Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
659개의 평가
195개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

AT

2021년 1월 10일

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

LG

2019년 4월 25일

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors의 193개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Sylvia H K

2016년 4월 3일

An excellent start to get knowledge about the philosophy principle of the ancient thinkers. Their vision have influenced the way of thinking in European and Western culture.

교육 기관: Luís A G

2022년 2월 23일

It is an excelent course given by an incredible professor. To enroll it was a pleasure and a very great honor to obtain a certificate from the University of Pennsylvania.

교육 기관: Noemi M

2020년 8월 3일

I found this course very interesting. Professor Meyer managed to make Philosophy lovely and easy to understand for students who, like me, have never studied this subject!

교육 기관: Jutta B

2021년 10월 3일

I really enjoyed this course and the way it was presented. It was very accessible also to someone who has no philosophical background. A big thank you to the lecturer!!!

교육 기관: Felipe Z G

2020년 5월 18일

Excelente como curso introductorio de la filosofía aristotélica, estoica y epicurea. Las lecturas sugeridas son muy apropiadas y las explicaciones en los videos también.

교육 기관: David M L

2018년 5월 20일

me ha gustado mucho aunque esté practicamente en ingles, no importa, se aprenden muchisimas cosas tanto de términos como de explicaciones, espero uno de Ortega y Gasset.

교육 기관: Nabil K

2017년 7월 13일

Absolutely amazing course. Very excellent teacher. She is eloquent, knowledgable and effective at teaching. The only sad part is that she only has 2 courses on Coursera.

교육 기관: Mandhir S

2021년 2월 1일

Excellent course. Really well presented and the prompts/quizzes were appropriate. I wish there were more. I have done both her courses. And they are both excellent.

교육 기관: Laura M P

2020년 5월 5일

Excellent second part of an equally excellent first course. Complete and interesting. Both agreed courses are ideal for having a solid base on the ancient philosophers.

교육 기관: Angelina W

2016년 3월 10일

Formatted like the the preceding course. This one goes in depth with the later philosophers. The lectures are very detailed and in-video quizzes are engaging.

교육 기관: Florence R

2021년 2월 19일

Excellent course! I enjoyed the journey in Ancient Philosophy, Susan Sauvé Meyer provided in this course and the former one about Plato and his predecessors.

교육 기관: Raimundo P J d O

2019년 3월 14일

Excelente Curso! Conteúdo, metodologia, de uma forma dinâmica e interativa, conseguir aprender o material e atingir o objetivo. Vou indicar para meus amigos!

교육 기관: Josef P

2016년 5월 19일

Introductory course, but nontheless it offers deep insights and explanations of some special problems in Aristotle, Epicureanism and Stoicism. Thank you!

교육 기관: ivan l a

2020년 7월 12일

Excellent course, like that of Plato and Predecessors. I feel it intellectualy stimulates and challenges you. Very well the teachers clasees. I loved

교육 기관: Inga B H

2018년 5월 6일

Loved every minute of it! A big thank you to professor Susan Sauve Meyer - it was beautiful experience, I wish the course would be intimately wider.

교육 기관: Mandy S

2016년 6월 19일

This is a great course because the great instructor shares her knowledge about Aristotle and his successors in a comprehensible and exciting manner.

교육 기관: Erickson T

2022년 2월 18일

The course did not only serve as a refresher course on Aristotle, it actually capacitated me to know more and anew. Thank you for this program.

교육 기관: Chris P

2017년 5월 22일

i learned from this lecture that aristotle is true genius and I sincerely give admiration to the lecturer thanks for the work you have done

교육 기관: Matthew A

2019년 11월 27일

I honestly looked forward to this class at the end of each work day. Modest course work and excellent lectures and discussion exercises.

교육 기관: Catherine M

2020년 7월 9일

Fantastic :-) I really enjoyed the course, I learned a lot, and Professor Meyer explains everything very clearly. Highly recommended

교육 기관: FRANCISCO D

2020년 7월 7일

A great survey of Aristotle and his successors. I´m very glad to have finished this course, taught by a great professor and writer.

교육 기관: Vangel V

2018년 7월 27일

Excellent overview of Aristotle, the Epicureans, and Stoics. The ideas were clearly expressed in a way that makes learning easier.

교육 기관: Deleted A

2016년 10월 31일

This was an enjoyable course. The professor through her explanations made what could be difficult concepts understandable and fun.

교육 기관: Cees O

2020년 3월 29일

Excellent course that gives a good introduction into Aristotles thinking. Very well taught by the instructor, very clear!

교육 기관: Francisco J J

2016년 5월 23일

Outstanding course for those who don't fear the important questions, such as: "What makes a good life?". Don't miss it!