Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
630개의 평가
178개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

LG
2019년 4월 25일

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

AT
2021년 1월 10일

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors의 173개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Caitlin N

2017년 1월 30일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! I started with practically no knowledge on the subject, and finished with a great understanding. The course was not difficult to follow; had interesting and easy to understand lectures, and provided brilliant resources for background study. I highly recommend this course for anybody interested in Philosophy!

교육 기관: Wei L

2016년 6월 27일

The gold of Aristotle's classic has been expertly mined out and presented in a connoisseur way for the appreciation, which give this lecture its form, or in Aristotle's term, its soul to be alive.

Professor Meyer rarely smiled, but when she did, she smiled very charmingly. ; )

교육 기관: J H B v d M

2020년 9월 7일

I learned a lot about ancient philosophy. Thanks for this opportunity. The teacher explained in a clear way the important aspects of the ancient philosophers. By doning it in her way, she invited me for deepening my interest for the stoics. I enjoyed this course very much.

교육 기관: Renee K

2020년 7월 24일

Thank you, Professor Susan! I've enjoyed the second part of this course and the material and new informative skills I've learned in this course have helped me to grow my love for learning more on philosophy.

I highly recommend taking this course you'll not regret it!

교육 기관: Nicolau N S

2020년 5월 19일

Again, like I have said in the end of Part I, this was a wonderful learning experience. I feel very grateful to Coursera, to the University of Pennsylvania and specially to Susan Meyer. This will certainly help me as a philosophy teacher in the future. Thanks!

교육 기관: David J

2021년 4월 19일

A beautifully lucid and well thought out presentation of some of the views and arguments of these fascinating early thinkers. I've never heard or read a clearer account of the issues that concerned them. Susan Meyer's love of her subject shines through!

교육 기관: Emanuela Z

2019년 8월 27일

This course is well structured. Organized in a chronological sense, it allows us to compare the idea of philosophers considered with contemporaries and precedents.

The intermediate exercises and questions are effective for a better understanding.

교육 기관: Sandra R E

2020년 7월 25일

Excellent course so loved learning more about ancient philosophers. Enjoyed the lectures very much. I took the first part of this course Presocratic philosophers & Plato first. I have enjoyed very much taking both of these courses.

교육 기관: Lee

2019년 12월 21일

Enjoyed this survey of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and the Stoics! Good introduction to the ideas, with easy to understand examples that make it possible to understand the translated readings that precede them.

교육 기관: Claudia M

2020년 12월 1일

I loved this course by prof. dr Meyer. Indeed, it involves reading the original texts, then they are duly commented by prof dr Meyer, who invites us to use our own reasoning ability. I recommend this course!

교육 기관: Orville C

2020년 5월 27일

Dr. Susan Sauvé Meyer delivers the course material at a pace that makes the subject easy to understand while using check-in questions during her presentations that help the listener capture the key concepts.

교육 기관: Paolo R

2020년 5월 16일

Un curso excelente! Susan Sauve Meyer la profesora es una persona excelente y con mucho conocimiento en la materia, y te explica paso a paso y perfectamente cada unidad y lectura del curso. Muchas gracias!

교육 기관: Alexandra T

2021년 1월 11일

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

교육 기관: Alejandro C D

2020년 7월 2일

It is a very complete course because the main approaches of Aristotle, Epicureans and Stoics are explored and allow us a clearly understanding his doctrines and apply them to our daily life.

교육 기관: Bruna F

2020년 8월 12일

Great and very interesting course, both parts! I'm gonna miss it, and actually I wish there was more! Also what an excellent instructor! Thank you to all involved in this beautiful project!

교육 기관: Sylvia H K

2016년 4월 3일

An excellent start to get knowledge about the philosophy principle of the ancient thinkers. Their vision have influenced the way of thinking in European and Western culture.

교육 기관: Noemi M

2020년 8월 3일

I found this course very interesting. Professor Meyer managed to make Philosophy lovely and easy to understand for students who, like me, have never studied this subject!

교육 기관: Felipe Z G

2020년 5월 18일

Excelente como curso introductorio de la filosofía aristotélica, estoica y epicurea. Las lecturas sugeridas son muy apropiadas y las explicaciones en los videos también.

교육 기관: David M L

2018년 5월 20일

me ha gustado mucho aunque esté practicamente en ingles, no importa, se aprenden muchisimas cosas tanto de términos como de explicaciones, espero uno de Ortega y Gasset.

교육 기관: Nabil K

2017년 7월 13일

Absolutely amazing course. Very excellent teacher. She is eloquent, knowledgable and effective at teaching. The only sad part is that she only has 2 courses on Coursera.

교육 기관: Mandhir S

2021년 2월 1일

Excellent course. Really well presented and the prompts/quizzes were appropriate. I wish there were more. I have done both her courses. And they are both excellent.

교육 기관: Laura M P

2020년 5월 5일

Excellent second part of an equally excellent first course. Complete and interesting. Both agreed courses are ideal for having a solid base on the ancient philosophers.

교육 기관: Angelina W

2016년 3월 10일

Formatted like the the preceding course. This one goes in depth with the later philosophers. The lectures are very detailed and in-video quizzes are engaging.

교육 기관: Florence R

2021년 2월 19일

Excellent course! I enjoyed the journey in Ancient Philosophy, Susan Sauvé Meyer provided in this course and the former one about Plato and his predecessors.

교육 기관: Raimundo P J d O

2019년 3월 14일

Excelente Curso! Conteúdo, metodologia, de uma forma dinâmica e interativa, conseguir aprender o material e atingir o objetivo. Vou indicar para meus amigos!