Chevron Left
International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes(으)로 돌아가기

레이던 대학의 International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
801개의 평가
135개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

‘The Arbitration of International Disputes’ is the third course of Leiden University’s series on International Law in Action. The first course covered generalities on the international courts and tribunals in The Hague, while the second course provided an insider's perspective into the work of international criminal courts and tribunals. This third course explores the major aspects of international arbitration as one of the most common method of international dispute settlement . Through this course you will gain an in-depth understanding of the various facets of international arbitration through the analysis of its role as a mechanism of dispute settlement, its institutions, the fields of law it is applicable to, and, of course, its most famous awards. The main question we will answer together during this course is "Can international arbitration contribute to the creation of a peaceful world through the settlement of disputes between States and between States and non-State actors?" In order to do so, we will learn the basic historical concepts or arbitration, as well as everything there is to know about the Permanent Court of Arbitration, based in The Hague. We will then dive into the role of international arbitration in settling disputes relating to the Law of the Sea, with a particular insight into the landmark South China Sea Arbitration. For an entire module, we will focus on investment arbitration, its principles and the procedure of the ICSID, the International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes. We will conclude the course with a module on the interplay between state immunity and enforcement of arbitral awards. This is brought to light through the Yukos Arbitration which is a perfect illustration of the topic. This course offers you an opportunity to gain a better insight into international arbitration, its role and the current issues relating to it. You will gain in-depth knowledge of the principles and rules of arbitration. You will explore the topic through concrete examples and the most prominent arbitrations. You will also grasp the notion of international arbitration navigating between law and politics. International arbitration and The Hague go hand in hand: several key arbitration institutes are located in The Hague and important disputes were settled here through arbitration. The Hague is, so to speak, ‘the place to be for international arbitration’, especially when we are dealing with arbitration between States, or arbitration of investment disputes between foreign investors and States. Join us for the course and become an expert on international arbitration! This course is free to join and to participate in. There is the possibility to get a verified certificate for the course, which is a paid option. If you want a certificate, but are unable to pay for it, you can request financial aid via Coursera....

최상위 리뷰

LM
2020년 5월 7일

Great course to provide an overview of international arbitration. The last exercise needs to be updated with the latest info on the Yukos case, the Appels Court (18/02/2020) reinstated the PCA award.

MR
2020년 1월 21일

It was a wonderful course on International Arbitration by University of Leiden. Got to learn a lot. I would like to thank Coursera and University of Leiden for such a productive course.

필터링 기준:

International Law in Action: the Arbitration of International Disputes의 139개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Ahmet S T

2020년 5월 11일

It was the best course experience ever. Teachers are the best teachers in the field. They support us with resources and cases for us to learn. His exams were also really challenging. If you do not grasp the subject, you cannot pass the course.

교육 기관: Narinder K

2020년 8월 1일

I really amazed to note that such experienced facilities made this tough subject so easy to understand. I really moved and learnt lot from it. The learning of International arbitration will help me a lot in my professional career

교육 기관: Sukhamrinder P S

2020년 7월 14일

This Course on International Investment Arbitration has been fantastic learning experience. The study material is very knowledgeable and updated. The faculties are excellent and explain the module in a very simplified manner.

교육 기관: Luka J

2018년 11월 17일

I have done the first two weeks and do recommend the course to all who have an interest in international arbitration. The course is easily accessible and provides you with an overview of all the major areas of the subject.

교육 기관: Peter A O

2020년 5월 5일

This course has perfectly broadened my horizon with respect to international dispute settlement mechanisms especially arbitration in a very succint and concise manner. The study materials are very resourceful and wide.

교육 기관: Anubhav S

2020년 8월 15일

The most organized and innovative teaching skills led to an interesting journey of learning. Will always be thankful to Coursera, Leiden University, and excellent faculty for having this resourceful platform.

교육 기관: jamal b

2019년 12월 9일

the most important course I have taken concerning about arbitration,and advise every one interesting in this subject to start,many sources and views easily to be full aware about ,just take the first step..

교육 기관: PRANAB N

2021년 2월 8일

I find this The Arbitration of International Disputes very useful, as through the course I learned how Arbitration is conducted. The Case studies are quite useful in bringing more clarity to the lectures.

교육 기관: Nishtha K

2020년 8월 9일

Excellent course with an adequate introduction to International Arbitration, including Investment Arbitration. I highly recommend this course to anyone venturing into this field of law.

교육 기관: Mylene B

2021년 7월 7일

A good backgrounder on International arbitration. I have an in depth knowledge of the subject after finishing the course. I want to pursue an LLM in relation to this field of law.

교육 기관: Dwi S R

2020년 8월 17일

This course is totally great! I got a wonderful experience and new knowledge about the arbitration of international disputes. The explanations are communicative and insightful!

교육 기관: rohit k

2018년 7월 12일

The course content was really good and met my expectations. I am very thankful to both the instructors for designing this wonderful course

교육 기관: Ender

2020년 5월 13일

The lecture and content of the course will be more beneficial for me in my future professional life.

Thanks for the course organisation

교육 기관: Yulia S

2019년 12월 10일

That was an interesting course with extensive amount of new information for me and good lectures but quite simple tests. Thank you!

교육 기관: Taaniyaa

2020년 8월 6일

It was a fantastic course. Enjoyed it thoroughly. Thank you to the Professors and Coursera for making is available to us.

교육 기관: Elif Ö K

2019년 2월 5일

It was a useful and introducing course to learn the essential points about the arbitration in a simple and complete way.

교육 기관: Christine W

2020년 10월 24일

Superb course, I enjoyed every module and learned a huge amount about areas of law I had not previously encountered.

교육 기관: Richik D

2020년 5월 12일

Really helped me out in learning the basics of Arbitration. Was concise and easy to comprehend. Thanks!

교육 기관: Eliza M

2020년 5월 2일

I highly appreciate your course and really enjoyed while learning. It was so useful and quite helpful!

교육 기관: Ynabi G T

2021년 8월 10일

It is an amazing course, that it develops your knowledge and skill in the area of international law

교육 기관: Arnold M

2020년 5월 11일

great course, the lecturers are very articulate and you easily grasp the important principles

교육 기관: nader m

2021년 10월 21일

I recommend this course for all who intrest in the Arbitration field and international law.

교육 기관: ONUR K

2021년 2월 6일

Thanks for this useful course. İ'm sure that, this course will help me on my future career.

교육 기관: Sun J

2019년 2월 10일

Excellent course for Law school students to start learning arbitration in a systematic way.

교육 기관: Oduor K K

2018년 11월 10일

Very helpful, especially the material which were shared. I would be using them in future.