Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
659개의 평가
195개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

AT

2021년 1월 10일

This is an excellent course. The lecturer presents the material very clearly, carefully bringing out what is at stake in the views and arguments of the Greek thinkers and schools she considers.

LG

2019년 4월 25일

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors의 193개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Todd B T

2020년 12월 16일

I really enjoyed this course, And with the other 2 courses in philosophy I've already taken I've really learned alot.

교육 기관: Marco A S A A

2020년 5월 19일

It has helped me to understand the four causes and the difference between the Epicurian school and the stoic school.

교육 기관: Jacob R

2016년 10월 27일

Very good basic introduction to the philosophers and their ideas. Very succinct while staying true to the content!

교육 기관: Linda

2017년 4월 26일

The professor is very great, she stated clealy and intersting about Ancient Philosophy. I love very much. useful!

교육 기관: Ying X

2017년 3월 27일

learned a lot about the subject under the guidance of Professor Meyer that's otherwise hard to study independently

교육 기관: Camilo A G R

2016년 3월 11일

This course give us a particular synthetical view of ancient thought with a particular conciseness and precision.

교육 기관: Екатерина Х

2018년 2월 27일

Very well-prepared and informative course. I've really enjoyed reading and listening to the lectures. Thank you!

교육 기관: IOANNA L

2020년 5월 25일

I think that this course is very useful. It helped me understanding several topics of ancient greek philosophy.

교육 기관: Kayhan A

2020년 5월 9일

Wonderful course. Learnt a lot of information about Greek philosopher Aristotle and those that followed him.

교육 기관: Annette V

2021년 3월 27일

This professor is awesome! She really knows what she's talking about and I love that she's not "glitzy."

교육 기관: Eliza L

2022년 6월 17일

Muy bien estructurado, me parece que la duración es razonable así como los examenes y el trabajo final.

교육 기관: Barbara H

2021년 2월 26일

Excellent clear lectures. Professor is amiable, intellectually provocative, and has a sense of humor.

교육 기관: Serena S

2017년 1월 12일

I loved this course, the Professor is thoughtful and insightful. It was a treat to take this course!

교육 기관: Olivia R

2016년 6월 20일

Meyer is a great teacher and I look forward to more courses by her if she continues to release them

교육 기관: Alexandre N

2020년 12월 20일

Excellent ! Aristote explained clearly. Stoics & Épicurians very well explained ans distinguished

교육 기관: Simon M

2020년 5월 28일

The teacher was excellent, especially in her clear explanations of the Stoics vs the Epicureans.

교육 기관: Antonia Y

2016년 3월 7일

Very good professor. She explains everything clearly and is really enthusiastic about the topic.

교육 기관: Dimitris S

2018년 11월 30일

Fully satisfied. A course that provides us skills to endure our ordeals, and manage our lives.

교육 기관: Carole L P

2020년 6월 4일

Really great course. Learned so much about Aristotle. Good course. Glad to have taken it.

교육 기관: Jamie L

2019년 8월 4일

awesome course!! lots of takeaways from the teacher who really makes complex theories clear.

교육 기관: Kenny S

2018년 2월 2일

Awesome, Professor highly recommend.This class added yo my knowledge in Philosophy,Thank you

교육 기관: Dimitris P

2016년 10월 13일

Excellent course with precious insights in the works of Aristotle, Epicurus and the stoics.

교육 기관: Sajid K

2020년 5월 31일

Very well structured, it explains complex ideas simply. Makes philosophy very interesting!

교육 기관: Erica

2017년 7월 24일

Excellent teacher! I can't wait to start the next part (which is actually the first one)!!

교육 기관: Don E

2020년 6월 11일

Very informative and detailed course! I found it both interesting and thought provoking.