient Greek world in a concise and informative manner. My only issue is that some reading materials links are broken. Other than that, the extra reading is extensive but very valuable to make the most of the course. Would highly recommend this courser if you are interested in the Greeks!

교육 기관: Gerald P

2020년 8월 15일

Fantastic course, informative and entertaining. It had a clear, logical, format and structure and was thoroughly enjoyable.

It vastly increased my knowledge of the ancient Greeks and took me into areas that I had avoided in my very limited past dips into Greek history - and I am glad I did!

There is a lot of material in the course and the suggested reading made a heavy load- but greatly added to my knowledge and enjoyment.

I now think of the subject as a new passion and am already planning a trip around many of the sites that I have not yet visited!

Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Ger K

2017년 6월 20일

An absolutely wonderful course.

I thoroughly enjoyed every lecture. I had completed a course on the Cousera website about Greek and Roman mythology before starting this course and when I say this course I signed up and was thrilled with the quality of the lectures and information. The use of and resources, maps and images really gave me a greater understanding of the era. The variety of websites and sources which I was directed to was another component of the course that I really appreciated and enjoyed. All round a wonderful course that I would recommend to anybody.

교육 기관: Roxana P

2021년 1월 30일

Excelent course!!!! Professor Andrew Szegedy Maszak gives his lectures with eloquence and calm. It’s very important to do that , because I assisted courses in which the teachers speak loud, or fast that is difficult for students whom English is not their native language, and It wasn’t so very difficult to assist even without subtitles. Congratulations for that, for the amount of knowledge I’ve acquired and the possibility to continue studying, reading and investigating about Greek culture. I hope he gives more lectures. Thank you very much. Roxana Paez

교육 기관: Stephen R

2015년 10월 4일

This is exactly the model that other humanities and "soft science" courses should follow on Coursera. Your grades and progress are solely based on your own performance and not on the whims of student reviewers. One is also spared the experience of grading the work of others which is often nearly as painful of a punishment as undergoing a root canal sans anesthesia. Other instructors and the leadership of Coursera need to pay attention to how this course is set up in order to make their own future endeavors better for their students.

교육 기관: Valerie A

2020년 5월 10일

Very well structured and interesting course. Even though it's about Ancient ones, it still feels practical as it gives a better understanding of political systems that surround us today and how they came to be. Great lecturer, makes it easy to consume information and remember it even though the subject is so vast it could be overwhelming. Great for general knowledge, for political science students, sociologists, history enthusiasts and for anyone who'd like to break down a couple of myths they believed about Ancient Greece before.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2016년 3월 3일

The course is very well structured for a diverse range of learners. You could get a very deep knowledge and understanding through the readings (Greek tragedies, Herodotus, Thucydides etc) and the lectures, or a broad survey of the Ancient Greeks by just watching the videos. The professor also combines the narrative, the methods used to study those narratives and the limits to our knowledge in an erudite yet engaging manner.

Definitely recommended as a top quality resource for anyone who wants to learn about Ancient Greece.

교육 기관: Rocío M E L

2016년 1월 18일

Fue un curso maravilloso, aunque difícil ya que contenía muchas lecturas. Gracias al profesor y a todo su staff, a la universidad.

Me gustaría que pudieran hacer el curso en varios módulos, con la misma estructura, pero centrarse con más tiempo en cada módulo, ya que existen muchas lecturas y es muy limitado el tiempo para terminarlas todas.

Ojalá que pudieran hacer esta división y abarcar un poco más en los temas por módulo.

Felicitaciones a todo el equipo y Feliz 2016. Espero vernos pronto en otra edición.

교육 기관: Jacques R

2018년 2월 13일

Dr. Szegedy-Maszak and team do a superb job with this course. The professor has an authoritative command of ancient Greek history and effectively conveys nuance and important points. He is able to put the subject matter in context of a larger historical perspective. He introduces the fascinating personalities and events that echo to our own age. The professor has a humble and matter of fact style yet conveys a deep and balanced understanding. The course is a pleasure to take and deeply rewarding.

교육 기관: James S

2020년 2월 6일

Excellent course, although dated since it was assembled. Lectures were excellent as were the supported provided by mentor. The only distraction for students in this particular course is many of the URL links to readings have become broken over the 4+ years since course was first offered and many students have commented, many providing alternate links to find readings in other sites. However, all the lectures are intact and a real joy to attend. Thanks, Coursera for another great course

교육 기관: Pedro d F L e S

2020년 8월 19일

Professor Andy is the best history professor I've ever had, and, trust me: I've had too many already, since I'm a masters student. Yet, I'm feeling sad because I wish I could thank him personally, and shake his hands right now, maybe even give him a hug (I'm brazilian)! It was my pleasure and privilege to be revisiting the Greeks through his compelling lectures. He is able to bring the dead back to life. Andy is a great historian, not only a great professor. Muito obrigado!

교육 기관: Paulina B R

2017년 6월 26일

An exceptional course, the professor speaks very clearly and the lectures are very interesting. Maybe the amount of reading material is a little heavy for someone who has not that much time (and the time scheduled for the reading materials is definitely misleading). At the same time, we read some of the most important and significative works of the subjects that were under discussion. Overall a very stimulating, satisfying and interesting course.

Thank you, Professor!

교육 기관: Mellissa E

2016년 9월 5일

I love listening to these lectures. The professor is highly informed on the subject matter and his personality brings these myths and historical insights to life through engaging, clear story telling. I honestly did not know what to expect from the course, but I am deeply interested and hope to retain at least the main points of the lectures to take with me in my understanding of the world and the development of our richly influenced society by the Ancient Greeks.

교육 기관: Gabriel P

2020년 6월 3일

A great summary of the periods of Ancient Greece from Minoan and Mycenaean times to Alexander the Great's conquest in the 4th century BCE. The lessons are filled with interesting facts and events told with evident passion and provides a multitude of very good extensive resources including texts from Herodotus, Thucidide, Aristotle, Socrates, and more. I trully enjoyed this course and it gave me a much better undertsanding and appreciation for Ancient Greek History.

교육 기관: Alberto V C G

2021년 3월 22일

El curso es extraordinario. Cubre un gran período de tiempo de la historia de los griegos (desde la Edad de Bronce hasta Alejandro Magno), y cada capítulo está contado con tal nivel de amenidad que es, casi, como una buena novela en donde siempre se quiere llegar al próximo capítulo. El profesor es muy bueno y hace muy agradable el curso. Las lecturas están muy bien escogidas y todas son proveídas dentro de la misma plataforma. En resumen, un curso apasionante.

교육 기관: Brian P

2019년 4월 29일

Great course - At times work and other priorities prevented personal study and details /names that would prove required for cumulative quiz at the end of each unit. You can tell the professors passion for both the subject and his desire to communicate that love of Greek and both it's history ,legacy, and culture. Thank you for taking the time to construct a great overview of that time period and the importance of Greece's contribution to world history.

교육 기관: Jennifer T

2015년 11월 22일

Loving this course! Very engaging subject matter and instructor has discussed topics in such a way as to make you want to know more and to continue with the lessons even though it's way past bedtime!

I have learned quite a bit so far and am developing further interest in that time period, especially how the Ancient Greeks have shaped societal constructs and belief systems and how they have affected us throughout the ages to modern life as we know it.

교육 기관: Tony P

2017년 11월 7일

This is a superb course! It expertly provides an in depth overview and historical narrative from multiple cultural perspectives of one of the most important periods of world history. It is well structured and well organized. The lectures are easy to follow, and there is an excellent selection of readings of original materials. I highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in history, or who ever wondered why our world is the way it is today.

교육 기관: Ivor C

2017년 9월 8일

Very interesting course that provides an enormous amount of information in a lot of different subjects - e.g. history, politics, art, literature. Despite the breadth of coverage there was also some great detail upon particular people and events. The prof has a very understated kind of delivery but he really knows his stuff and although I have only a general kind of interest in history he really kept me engaged. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Sandra R E

2020년 7월 18일

This was a wonderful course for me, I throughly enjoyed it. The lectures were well done & gave me much information I was not aware of. Prior to taking this course I took the course “The pre Socratic philosophers & Plato. That was an interesting course as well. I havE always had an interest in Greek culture & history. Their democracy was to be greatly admired & studied by historians. Looking forward to taking another course.

교육 기관: Valerie N

2020년 10월 4일

I loved this course and was sorry when it came to the end. Living in the UK, I have been to Greece on a number of occasions and knew bits and pieces about its history and geography. To learn how it all fitted together and the influence of ancient Greek civilisation on the West was enthralling.

Professor Szegedy-Maszak, is a wonderful teacher whose lectures brought the past to life. If only he would do another course. Please.

교육 기관: NIKOLAOS Z

2018년 5월 7일

EXCELLENT! A REAL PLEASURE, VERY INFORMATIVE AND STIMULATING TO PURSUE MORE KNOWLEDGE FROM THESE WISEST PEOPLE. ALSO, VERY RELEVANT IN OUR TIMES AND PROBABLE FOR AS LONG AS HUMANS LIVE, WE CAN LEARN FROM THE ANCIENT GREEKS, EVEN IF IT IS DIFFICULT.

PROFESSOR SZEGEDY-MASZAK IS NOT ONLY A GREAT TEACHER, BUT ALSO A PLEASURE TO LISTEN AND SEE. MY HIGHEST REGARDS TO EVERYBODY WHO MADE THIS COURSE POSSIBLE.

교육 기관: Aline F

2016년 2월 29일

An excellent course for those interested in an introduction to classical studies. I studied roman history and latin at high school, and I was eager to learn more about the ancient greeks. This course provided me a great introduction. And it raised my interest in reading ancient greek authors. That was the strongest point for me: no need of animation, I liked the invitation to read ancient texts.