Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
647개의 평가
187개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

AT
2021년 1월 10일

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

LG
2019년 4월 25일

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors의 184개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Jessica P

2020년 5월 14일

I took this course during covid. I am educated in civil engineering and have worked in the industry for almost 20 yrs. I took the free version of this course because I genuinely wanted to learn about philosophy when my background and course education has never given me options to. The course was wonderfully laid out and easy to understand coming from no background knowledge and it really opened my eyes. Thank you for making what seemed like it may be a difficult thing to learn late in life easy to understand and enjoyable. I am doing the free version so won’t be doing the final written assignments or peer reviews. Thank you again for making learning fun!!

교육 기관: Harry M

2020년 7월 24일

I really enjoyed this course for numerous reasons. As a retired educator, I appreciated Professor Meyer's teaching style. She explained complex philosophical ideas clearly and distinctly. I thought some of the quizzes were a bit too tricky (which is what my former students probably said about my quizzes). The peer review process, although not the best vehicle to test knowledge, worked well. I thought long and hard before submitting my final essay. I was really impressed with some of the responses that I had to review to complete the course. Some advice for the learner: take notes (obviously). I found that taking iphone pics. of some slides was a great way to capture the information without having to write everything down. Take time digesting the final topic/question before you answer it. Write, re-write and re-write. You may receive a 'satisfactory' from your first attempt but by re writing your final essay several times you get to know the topic in a more in depth way. I took both the Plato and the Aristotle courses and I must admit that I much preferred this course to the earlier one on Plato Not sure why.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2017년 10월 17일

In ancient philosophy you will learn who asked the 'big' questions. Questions that are still being debated in our own times by the religious and philosophically minded as well as explored in the arts and sciences. Prof. Meyer's narrative is informative and probing while not being judgemental. Assessing the quality of the ideas and underlying logic is left up to the student. A first rate course by a top class teacher!

교육 기관: James R B

2019년 2월 2일

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Mr V V

2020년 6월 7일

I have learned a lot through this course and Coursera is very high through online education. I would like to say that it has changed the online education system. Thank you.

교육 기관: Tatiana N

2016년 3월 24일

I am a mathematician, who is interested in learning and developing philosophical ideas concerning the origin of modern science. I am periodically taking philosophical courses here and there to be clear about basic notions of classical philosophical thought. I have never met such a strong qualified lecturer as Professor Susan Sauvé Meyer before. She managed to present the whole body of Aristotelian philosophy in a catchy scheme without any loss of his points. Her explanations are precise and clear. I am admired of her lectures and going to take as many of her courses as I can find.

교육 기관: Tina S

2020년 5월 20일

Thank you ! It has been a wonderful learning experience for me. Although I understand that I have only touched some of the basic of Greek ancient philosophy , but this course have given me an informative overview of its topical issues and key analytical arguments . It surely help me to read more related books and literature in the future.

And a special thanks to Professor Susan Meyer ! She is a cool, clear minded and wonderful teacher ! I feel so fortunate to be able to learn from her !

교육 기관: Alexandra T

2021년 1월 11일

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

교육 기관: Laurent G

2019년 4월 26일

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

교육 기관: Алексей К

2018년 2월 28일

Philosophy is the way to understand the world by using rational structures of mind. Taking it into account, it's really important to have deep understanding of philosophical concepts and theories. The course really helps you to grasp the understanding of such kind. The lecturer explains genius ideas of ancient greek philosophers in a clear logically sequential way using excellent language. Definitely recommend!

교육 기관: Skye H

2020년 3월 27일

Lecturer is clear and organized. Material is interesting and enjoyable. I learned a lot and would recommend this course to anyone who is of a philosophical bent and wishes to know more about the foundations of Western philosophy.

교육 기관: D.Scott V

2016년 8월 18일

Very much enjoyed this course. Some areas were a review but in others I was able to gain a great deal of new insight into the philosophies that were covered. Many Thanks!

교육 기관: Benson H

2018년 8월 9일

Beautifully organized, this is a phenomenal tour through Aristotle's main ideas. Dr. Meyer is an expert on Aristotle, and this course is excellent for that reason!

교육 기관: Eric N

2019년 1월 28일

Excellent lectures by Prof Susan Meyer. The only grouse I had was that no-one else seemed actively to be doing the course. And there were no replies by mentors.

교육 기관: Clare H

2018년 3월 17일

Really good overview. Information is presented in a very clearly and concisely. The pace is good, and the topics are all very interesting.

The only things I didn't like had to do with format issues: I did not find the periodic "quizzes" that interrupt the videos to be helpful. They were more frustrating than anything since they broke up the flow of the videos and didn't add anything to my understanding of the topics. And while the intro sequences to each video are high-quality, it's unnecessary to have 25 seconds dedicated to the into for *each* and *every* video. This was repetitive and frustrating, especially since the volume on the intro sequences was much louder than the rest of the video, meaning I had to either manually skip the into or adjust the volume each time. These are technical details, so I don't want them to reflect poorly on the content of the course, which is excellent. It's more a suggestion to re-edit the course videos at some point.

교육 기관: Felipe A

2020년 9월 9일

This course was a good experience. My activity and regular tasks are too far from the philosophical thoughts then the first weeks of sessions were difficult to understand. I think, I learned and some topics were awesome because I did the relation with our occidental culture those ideas are basics to understand the current world situations also I was able to close some personal ideas and questions with the readings. Aristotelian and Stoic ideas and their proposals are important and update. Thank you for the opportunity.

교육 기관: yohana a

2021년 5월 24일

I learned a lot about Aristotle and his successors in this course. The information was well organized and helped me understand the different periods in which each philosopher lived and stated their ideas on the universe and the whole creation . I was not aware of the timelines on how the main philosophies were developed and how they complemented and/or contradicted each other. This course has also given me the appreciation for Philosophy and I have discovered a new passion in learning more about it.

Thank you!

교육 기관: Alan A

2020년 7월 6일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I have long wanted to find out more about ancient philosophy but have found the original texts heavy-going and largely impenetrable, particularly those by Aristotle. Professor Sauvé Meyer provides a clear introduction to Aristotle's work and relates it to the ideas of other ancient philosophers: her video lectures are excellent. I have learnt a lot and, moreover, feel enthused by ancient philosophy. I will continue my studies of Plato and Aristotle with more confidence.

교육 기관: Nicolas L C

2017년 4월 11일

This is a great introduction to Ancient philosophy for all of those who want to obtain more knowledge about the invaluable legacy of the Greek miracle !

I deeply recommend this course, which brought be excellent additional material in Ancient philosophy useful to every philosophy student but also to anyone who wants to acquire in depth general knowledge of the roots of our civilisation, the whole brilliantly taught in a rigorous and entertaining fashion !

Thank you Professor Meyer !

교육 기관: Marco T

2016년 10월 9일

I would like to thank the University faculty, especially professor Susan Meyer, for the excellent lessons offered to participants. I have learned a lot about Aristotle and the following schools. The video lessons contained a wealth of information on the subject. The participants also proved very interested in sharing their views and discussing some of the intriguing topics raised by the professor and by other participants. The course was truly outstanding.

교육 기관: ANDRES R P D

2018년 6월 21일

I have been enriched with : Deeper comprehension of epicure’s doctrineClearer justification of “the goal of life”A better global vision of ancient Greek PhilosophyA knew view of the universe, conscience and identity BESIDESI learned a very brilliant way of teaching, high standards of didactic and pedagogic design of a syllabus and well done and attractive lectures. I also enjoyed professor grace and elegance of charming Susan S Mayer.

교육 기관: Hanno H

2017년 2월 17일

I very much liked the course, it has a good pace and the Professor, Susan Sauvé Meyer, does a great job in presenting the material. As the course goes on material discussed before is revisited, there are running examples (so to speak) and the set up generally seems to have been well planned and constructed in advance. This is a course anyone can follow casually on the side, its fun and offers a lot. Thank you

교육 기관: J. Q A

2017년 1월 21일

This course gives an excellent tour of the thought of Aristotle and his successors. The course focuses on the main points of Aristotle's thought and gives the student an excellent frame work for understanding Aristotle's thought without getting lost in the details. A better course that leaves the student capable of going off and reading Aristotle on their own would be hard to produce. Great job.

교육 기관: Robert A B

2016년 9월 11일

Professor Meyer gave exemplary lectures while explaining a variety of different philosophical schools. I found the course interesting and enriching primarily due to the high quality of the lectures given by Professor Meyer. The questions during the lectures were helpful and the quizzes were short and effective in testing learning. May Professor Meyer live long and continue to teach!

교육 기관: Kateryna G

2020년 6월 1일

This is truly outstanding course. Highly recommended! I would even say that it is advisable that all people take it to learn how to reason, to contemplate and of course touch the immense ancient knowledge of giants such as Aristotle. The way it is presented is very well structured, material is given in a clear, engaging way. Overall, one of the best courses I have ever taken