Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
506개의 평가
125개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors의 121개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Felipe Z G

May 18, 2020

Excelente como curso introductorio de la filosofía aristotélica, estoica y epicurea. Las lecturas sugeridas son muy apropiadas y las explicaciones en los videos también.

교육 기관: David M L

May 20, 2018

me ha gustado mucho aunque esté practicamente en ingles, no importa, se aprenden muchisimas cosas tanto de términos como de explicaciones, espero uno de Ortega y Gasset.

교육 기관: Nabil K

Jul 13, 2017

Absolutely amazing course. Very excellent teacher. She is eloquent, knowledgable and effective at teaching. The only sad part is that she only has 2 courses on Coursera.

교육 기관: Laura M P

May 05, 2020

Excellent second part of an equally excellent first course. Complete and interesting. Both agreed courses are ideal for having a solid base on the ancient philosophers.

교육 기관: Angelina W

Mar 10, 2016

Formatted like the the preceding course. This one goes in depth with the later philosophers. The lectures are very detailed and in-video quizzes are engaging.

교육 기관: Raimundo P J d O

Mar 14, 2019

Excelente Curso! Conteúdo, metodologia, de uma forma dinâmica e interativa, conseguir aprender o material e atingir o objetivo. Vou indicar para meus amigos!

교육 기관: Josef P

May 19, 2016

Introductory course, but nontheless it offers deep insights and explanations of some special problems in Aristotle, Epicureanism and Stoicism. Thank you!

교육 기관: Inga B H

May 06, 2018

Loved every minute of it! A big thank you to professor Susan Sauve Meyer - it was beautiful experience, I wish the course would be intimately wider.

교육 기관: Mandy S

Jun 19, 2016

This is a great course because the great instructor shares her knowledge about Aristotle and his successors in a comprehensible and exciting manner.

교육 기관: Chris P

May 22, 2017

i learned from this lecture that aristotle is true genius and I sincerely give admiration to the lecturer thanks for the work you have done

교육 기관: Matthew A

Nov 27, 2019

I honestly looked forward to this class at the end of each work day. Modest course work and excellent lectures and discussion exercises.

교육 기관: Vangel V

Jul 27, 2018

Excellent overview of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and Stoics. The ideas were clearly expressed in a way that makes learning easier.

교육 기관: Deleted A

Nov 01, 2016

This was an enjoyable course. The professor through her explanations made what could be difficult concepts understandable and fun.

교육 기관: Cees O

Mar 29, 2020

Excellent course that gives a good introduction into Aristotles thinking. Very well taught by the instructor, very clear!

교육 기관: Francisco J J

May 24, 2016

Outstanding course for those who don't fear the important questions, such as: "What makes a good life?". Don't miss it!

교육 기관: Marco A S A A

May 19, 2020

It has helped me to understand the four causes and the difference between the Epicurian school and the stoic school.

교육 기관: Jacob R

Oct 28, 2016

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

교육 기관: Linda

Apr 26, 2017

The professor is very great, she stated clealy and intersting about Ancient Philosophy. I love very much. useful!

교육 기관: Ying X

Mar 27, 2017

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

교육 기관: Camilo A G R

Mar 11, 2016

This course give us a particular synthetical view of ancient thought with a particular conciseness and precision.

교육 기관: Хан Е И

Feb 27, 2018

Very well-prepared and informative course. I've really enjoyed reading and listening to the lectures. Thank you!

교육 기관: IOANNA L

May 25, 2020

I think that this course is very useful. It helped me understanding several topics of ancient greek philosophy.

교육 기관: Kayhan A

May 10, 2020

Wonderful course. Learnt a lot of information about Greek philosopher Aristotle and those that followed him.

교육 기관: Serena S

Jan 12, 2017

I loved this course, the Professor is thoughtful and insightful. It was a treat to take this course!

교육 기관: Olivia R

Jun 20, 2016

Meyer is a great teacher and I look forward to more courses by her if she continues to release them