Chevron Left
Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors(으)로 돌아가기

펜실베이니아 대학교의 Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
564개의 평가
154개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is philosophy? How does it differ from science, religion, and other modes of human discourse? This course traces the origins of philosophy in the Western tradition in the thinkers of Ancient Greece. We begin with the Presocratic natural philosophers who were active in Ionia in the 6th century BCE and are also credited with being the first scientists. Thales, Anaximander, and Anaximines made bold proposals about the ultimate constituents of reality, while Heraclitus insisted that there is an underlying order to the changing world. Parmenides of Elea formulated a powerful objection to all these proposals, while later Greek theorists (such as Anaxagoras and the atomist Democritus) attempted to answer that objection. In fifth-century Athens, Socrates insisted on the importance of the fundamental ethical question—“How shall I live?”—and his pupil, Plato, and Plato’s pupil, Aristotle, developed elaborate philosophical systems to explain the nature of reality, knowledge, and human happiness. After the death of Aristotle, in the Hellenistic period, Epicureans and Stoics developed and transformed that earlier tradition. We will study the major doctrines of all these thinkers. Part I will cover Plato and his predecessors. Part II will cover Aristotle and his successors....

최상위 리뷰

LG

Apr 26, 2019

Excellent course, Pr. Sauvé-Meyer keeps the material very engaging, and makes it very clear and easily accessible. Knowing how difficult the original texts are sometimes, this is very valuable.

JB

Feb 02, 2019

This is an excellent course! The professor is well-timed and the resource material well-selected. In-depth treatment of Aristotle, the Stoics, and the Epicureans. Highly recommended.

필터링 기준:

Ancient Philosophy: Aristotle and His Successors의 149개 리뷰 중 126~149

교육 기관: Eshana B

Jun 30, 2019

Not being a prior student of philosophy, or rather arts, I had a very different idea about this discipline. After taking the first week's course, I am pretty much enthusiastic about what is yet to come and look forward to learning more.

The course content seems good for me as an introduction.

Wish it included some more realistic examples from life which we can find witty and can relate to our lives.

교육 기관: Kenneth M

Apr 04, 2016

Clearly presented.course which focuses only on the principal question and themes of each of the 4 philosophies. I found it extremely valuable as it structured in a logical way these issues and also related themt modern life. My only criticism relates to the grading method of the final assignment 0 or 1 is far too simplistic.

교육 기관: Harvey

Jun 21, 2020

I really enjoyed the content and how well it was delivered. She really knows what she is talking about! My only constructive comment would be to somehow make for real-time discussion between students ... after all, we are talking philosophy here. As we have seen with the virus the technology certainly exists.

교육 기관: Miguel A R

Jun 06, 2020

En lo personal ha sido de gran ayuda, me ha brindado una gran experiencia haber viajado en las mentes de estos seres que han dejado su legado a través de la historia. Me hubiese gustado que la extensión y/o contenido hubiese abarcado otras temáticas.

교육 기관: William M

Oct 23, 2017

This was a very solid introduction to the philosophy of Aristotle, Epicurus and the Stoics. It is relatively introductory-level but still I think that even someone who has studied Ancient Philosophy before can learn something from this.

교육 기관: Anette W

Oct 11, 2016

A good follow- up to the previous course. The material is well organised and gives a profound overview while still inciting further investigation, leaving enough room for expansion of the mind and new thoughts on... almost everything.

교육 기관: ZHANG Z

May 30, 2020

Very inspiring and interesting examples! It helped me obtain a more detailed and thorough view on Aristotle, Epicurus and the Stoics! Great learning experience!

교육 기관: Sidney C

Dec 06, 2018

I enjoyed the course and treatment by the Professor. I learned a lot about this important period in philosophy. Thank you.

교육 기관: Jaafar A

Jul 31, 2020

very good course, but requires more multiple choice and fill in the black exercises to be perfect.

thanks Dr. Susan Meyer.

교육 기관: Francisco L

Jul 04, 2019

Very complete, to be perfect, from my point of view, the course would need less material to read and a point of dynamism.

교육 기관: David M

Jun 20, 2016

Interesting overview. Would have appreciated more time on Hellenistic Philosophy

교육 기관: Santosh K

Sep 22, 2016

Beside the annoying loud music in the intro of each video it is Insightful.

교육 기관: Kousay a

Mar 15, 2020

Greek Philosophers were masters of thought and logic. An excellent course!

교육 기관: bouali m

Dec 05, 2016

This was a very enjoyable experience, thank you all for the opportunity.

교육 기관: Mick H

Sep 15, 2016

Another fine MOOC by the prof. I really like her dry delivery style.

교육 기관: Zeyu C

Jan 15, 2017

Though not too inclusive, it's a great course for introduction.

교육 기관: Clotilde D

Feb 02, 2019

Great course, interesting topics and explanations, thanks !

교육 기관: Sindhura

Aug 21, 2016

A good starting point to ancient philosophy .

교육 기관: Joy S

Jun 17, 2018

pretty good info. Aristotle was weird

교육 기관: Julio C N P

Oct 16, 2016

like it most the epicurean philosophy

교육 기관: Jp C

Nov 07, 2016

Definitely interesting.

교육 기관: gregorio e

Apr 07, 2016

Excellent!

교육 기관: N.C.

Aug 30, 2017

This is an okay course. The information was good, but it was delivered in a very slow manner. Overall, I think this course could be half the time it is currently listed at.

교육 기관: Ionko N

Jul 05, 2016

I don't need the teacher to read Aristotle for me. Reading is not Teaching.