Chevron Left
Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas(으)로 돌아가기

커티스음악원의 Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
523개의 평가
123개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Our relationship to Beethoven is a deep and paradoxical one. For many musicians, he represents a kind of holy grail: His music has an intensity, rigor, and profundity which keep us in its thrall, and it is perhaps unequalled in the interpretive, technical, and even spiritual challenges it poses to performers. At the same time, Beethoven’s music is casually familiar to millions of people who do not attend concerts or consider themselves musically inclined. Two hundred years after his death, he is everywhere in the culture, yet still represents its summit. This course takes an inside-out look at the 32 piano sonatas from the point of view of a performer. Each lecture will focus on one sonata and an aspect of Beethoven’s music exemplified by it. (These might include: the relationship between Beethoven the pianist and Beethoven the composer; the critical role improvisation plays in his highly structured music; his mixing of extremely refined music with rougher elements; and the often surprising ways in which the events of his life influenced his compositional process and the character of the music he was writing.) The course will feature some analysis and historical background, but its perspective is that of a player, not a musicologist. Its main aim is to explore and demystify the work of the performer, even while embracing the eternal mystery of Beethoven’s music itself. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. The Dolfinger-McMahon Foundation supports Curtis's lifelong learning initiatives....

최상위 리뷰

JR

Aug 23, 2016

Fascinating trip through the marvellous Beethoven sonatas.\n\nAlthough I love them since many years, I'm very happy to see that It's always possible to progress.\n\nMany thanks Jonathan.

JM

Oct 16, 2015

I highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to look DEEPER into music. Believe me, after you are done with this course. You will see classical music completely different.

필터링 기준:

Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas의 123개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: AIDA B S H

Aug 17, 2015

Instructor is amazing! The best!

교육 기관: Lauren L

Aug 15, 2015

I am about three-quarters of the way through this course and I am completely enamoured with Beethoven in ways that were impossible before taking this course. I love the depth that Professor Biss imparts without ever getting pedantic or overwhelming. I have now listened to all 32 sonatas, some several times more over the past several weeks and I feel so fortunate that I can love this music in a deeper, more passionate way because of the understanding I have gleaned from this class. Highly recommended for all musicians and music-lovers.

교육 기관: Percy Y

Nov 01, 2015

Exciting and Clear !

교육 기관: Dongfang S

May 10, 2016

Super good

교육 기관: Emily F

Jul 05, 2017

Excellent course that is accessible and easy to understand. A wonderful combination of music history and listening.

교육 기관: Beethoven

Feb 08, 2016

Inspiration!

교육 기관: Nenad R

Jan 15, 2018

Excellent lectures by excellent professor

교육 기관: Phillip C

Mar 09, 2018

The lectures given by Jonathan Biss are nothing short of excellent and inspirational. I am certainly wanting to continue my music education.

교육 기관: Maria E H

May 08, 2017

One of the best courses I have taken online! Whether you are a musician or not, this course will improve your appreciation of classical music!

교육 기관: Kam C F

Jun 24, 2016

In discussing modulation in classical music, one of my classmates said that Beethoven's piano sonatas are bizarre in their styles compared with those Romantic composers like Liszt and Chopin. I don't agree with him, but I don't have enough knowledge to analyze Beethoven's work. The course titled "Exploring Beethoven's Piano Sonatas" provides such a high-level overview of Beethoven's Piano music, I should say Thank you to the instructor!

교육 기관: jean j

Oct 04, 2015

fantastic course. excellent prof

교육 기관: Angela P

Oct 26, 2015

Excellent course. You can go into great detail in understanding the intricacies of the sonatas or you can simply come away with a deep appreciation for Beethoven, his works and what goes into playing them.

교육 기관: Ashley

Dec 01, 2015

I am only halfway through this course and it is already a favorite out of the handful of courses I've successfully completed through Coursera. Jonathan Biss's passion for the subject matter brought me from an infatuation with Beethoven to a full-on heed over heels love. I am a vocalist, I was classically trained as a child (lately a lot more bluesy) but do not have a strong background in theory. Most of what I know is through an innate understanding of harmony, structure, etc. This is whetting my appetite for musical structure and thoroughly illustrating that musical analysis is so very exciting. There really aren't words for how much I love this course. It has really brought me joy.

교육 기관: Axel E M A

Oct 27, 2015

Fantastic course. Thank you so much for sharing all this wonderful insight into Beethoven's works.

교육 기관: Emma M B

Aug 08, 2017

La música de Beethoven me gusta mucho y más la manera que fue impartida por Jonathan Biss. Felicidades a Coursera y al Prof. Biss. gracias.

교육 기관: STANISLAV S

Nov 03, 2015

For true Beethoven lovers and others as well

교육 기관: Jill S

Nov 22, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. It was presented with great knowledge and passion, and despite being full of musical terminology and detail, it was always accessible to me as a non-player. I learned so much about how this wonderful music was structured and composed.

교육 기관: Ignacio T A

Oct 18, 2016

Excellent.

교육 기관: Rafael S

Mar 21, 2016

So far, excellent!

교육 기관: Sebastián A P

Jun 05, 2017

Mindblowing, exquisite explanations and a broad look on Beethoven's work. Simply magnificent.

교육 기관: Wan Y

Sep 01, 2016

excellent!

교육 기관: Mario H A L

Aug 31, 2015

Excelente maestro... recomendable 100%

교육 기관: Luis L

Aug 28, 2015

A great pianist and teacher, bravo Maestro

교육 기관: Angelina W

Nov 25, 2016

In-depth lectures about Beethoven's life and music. I'm still not a Beethoven fan, but I appreciate his music now.

교육 기관: kenneth j j

Jun 18, 2016

very good