Chevron Left
Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization(으)로 돌아가기

멜버른 대학교의 Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
182개의 평가
44개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Optimization is a common form of decision making, and is ubiquitous in our society. Its applications range from solving Sudoku puzzles to arranging seating in a wedding banquet. The same technology can schedule planes and their crews, coordinate the production of steel, and organize the transportation of iron ore from the mines to the ports. Good decisions in manpower and material resources management also allow corporations to improve profit by millions of dollars. Similar problems also underpin much of our daily lives and are part of determining daily delivery routes for packages, making school timetables, and delivering power to our homes. Despite their fundamental importance, all of these problems are a nightmare to solve using traditional undergraduate computer science methods. This course is intended for students interested in tackling all facets of optimization applications. You will learn an entirely new way to think about solving these challenging problems by stating the problem in a state-of-the-art high level modeling language, and letting library constraint solving software do the rest. This will allow you to unlock the power of industrial solving technologies, which have been perfected over decades by hundreds of PhD researchers. With access to this advanced technology, problems that are considered inconceivable to solve before will suddenly become easy. Watch the course promotional video here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hc3cBvtrem0&t=8s...

최상위 리뷰

CJ

May 30, 2019

Good teachers. They go gradually from very easy to challenging concepts. Also a good intro to the main optimization problems.

CT

Jun 08, 2019

Certainly more effort went into this course than I was expecting; well worth the $0 cost of entry.

필터링 기준:

Basic Modeling for Discrete Optimization의 41개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Leo

Jun 20, 2019

Novel, creative and interesting

교육 기관: Charles E T

Jun 08, 2019

Certainly more effort went into this course than I was expecting; well worth the $0 cost of entry.

교육 기관: Clot J

May 30, 2019

Good teachers. They go gradually from very easy to challenging concepts. Also a good intro to the main optimization problems.

교육 기관: Shambo R C

May 29, 2019

great course for beginners and those who are looking for applications of optimisation. the only problem is it forces you to work with minizinc and may consume extra time than expected

교육 기관: Jason H

May 10, 2019

An excellent course, very well explained and a nice touch with the story and animations. The workshops and assignments were fun and challengining. It was amazing to see the difference in efficiency given by different approaches.

교육 기관: Vítor R

Apr 28, 2019

I've never been more engaged in a MOOC!!

교육 기관: Cameron D

Mar 09, 2019

Great course, provided a nice introduction to discrete modelling

교육 기관: Gabriel D d A

Feb 25, 2019

Ótimo curso para introdução a otimização discreta, tive dificuldades nas tarefas, mas boa parte devido a minha falta de atenção. Diferente de outros corretores, o Feedback do MinZinc funcionou muita bem!

교육 기관: Michael M

Feb 24, 2019

Challenging programming assignments and helpful workshops. Good video material. Hoped to have some more real world examples, rather than just fable-based examples.

교육 기관: Kota M

Jan 14, 2019

Very unique and interesting course. Taught well and easy to understand step by step.

I wish the class covers more "real-world" like assignments. All examples and problem sets are described in terms of Chinese history. It was difficult to imagine what I can do with these techniques.

교육 기관: Jaye H

Jan 06, 2019

This course was amazing! Far more interesting, entertaining, and educational than I was expecting to find. There's a trailer for this course, which indicates how well-produced it is and how much effort has been put in to make this more than just dry lecture material. The course-creators have done an amazing job with this one; if you are a beginner with any interest in optimization or constraint programming then this is the course for you.

교육 기관: Arnaud L R

Dec 04, 2018

This course is very well done. The story gives a fun context to the exercices. The exercices allows one to really start to understand how important modeling is and how to do it, they are so well calibrated that I wonder if they were generated by a solver :-)

교육 기관: Mikhail S

Sep 22, 2018

Great course, but huge gap in difficulty between weeks two and three, as it seemed to me. Knowledge given by course is applicable both for a work and a hobby for me.

교육 기관: Julien E

Aug 23, 2018

Excellent course ! Great programming assignments using Minizinc

교육 기관: Kittiphon P

Jun 25, 2018

The stories and examples used in the course are great and creative. I would like to thank both professors and all TAs for creating wonderful online course and for their hard work. However, some programming assignments are too tedious with too much constraints, like PA 3.

교육 기관: Dharyll P A

Jun 24, 2018

A creative way of teaching discrete optimization. Well appreciated.

교육 기관: Justin F

Jun 17, 2018

Challenging, but easy enough to be fair.

교육 기관: Ajit C B

May 21, 2018

excellent course!

교육 기관: Cristina P

Feb 18, 2018

Really engaging. Also challenging assignments for weeks 3 and 4

교육 기관: Dominik T

Feb 17, 2018

Terrific course

교육 기관: Can K

Feb 06, 2018

Should be called "Minizinc tutorial". The exercises are easy to pass, but the feedback on them are unhelpful, "You can have a better objective function" does not mean anything if you don't say which part of the model should the person improve.

교육 기관: Daniel V

Jan 27, 2018

Wonderful. It changes the way of solving problems.

교육 기관: Chen H

Jan 14, 2018

Good perparation!

교육 기관: Philippe C

Jan 14, 2018

Great course to learn modeling discrete optimization problems. Excellent pedagogy and amusing problems to model using MiniZinc.

교육 기관: Juan C G V

Jan 06, 2018

Enjoyable and challenging. Great professors and TAs. Excellent introduction to modeling and declarative programming. If you want to learn programming with constraints definitely I recommend this course.