Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
565개의 평가
154개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors의 150개 리뷰 중 101~125

교육 기관: Bart S

Jan 24, 2020

excellent survey, learned a lot!!

교육 기관: Patrick W

Jul 09, 2017

Extremely interesting! Thank you!

교육 기관: Prashant S S

May 03, 2019

Very nice and informative course

교육 기관: 김하희

Aug 11, 2018

I loved this lecture. Thank you!

교육 기관: JOHN Q

Mar 17, 2016

Great course. Thanks so much.

교육 기관: Kacper G

Feb 18, 2020

Clara Non Sunt Interpretanda

교육 기관: Joanna C

Oct 18, 2017

Interesting and informative.

교육 기관: Charlotta S R

Sep 03, 2016

great course ( part e of 2)

교육 기관: John V T

Jun 03, 2017

Very Exceptional Course

교육 기관: Zhou X

May 25, 2016

Short and sweat course!

교육 기관: William

Jun 23, 2016

An enlightening course

교육 기관: ELISABETH S

May 08, 2016

more than great!!!

교육 기관: Stephen W

Mar 29, 2017

Wonderful course!

교육 기관: Wes D S

Mar 29, 2017

Loved the course!

교육 기관: Cédric H

Apr 04, 2016

Excellent course.

교육 기관: Luyao Z

Jan 26, 2017

Great class!

교육 기관: Paul C

Mar 09, 2017

Superb. En

교육 기관: Abdulaziz S B

Dec 10, 2019

Excellent

교육 기관: Kim n y

Feb 28, 2019

v

e

r

y

good

교육 기관: Jorge G

Jul 02, 2020

Superb!

교육 기관: 이근영

Jan 31, 2019

Cool

교육 기관: Rajneesh T

Apr 10, 2020

NA

교육 기관: 박기현

Jan 31, 2019

g

교육 기관: Charles E M

Apr 30, 2018

G

교육 기관: Clare H

Mar 17, 2018

Really good overview. Information is presented in a very clearly and concisely. The pace is good, and the topics are all very interesting.

The only things I didn't like had to do with format issues: I did not find the periodic "quizzes" that interrupt the videos to be helpful. They were more frustrating than anything since they broke up the flow of the videos and didn't add anything to my understanding of the topics. And while the intro sequences to each video are high-quality, it's unnecessary to have 25 seconds dedicated to the into for *each* and *every* video. This was repetitive and frustrating, especially since the volume on the intro sequences was much louder than the rest of the video, meaning I had to either manually skip the into or adjust the volume each time. These are technical details, so I don't want them to reflect poorly on the content of the course, which is excellent. It's more a suggestion to re-edit the course videos at some point.