Chevron Left
Flight mechanics - The basis(으)로 돌아가기

ISAE-SUPAERO의 Flight mechanics - The basis 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
176개의 평가

강좌 소개

More than one century after the Wright brothers' first flight, the flight still defy our intuition. You will learn here how to name the different parts of the airplane and how to describe and quantify its geometry. For that, we need now to share a precise vocabulary to describe the airplane's movement and attitude in space, and a refresher on basic general mechanic principles. You will remind how Newton's 2nd law allows you to determine what force must be applied on an apple - or on an airplane, to modify the magnitude and direction of its speed. Coming back on the concepts of kinetic energy and potential energy, you will discover the very useful concept of total height and you will be able to explain how an airplane can quickly exchange speed for altitude, while changes in total height are much slower. In the end, you will discover that only a very small number of forces apply on an airplane in flight and that you will be able to classify those that change its energy state and those that modify its trajectory. You will discover the concept of load factor and understand why the pilot of a combat aircraft can feel a weight nine-time greater than his actual weight! Finally, we will establish the lift and propulsion equations, that form the basis of flight mechanics, and you will be able to compute the lift and thrust necessary to follow a given trajectory at a given speed. This course is for anybody interested in learning more about how planes work, the physics of flying, or flight mechanics. It will be of particular interest to undergraduate students in aerospace engineering, trainees as well as senior pilots, journalists, and professionals in the aeronautics sector. Although some mathematical formalism may be present sometimes. It is always doubled by sketches, figures, and hands-explanations. So that, anybody can skip the formulas without losing the core understanding of the concepts. No apples were harmed in the making of this course... This course is only a foretaste of the mechanics of flight. ISAE-SUPAERO and Eric Poquillon will offer you other courses and the first specialization in autumn 2021. Initially, three courses will be published to answer several questions: Can we fly as high as we want? What is a stall? Why do some planes have propellers and others have jet engines? Is an airplane always stable? How do you control an airplane following an engine failure? All this and more will be covered in this series of flight mechanics courses. This course is a part of the specialization "Fundamentals of Flight mechanics"....

최상위 리뷰

AA

2021년 11월 3일

The effort put into the course preparation is too good. Some of the quizzes seemed to be a few levels higher than the course but that's the beauty of it. It makes us think. Great job!

AS

2022년 7월 4일

It was a really great course with short and informative videos and also very meaningful quizzes and assignment. I am glad that I chose this course.

필터링 기준:

Flight mechanics - The basis의 48개 리뷰 중 26~48

교육 기관: Semachew F M

2021년 11월 15일

I need the certificate. And you should provide that.

교육 기관: Caroline A

2022년 5월 10일

​greatest course and teacher too! Thanks a lot

교육 기관: Mehmet M

2021년 11월 25일

thank you very much, it is really great course

교육 기관: Imtiyaz R

2022년 3월 5일

benifical for aeronautical engineers

교육 기관: Suryaansh A

2022년 4월 30일

Superb faculty, great experience

교육 기관: Msehli a

2022년 1월 21일

excelent teacher thank you

교육 기관: Akif K

2022년 5월 31일

Good Course for Basics

교육 기관: Christopher P S

2022년 4월 10일

I really learned a lot

교육 기관: Emanoela T

2021년 9월 25일

awesome course

교육 기관: Aman K

2021년 11월 25일

great course

교육 기관: james m

2022년 7월 3일

Great

교육 기관: nethmi i

2021년 11월 11일

great

교육 기관: Pradikshan A K

2021년 11월 7일

Great

교육 기관: Raouf O

2022년 3월 19일

t

교육 기관: Dominik T

2022년 3월 8일

The course is designed for students with previous knowledge of at least freshman level physics and mathematics. Additionally, it is helpful to already be familiar with aeronautical knowledge such as theory of flight and the basic anatomy of airplanes, although some of it is reviewed at the start of the course.

I liked learning about the HUD (heads up display) and the more practical aspects of flight mechanics that are useful to pilots and other related aviation personalities.

I did not like the fact that a lot of the course felt like there was more opportunity to expand or explain different topics. When I attempted the quizzes, if not for my previous knowledge of the field, it felt as though there was not enough guidance beforehand.

교육 기관: Stephen C R

2021년 11월 7일

I enjoyed this course although my limited mathematical skills were a handicap, maybe some pre flight mechanics course on maths could be offered to students. I did pass reasonably well but dropped the very last exercise and I would have liked to see how close I was to the actual answer. Anyway, I learned a lot. I also had to watch the lectures many times to get the information in but I do feel it was worth the effort. Thank you,

교육 기관: CHRISTELLE R

2022년 6월 23일

I chose this course because I wanted to challenge myself which it did. The last time I saw the Newton's law was 38 years ago. Even without a background in science, it is possible to follow.

Be aware that you'll need to work at it. I took notes, screenshots, went to the library... It was hard work but it paid off.

I wished that the instructions were more detailed.

I did received a certificate.

교육 기관: Kanishka J

2021년 10월 8일

Pros : Concepts were delivered in a nice and concise way. Especially the Energy relations. Cons : Accessing of quizzes on Week3 surely could be improved a lot. The expressions entered marked incorrect even though the expression is correct. As a suggestion probably some symbolic manipulation could be used there to improve the accuracy.

교육 기관: Takura M S

2022년 1월 17일

This course was more challenging than I expected but its a great course thank you Eric!!!!!!!!!!!!!

교육 기관: Viswanath A 1

2022년 5월 21일

it is a great course for beginers to enjoy an learn about basic flight mechanics

교육 기관: DILEK B

2022년 5월 15일

It was awasome. There is some missings in me but now I know them.

Thanks to you.

교육 기관: Alexa B

2022년 2월 9일

Could barley understand the instructor! had a hard time passing the quizzes