Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
551개의 평가
148개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors의 144개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Jacob R

Oct 28, 2016

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

교육 기관: Linda

Apr 26, 2017

The professor is very great, she stated clealy and intersting about Ancient Philosophy. I love very much. useful!

교육 기관: Ying X

Mar 27, 2017

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

교육 기관: Camilo A G R

Mar 11, 2016

This course give us a particular synthetical view of ancient thought with a particular conciseness and precision.

교육 기관: Хан Е И

Feb 27, 2018

Very well-prepared and informative course. I've really enjoyed reading and listening to the lectures. Thank you!

교육 기관: IOANNA L

May 25, 2020

I think that this course is very useful. It helped me understanding several topics of ancient greek philosophy.

교육 기관: Kayhan A

May 10, 2020

Wonderful course. Learnt a lot of information about Greek philosopher Aristotle and those that followed him.

교육 기관: Serena S

Jan 12, 2017

I loved this course, the Professor is thoughtful and insightful. It was a treat to take this course!

교육 기관: Olivia R

Jun 20, 2016

Meyer is a great teacher and I look forward to more courses by her if she continues to release them

교육 기관: Simon M

May 28, 2020

The teacher was excellent, especially in her clear explanations of the Stoics vs the Epicureans.

교육 기관: Antonia Y

Mar 07, 2016

Very good professor. She explains everything clearly and is really enthusiastic about the topic.

교육 기관: Dimitris S

Nov 30, 2018

Fully satisfied. A course that provides us skills to endure our ordeals, and manage our lives.

교육 기관: Carole L P

Jun 04, 2020

Really great course. Learned so much about Aristotle. Good course. Glad to have taken it.

교육 기관: Xuanyi L

Aug 04, 2019

awesome course!! lots of takeaways from the teacher who really makes complex theories clear.

교육 기관: Kenny S

Feb 03, 2018

Awesome, Professor highly recommend.This class added yo my knowledge in Philosophy,Thank you

교육 기관: Dimitris P

Oct 13, 2016

Excellent course with precious insights in the works of Aristotle, Epicurus and the stoics.

교육 기관: Sajid K

May 31, 2020

Very well structured, it explains complex ideas simply. Makes philosophy very interesting!

교육 기관: Erica

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent teacher! I can't wait to start the next part (which is actually the first one)!!

교육 기관: Don E

Jun 11, 2020

Very informative and detailed course! I found it both interesting and thought provoking.

교육 기관: abid a

Jun 07, 2020

Great course , well explained, recommend to anybody who have no background in philosophy.

교육 기관: ABELARDO S B S

Oct 10, 2016

Excellent course for beginners. Thanks to Prof. Susan Sauvé Meyer and the Coursera staff.

교육 기관: Felipe V R

Jun 14, 2016

A fantastic course, simple, high-level and didactic, rare thing to see. congratulations!

교육 기관: Feng L Y

Jul 21, 2016

I like the quiz between subjects in every video courses. It is really interesting.

교육 기관: Ravitte K

Nov 01, 2016

Well done and thought provoking. Only good things to say about the professor.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Apr 16, 2016

This is one of my top three favorite courses I've taken on Coursera so far!