Chevron Left
Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles(으)로 돌아가기

앨버타 대학교의 Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
989개의 평가
295개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles is a four-lesson course teaching a comprehensive overview of the evolutionary changes that occur when air-breathing terrestrial animals return to water. This course examines the diversity, adaptations, convergence, and phylogenetic relationships of extinct marine reptiles. Students will explore three major groups of marine reptiles: ichthyosaurs, plesiosaurs, and mosasaurs. Watch a preview of the course here: https://uofa.ualberta.ca/courses/paleontology-marine-reptiles...

최상위 리뷰

JC
2016년 4월 1일

An excellent introduction to the sometimes overlooked marine predators that lived alongside the dinosaurs! A lot of detail is presented here, so be prepared to act like a sponge and soak it all up.

DB
2020년 4월 22일

I really enjoyed the course & finding out about the creatures that have fascinated me for years. The course was very well structured in logical sections that enabled me to study when I wanted.

필터링 기준:

Paleontology: Ancient Marine Reptiles의 289개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Owais R

2017년 9월 17일

Its worth

교육 기관: Carlos G

2017년 7월 10일

Very good

교육 기관: Heron A C

2021년 4월 29일

exelente

교육 기관: Albert

2017년 12월 30일

Excelent

교육 기관: Jhon F G L

2019년 2월 23일

Great !

교육 기관: Dillon T

2016년 6월 20일

Awesome

교육 기관: Kathryn M

2021년 3월 31일

Loved

교육 기관: Mona A A

2021년 5월 15일

GOOD

교육 기관: RAGHUVEER S D

2020년 7월 25일

good

교육 기관: Jarrad R

2019년 5월 23일

nice

교육 기관: Danelle L

2016년 6월 7일

I'

교육 기관: Kym M

2019년 6월 1일

A

교육 기관: Robert C C

2016년 4월 25일

G

교육 기관: Carlo

2017년 9월 9일

Good class! Covers a lot of material very clearly in four weeks. The use of the media is good with in-video quizzes, interactive geologic time scale and phylogenetic tree of life. Course notes are provided for each lessons (they are very well done). The presenter, Scott Persons, a PhD student at the time if I am not mistaken, is great, though he is very surprisingly not credited on the homepage of the course, which is a shame (especially given that he has also written his scripts among other things...) Unfortunately, too often the course sounded too much like a catalog of facts. More scientific reasoning would have been nice.

교육 기관: Dorothy F S

2020년 11월 9일

Covers comparative evolution and explains how groups adapted to marine environments. Nomenclature-all the subfamilies, etc. was confusing and the evolutionary tree was hard to understand. It would have been good to be able to see all the groups at once on the tree. Liked the updates on research and the maps showing where specimens have been found, Could have gone into the geology a little more.

교육 기관: Guy M

2020년 4월 11일

There is a great deal of content in this course and as always the course materials are excellent. I would prefer at least two presenters to break up the style of the single presenter used. I find his presenting style quite hard. He sounds patronising when he introduces the quizzes and his pronunciation is at times rather odd. Phil Currie could teach him a thing or two.

교육 기관: DC

2018년 6월 22일

It's pretty good, though be prepared to be beaten to death with MANY often confusing and nearly unpronounceable taxonomic terms. Can't be helped I guess. Those who took the early vertebrate evolution course will be pleased to note that Mr. (Dr.?) Persons is a bit more subdued in this one with a bit less theatrical style.

교육 기관: Raena S

2017년 8월 31일

Very cheerful and concisely-speaking instructor! Although the course was vast in information to take it all in and could do better with more questions and quizzes. Very educative videos and data about ancient marine reptile palaentology. Beautiful course!

교육 기관: Ian A

2020년 3월 8일

This course is a great gateway into this fascinating part of our earth's history, I look forward to learning more from other courses that are offered and would highly recommend this course to others.

교육 기관: Robert P

2020년 5월 11일

Loved learning about these animals and learned a lot of things I didn't know already but the amount of video content each week was too much the theropod/bird class progressed in a much nicer manner.

교육 기관: Katherine M

2016년 10월 16일

Can be extremely complicated with all of the unfamiliar names, and I'd lose focus. As a result, I had a hard time keeping up. I'd recommend pausing and returning another day if you lose focus.

교육 기관: Stephanie V

2017년 8월 20일

Very informative and well presented. The videos could perhaps have been a little shorter. More videos of c. 15 mins are more readily digestible than fewer at c. 30 mins.

교육 기관: Brian D M

2016년 6월 9일

excellent course would love to see more on early crocodilians and turtles, I know turtles have a debated history but would be awesome to look at possible origins.

교육 기관: Marike S

2017년 5월 25일

Thank you for a wonderful course. Ancient Marine Reptiles isn't my main area of interest and I still enjoyed every second!

교육 기관: kiran j

2021년 4월 17일

It was okay, could do better with explaining but still would recommend to anyone interested in paleontology.