Chevron Left
AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
990개의 평가

강좌 소개

"How do they know that?" Modern astronomy has made some astonishing discoveries - how stars burn and how black holes form; galaxies from the edge of the universe and killer rocks right next door; where the elements come from and how the expanding universe is accelerating. But how do we know all that? The truth is that astronomy would be impossible without technology, and every advance in astronomy is really an advance in technology. But the technology by itself is not enough. We have to apply it critically with a knowledge of physics to unlock the secrets of the Universe. Each week we will cover a different aspect of Astronomical technology, matching each piece of technology to a highlight science result. We will explain how the technology works, how it has allowed us to collect astronomical data, and, with some basic physics, how we interpret the data to make scientific discoveries. The class will consist of video lectures, weekly quizzes, and discussion forums. Each week there will be five videos, totalling approximately 40 minutes. They will be in a regular pattern - a short introduction, an example science story, an explanation of the key technology area, a look at how the technology is used in practice, and finally a look at what the future may hold....

최상위 리뷰

EM

2020년 6월 7일

After completing the course, I was able to understand better some concepts in astronomy such as dark matter and dark energy as well as the technologies that helped uncover more truths in our universe.

BJ

2020년 9월 22일

The course was amazing especially when the instructor was explaining by using experiment instruments above all the way the instructors has taught me has completely made me understand the concepts.

필터링 기준:

AstroTech: The Science and Technology behind Astronomical Discovery의 278개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Kinnari S B

2020년 5월 5일

Too good!Andy and Catherine don't just explain us things they make us feel like we are actually doing them especially the detector technology and spectroscopy part.I would surely recommend this course to one who is an astrophile + a tech enthusiast.

교육 기관: Carla P M N

2017년 5월 31일

It gave me a more deep notion about how some of the most important space discoveries have been done and I'm truly amazed by their beautiful complexity and ingenuity, it also let me with the feeling that there is still so much more to understand.

교육 기관: Sai G P

2020년 5월 11일

Great explanation and teaching! learnt a lot of new things and clarified my doubts. I would recommend this course to any budding Astronomer to under how do the devices work which are used to capture and understand the ever-expanding cosmos.

교육 기관: BHOSLE S S

2020년 6월 20일

An excellent opportunity for astrophysics enthusiast for anyone in an enginnering or an applied physics background as you get a clear understanding of various celestial objects and how modern astronomy differs from the ancient astronomy.

교육 기관: RAJA V M

2020년 7월 25일

This course helped me build my basics about astronomy. I now know things i couldn't have learnt otherwise. Such an intriguing course. And for an amateur astronomer this is definitely the course that I would recommend. Simply loved it.

교육 기관: Priyanka V

2020년 8월 24일

This course was really interesting and it gave an insight of some of the essential topics of astronomy. I enjoyed watching all the videos and the concepts were explained in an easy and lucid manner by Andy and Catherine. Thank you!

교육 기관: farid h i

2020년 6월 22일

I am excited to learning a new knowledge about

Physics and Astronomy. It is new experience to me in this course.Thanks for our lecturers/tutors for given this opportunity to learning this knowledge. And sorry for my poor English .

교육 기관: ANSHUL S

2020년 10월 1일

Highly insightful and very basic and short course. Would appreciate if an advanced version of the course is taught as well, where one can learn some skills in practical astronomy. Maybe complex mathematical models or simulations

교육 기관: Gustavo A Z D

2020년 6월 25일

Excellent course, it was an amazing opportunity to learn from very kind and smart persons like Prof. Andy and Prof. Catherine, I really learned a lot about space, things that I never thought they existed, and how things work.

교육 기관: Robinson R

2021년 3월 19일

This course was fantastic in it's approach of teachings the fundamentals of astronomy & astrophysics. As a post-undergrad major in Astrophysics/Astronomy, I was able to learn and refine my skills that I picked up in college.

교육 기관: Vivek S

2020년 7월 4일

ONE OF THE BEST INSTRUCTORS I HAVE EVER STUDIED UNDER. Ms.Catherine and Mr.Andy did an exceptional job in offering us a FUN and KNOWLEDGABLE course on BASIC ASTROPHYSICS!!! Must learn course to all inspiring Astrophysicists!

교육 기관: Utkarsh D

2020년 5월 15일

It was a great experience learning about the universe and the modern technology that we use to understand the nature of the universe and explain scientifically about the various phenomenon taking place in space.

Thank you

교육 기관: Antonio g d

2021년 8월 25일

A good course well explained in a simple but very pleasant way because everything is understood very well. Especially chapters 5 and 6 as well as telescopes. I really liked the good and brief twice good.

ANTONIO GAL VAN

교육 기관: Muhammad Z

2022년 6월 29일

Andy and Catherine did a great job. I've learned a lot! The only reason I completed this course in time is just that both the instructors engaged students professionally. I'm glad I took this course. Thanks to Coursera

교육 기관: Shubham S

2020년 11월 17일

This is course really great. I learnt a lot from this course and got to know, how astronomers are using technologies to detect new galaxies and star. Really great course. Thank you Coursera and Thank you, professors.

교육 기관: Bessie S

2020년 5월 14일

The maths questions struck a great balance between challenging intuition but accessible (maths skills wise) and the explanations of concepts were really clear! Enjoyed and would definitely recommend :)

교육 기관: Antonio B

2017년 7월 11일

Explanations are clear and insightful. The concepts discussed are far from simple, but they are exposed in a very natural way. An extended, deeper version or a follow up course would be nice!

교육 기관: Anubhab S

2020년 7월 24일

An excellent course for beginners who are willing to explore Space Technology at greater depths. The instructors are great and the knowledge imparted is fluid and easy to understand.

교육 기관: Karan C C

2020년 4월 3일

Over all good experience, subject taught very well, and also practical things experimental set up and telescope were explained very well. Both instructors are explaining very well.

교육 기관: Khondaker t m

2020년 6월 21일

I think the course is easy to understand for college level student. Now, i have a clear understanding of Many known things. Thanks for the well described lesson and teachings.

교육 기관: manoj k

2021년 10월 14일

Wonderful Course and Awesome Lectures! Thank you coursera and University of Edinburgh for this amazing course and really helped me to understand astro technology in detail :)

교육 기관: Anagha M

2020년 8월 6일

A great experience. Very well explained. Practical things experimental set up of spectroscopy and telescope were explained very well. Both instructors are taught sincerely.

교육 기관: Talha S

2020년 7월 7일

The whole course was explained in a convenient and outstanding way especially in the last week , the spectroscopy instruments , that helps a lot for a better understanding.

교육 기관: Claudia T

2022년 4월 4일

I loved this course. I would like an update especially when the James Webb Telescope starts to gather more data, but it was a wonderful course and I loved the professors.