Chevron Left
The Ancient Greeks(으)로 돌아가기

웨슬리언 대학교의 The Ancient Greeks 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
1,694개의 평가
482개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This is a survey of ancient Greek history from the Bronze Age to the death of Socrates in 399 BCE. Along with studying the most important events and personalities, we will consider broader issues such as political and cultural values and methods of historical interpretation....

최상위 리뷰

AS
2018년 4월 22일

This has been an enthralling course which introduces you to the world of the Ancient Greek. Thank you Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak, and all the course creators and mentors, for this excellent course.

MH
2015년 9월 3일

Brilliant course. Superbly assembled and presented material. And I love the prof's wry sense of humour!\n\nI've been wanting to learn about this subject for many years. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

The Ancient Greeks의 478개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Newportfiji

2017년 2월 12일

Excellent overview and introduction to Greek history. I am travelling to Greece later this year and wanted to get a better understanding of Greek history to appreciate the art, literature, architecture and sites which I will be visiting. This course was both educational and entertaining. I highly recommend and look forward to building upon the knowledge acquired in the course. Thank you!

교육 기관: Laurent G

2018년 10월 28일

This course is in my opinion exceptionally well made. The reading requirements are dense (clearly not to be done in the 10 minutes allocated each time), very informative and well integrated in the course itself. The course is introductive, but goes far enough to give a great background to build upon. I believe this course is a necessary first step for anybody interested in Greek history.

교육 기관: Frances Y

2017년 7월 29일

Only criticisms would be that a number of the links for the readings are broken and I had to go searching for substitute sites to read them. Luckily being from the fifth century, all the readings are in the public domain. Also the majority if not all the readings are labeled to take 10 minutes but I found many took more than an hour and for the particularly longer works two hours.

교육 기관: Barry D

2015년 9월 14일

Very interesting class. The readings were helpful in understanding a deep appreciation for the subjects covered. Still dislike the multiple guess questions at the end of each section, think essays would show mastery of the bigger picture, but understand the constrains of time on the professor. Still, I would recommend this class as a basic introduction to Ancie

교육 기관: Jonathan W

2015년 11월 12일

I've found this course extremely helpful as I teach Greek history to my high school classes. Professor Andy explains crucial events in enough detail yet the videos are concise enough to watch multiple in one evening with good comprehension. Thank you so much for the lectures and great resources! They are invaluable to my planning my unit on Ancient Greece!

교육 기관: Ion G F

2015년 9월 18일

Even though it covers some topics a little "superficially", this course is of great value for those who want to get more knowledge about the history and development of ancient Greece. It is really interesting that it does not only cover political and military issues, but also daily life and civic aspects of this civilization.

Really recommendable!

교육 기관: Bruna F

2020년 6월 4일

What an amazing course! I'm actually a bit sad it's over! Ancient Greece is such a passion of mine and I've learned alot from this course, the professor is astonishing and has a really effective way of teaching and explaning events and ideas, I'm truly amazed! Congratulations and many thanks to all envolved in this, I'm really going to miss it!

교육 기관: Linda H

2021년 4월 25일

Extremely informative; clearly and neatly presented. The professor has enormous knowledge and an obvious enthusiasm for the subject which brings the long story to life. When I looked back, at the end, I was surprised by the volume that we'd covered. Thank you - a topic I've wanted to explore for a long time. What a great introduction

교육 기관: Spitsyna K

2017년 1월 11일

Ancient History: it is not boring anymore (for me)! Charming Prof. Andrew Szegedy-Maszak gives materials in a way, that you feel an every character (even mithological) was a real person involved in a real story. I also like nice sence of humor and a voice of lecturer! A lot of reading was easy and interesting to learn during the course.

교육 기관: Sonia S K

2020년 9월 9일

I absolutely loved this amazing course. It provided an outline of ancient Greek history. Though the list of reading materials was exhaustive, there are so much material to go back to and refer.The discussion forum of this course is the most active and responsive ever. Overall, this was a nice experience, thanks to Andy and the mentors.

교육 기관: May W

2020년 3월 22일

Excellent history course presented in such a way that is both informative and interesting. I visited Greece last summer and feel like going back to see more now that I am equipped with more knowledge about the ancient Greeks. I especially like the professor's cool and composed manner. It has truly been a great learning experience.

교육 기관: Gavin R

2015년 12월 27일

An engaging look at Ancient Greece from the Minoan civilisation on Crete through to the death of Socrates (with some bonus material on Alexander the Great by popular demand!). The course is extremely well-designed and presented by first-rate lecturer, Professor Andrew Szegedy-Maszak of Wesleyan University. Totally recommended.

교육 기관: Suzanne O

2021년 5월 3일

This is a great course. Enjoyed the challenge of learning about the Ancient Greeks, made possible by the professor. An awesome teacher, whose presentation held my interest and made it exciting to learn about a topic of study new to me. There's so much more to learn. Many thanks! I would love to take another course with Andrew.

교육 기관: LPP

2020년 6월 8일

Really enjoyed the program. Read both the Odyssey by Homer and Histories by Herodotus, which is something I would never have done. Links need to be updated, purely to tighten up the package. I found myself expanding beyond the recommended reading lists. The timeline covered in the course was a lot, but it was done super well.

교육 기관: swagata m

2020년 4월 27일

Prof. Szegedy-Maszak's gripping method of conducting the lectures further inflamed my desire for learning more about Ancient Greece. But much of my thirst was quenched, too. Now I am going to find out more about the classical antiquity. Thanks for this fascinating course, sir!! And thank you for the excellent pictures used.

교육 기관: Wilson F

2020년 8월 17일

Excellent course - a wide subject covered with expertise and in terms accessible for those unfamiliar with the subject, It is introductory, as it had to be considering the broadness of the subject, but carried out in a very respectful way, without generalizations and vulgarisations. Strongly recommended!

교육 기관: OCTAVIO R

2020년 7월 31일

A fantastic course. I'm very happy with the contents lerned these weeks. Good exposition about the historical events, interesting references and lectures, accurately considerations of differents interpretative's position and definite video's contents (I apologise for my english, need to practice more).

교육 기관: Gail J

2017년 12월 7일

A fantastic course with so much information and so much modern scholarship about Ancient Greece. The discussion forums are excellent. We covered so much in these lectures. Anyone interested in history would enjoy this class. I wish this professor would cover other parts of ancient history for Coursera.

교육 기관: Ian T j

2020년 5월 10일

A wonderful course presented with clarity and feeling by Professor Szegedy-Maszak. It made the lives and civilization of the Ancient Greeks so much more accessible. I am delighted to have had the opportunity to complete this course - thank you Coursera and Wesleyan University for making it possible.

교육 기관: Martha P T

2019년 8월 2일

It was a delight to listen to Ph. Szegedy-Mazsack teaching us about the Greek Culture. I recognized the Greek legacy in our world. I enjoyed a lot the beautiful buildings, statues and paintings. So, History, Litterature, Art and Philosophie supported the marvelous Greek Culture view. Thanks a lot!

교육 기관: Michael S

2019년 3월 15일

Very good course. I had only studied Greece briefly during World History class so some of the topics were familiar but this course fleshed them out in great but easy to understand detail, and there were many topics we had omitted in World History that were covered in the course. Highly recommend!

교육 기관: Pedro S V

2021년 4월 8일

Increíble!! ha sido uno de los mejores cursos que he hecho. Un gran nivel de contenido, muy completo, interesante y que invita a pensar. El profesor es simplemente extraordinario. Un hombre que le da pasión, tintes reflexivos y una perspectiva crítica al curso y a la comprensión de la historia.

교육 기관: Vivek B S

2020년 4월 15일

The Ancient Greeks course was really an eye opener into the greek history. Unfortunately, the educational system portrays greek history to be just Alexander and few philosophers nothing else. This course shows us that there is much more to greek history. One of the best history courses to study.

교육 기관: Lucy I D L R T

2017년 4월 4일

Estudiar historia, es parte de estudiar lo que es el hombre, y el arte siempre revela la parte más bella de este, su parte creativa. El arte Minoico, Arte Micenica, y los poemas de Homero, son parte de ese arte hermoso que es un legado y un disfrute, para ver, leer, estudiar y comprender.

교육 기관: Rhonda H

2016년 5월 30일

I love this class. So much important history that can be related to current events and people. I highly recommend everyone to take this course and think about it. We still make the mistakes these people did, and the successes are a part of our existence today. Instructor is very pleasant too.