Chevron Left
Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods(으)로 돌아가기

덴마크 기술 대학교 (DTU)의 Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
stars
734개의 평가
163개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

The course will cover the topics related to antimicrobial resistance with basic definitions and overview on antimicrobials their use and the emergence and spread of resistance. The course will guide you through the concepts and the importance of resistance spread and dissemination and how that happens. It will show you how bacteria become resistant and which mechanisms they might use for this. And as part of the course you will also receive some training in methods for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) and detection of specific resistance in the microbiological laboratories with the basic methods available and with focus on the obtention of good quality results which can be interpreted and used for different purposes. Additionally, it will show you how to use genomic analysis tools to analyze whole genome sequencing data to detect resistance genes (and or other genes of interest) in a simple and easy way using online tools freely available. In the new new version an additional module including detection of specific resistance mechanisms was added. After this course you should be able to: 1. Describe the most important families of antimicrobials and mode of action 2. Understand the basic concepts of antimicrobial resistance from several perspectives (clinical, research and microbiological) 3. Enumerate and describe how bacteria can become resistant and the mechanisms that may be involved in that process 4. Describe how antimicrobial resistance emerges and spreads around the world including concepts of antimicrobial resistance transfer, selection and dissemination 5. Enumerate the methods used for antimicrobial susceptibility testing (AST) 6. Compare dilution and diffusion methods and know the basic techniques of agar disk diffusion, broth dilution and agar dilution methods 7. Have detailed theoretical knowledge on how to perform the main methods in a laboratory 8. Know the basic concepts about analysis and interpretation of results of AST, including different breakpoints, cut-off setting and their applications. 9. Understand the importance and related concepts related to quality management and quality assurance method standardization, applied to AST 10. Relate the information obtained in this course with real cases of resistant bacteria spreading in patients, the community, animals or the environment 11. Relate the phenotypical results with results from genotyping using molecular techniques for detection of resistance mechanisms 12. Understand the concept and be able to apply genomic analysis tools used to detect resistance genes and other relevant genes from Whole Genome Sequencing (WGS) data (with demonstration of selected online tools) Disclaimer: Please note that the guidelines and methods referred or links included in these materials are updated when the videos lectures are produced and before the course is released, however these might become outdated with time....

최상위 리뷰

DJ

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all\n\nThe documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

AA

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

필터링 기준:

Antimicrobial resistance - theory and methods의 160개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Heba A A E

Apr 16, 2017

I'm very interested while taking this course as it's very related to my recent study.

The material and syllabus are very easy to understand.

Thank you very much

교육 기관: Subimal B

May 30, 2017

The whole system, as how it was structured to give the most compact as well as elaborated explanation with the theory and practical methodologies assembled is one place, has been great effort from each and every person involved in it. I want to thank DTU and its associates and Researchers like Lina Cavaco and Dr. Pimlapas is been a great guide and teacher to me. This unique method of e-learning is been the most flexible yet an intensive curriculum that has broaden my knowledge in this field. I would like to be in touch with your guidance and suggestions in future too. Thank you so much once again and I am hopeful to see this course knowledge strengthening my resume for my future endeavours.

교육 기관: Luísa S N d S

Oct 07, 2017

Excellent classes. If you have some background in Biology, Medicine and correlate areas, they should be of fairly easy understanding. The structure of the course is quite didactical and the explanations on the methods are clear and up to date. The insights on the genomic tools were quite useful! The new module about specific resistances is really good and shall help Biomedical Scientists and lab analysts about using the right methods, performing them properly and keeping vigilance upon new resistant strains arising. Overall a great course for all those interested on this dynamic area.

교육 기관: Harald S

Aug 19, 2017

The design of the course is just excellent I repeat just excellent ! I , born 1937, could after some confusing as well as puzzling (?) times ,not to forget some language-based problems, catch and hold an overall good understanding about the "tiny ones" ruling our lives. Well must say my hobby is microscopy so I have seen quite a few of them as well as in the 1960. been DD-testing bacteriostatic/bacteriocidal ointments

on noscomiala Staph.aur and pseudomonas aerug and some more. . OooH allmost forget.. give my greetings to the staff ... regards Harald

교육 기관: Paul C H

Jul 11, 2017

An extremely interesting course that covers important aspects such as the interpretation of results and quality assurance that many short courses on antimicrobial resistance omit. There are a number of very useful links to further information. Module G on Specific Resistances was very interesting and very up-to-date. Thanks to the team at DTU who produced this course and I look forward to taking any further courses in this extremely important area that you pro

교육 기관: Kübra B

Aug 20, 2018

I am a dentist, currently working in a clinic in Shanghai, China and find this course very useful for refreshing my basic knowledge about these laboratory procedures. Mrs. Cavaco is truly an excellent lecturer and a very knowledgeable scientist. I am very glad to have taken this course.

Thank you, the entire DTU team who is involved in the preparation and presentation of this great course and Coursera team for spreading the knowledge across the world.

교육 기관: Edgard R

Aug 16, 2016

This course is quite interesting for people interested on microbiological field and research because show general concepts, different techniques and tools which are used on laboratory to identify, monitor how these resistance on microorganism take an important part on public health discussion. I recommended to refresh any knowleadge that have on microbiology field.

교육 기관: Mahewash K

Nov 06, 2019

This course was thoroughly explained with such ease and perfection that I'm really very grateful to the whole team. All the guides were successful in holding interest during the lecture. I came to know about many things, all the basic so this course was actually helpful. And I would really be looking forward for many courses from Dtu.

교육 기관: Robert G

Jun 14, 2017

For a student of bioinformatics like me, this course is an indepth case study of a single topic. Antibiotic resistance is covered as it appears in the clinic (briefly), in the laboratory (extensively) and in the genotype (moderately). As such, it is a perfect case study for someone interested in bacterial genetics,

교육 기관: Joana I S N

Jan 26, 2017

I found this course pretty useful and interesting.

I am a pharmacist working as an information manager mostly on hospital medicines, and the antimicrobials play a huge part of the prescriptions.

It was very good to better understand the mecanisms behind the resistances and the racional to choose the best agent agains it.

교육 기관: María D C V

Dec 18, 2019

Los profesores fueron excepcionales, a pesar de ser un tema muy complicado, lo hicieron relativamente sencillo, siempre y cuando se tuviera noción del tema, aprendí muchas cosas que no sabía acerca de los microorganismos y métodos de laboratorio que estoy segura, voy a utilizar en mi vida profesional.

교육 기관: Audrey V

Jul 03, 2018

I learned a lot from this course. Because of the comprehensive lessons and clear explanation of terms and standard protocols, i was and still able to apply such to my Honours and now Master's degree project that i am currently busy with. Thank you so much for the opportunity.

교육 기관: SUMITRA P

Oct 01, 2017

Hello maam,

Really this course is very interesting. I am a veterinary graduate. As in animals also now-a-days, there is deliberate use of antibiotics and knowledge on this is really very much necessary. Thank you so much for your lectures.

교육 기관: Kanagarajadurai K

Jun 19, 2018

The course was more useful and the contents were appropriate to fulfill the need of the course. The lectures were delivered in a serial manner with a connections between them. The lecturers were confident enough to deliver the lectures.

교육 기관: Ricardo E

Oct 07, 2017

I really enjoyed doing this course. Lecturers have a great understanding and vision on the approached subjects and i am sure it will be very useful for my work. I will definitely recommend this course to colleagues

교육 기관: Dipansu S

Jan 29, 2018

This course has benefitted me well , I'm a history student though i have a keen interest in biological stuffs. I enjoyed this session it enabled me to comprehensive understanding of bacteria and it's resistance

교육 기관: Ilias A

Jun 26, 2017

A well structured course on Antimicrobial Resistance organized by experts in the field. Highly recommended for beginners in this research area but a good option to refresh and update your knowledge as well.

교육 기관: Jan K T E

Dec 22, 2016

Thank you to DTU especially to Dr. Lina Cavaco for expanding my knowledge about drug resistance and antimicrobial susceptibility testing. Hoping for more lessons about drug resistance. Thank you once again

교육 기관: Ghanem M G M

Aug 20, 2019

I have learned that antimicrobial resistance is a big concern in every country and as such necessary steps should be taken to curb this.

I really learned a lot. Thank you for this wonderful opportunity

교육 기관: Abdul A

Sep 24, 2017

This i very good course. i recommended to all microbiology and molecular biology students. All three teachers are very good. specially last week lecture about molecular detection of MRSA. CRE.

교육 기관: Kamilla A

Jan 27, 2017

I loved this course. I study biology at Federal University of Rio de Janeiro and it's helped me a lot to understand many things in general about antimicrobials susceptibility. Thank you all!

교육 기관: Damari p J

Nov 15, 2016

It was really a good lectures and please I want to know about my certificate in have already purchased this course and submitted all

The documents let me know when will I get my certificate .

교육 기관: Nopadol K

Feb 25, 2017

This course teach all things that useful and importance for preparing to everyone who want to know about antimicrobial resistance. Don't think a lot. Take this course and learning it, NOW.

교육 기관: Thomas P S

Feb 27, 2018

Very good course, I particularly liked Lina's interventions. It was very well balanced, giving general definitions but also getting into enough details. Kudos to the DTU team !

교육 기관: ELOI D S M

Aug 14, 2017

Excelente curso, parabéns pela iniciativa e proporcionar a todo o mundo conhecimento de qualidade e com certeza agregara uma gama de conhecimento a todos os envolvidos.