Chevron Left
Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas(으)로 돌아가기

커티스음악원의 Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
519개의 평가
122개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Our relationship to Beethoven is a deep and paradoxical one. For many musicians, he represents a kind of holy grail: His music has an intensity, rigor, and profundity which keep us in its thrall, and it is perhaps unequalled in the interpretive, technical, and even spiritual challenges it poses to performers. At the same time, Beethoven’s music is casually familiar to millions of people who do not attend concerts or consider themselves musically inclined. Two hundred years after his death, he is everywhere in the culture, yet still represents its summit. This course takes an inside-out look at the 32 piano sonatas from the point of view of a performer. Each lecture will focus on one sonata and an aspect of Beethoven’s music exemplified by it. (These might include: the relationship between Beethoven the pianist and Beethoven the composer; the critical role improvisation plays in his highly structured music; his mixing of extremely refined music with rougher elements; and the often surprising ways in which the events of his life influenced his compositional process and the character of the music he was writing.) The course will feature some analysis and historical background, but its perspective is that of a player, not a musicologist. Its main aim is to explore and demystify the work of the performer, even while embracing the eternal mystery of Beethoven’s music itself. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. The Dolfinger-McMahon Foundation supports Curtis's lifelong learning initiatives....

최상위 리뷰

JR

Aug 23, 2016

Fascinating trip through the marvellous Beethoven sonatas.\n\nAlthough I love them since many years, I'm very happy to see that It's always possible to progress.\n\nMany thanks Jonathan.

JM

Oct 16, 2015

I highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to look DEEPER into music. Believe me, after you are done with this course. You will see classical music completely different.

필터링 기준:

Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas의 121개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Ni H

Aug 19, 2015

Very insightful and inspiring

교육 기관: AIDA B S H

Aug 17, 2015

Instructor is amazing! The best!

교육 기관: Thaís F L

Jun 28, 2016

great

교육 기관: António M d S A

Jan 26, 2017

Thank you very much.

교육 기관: Gerardo C

Sep 21, 2015

Amazing course!!! Would definitely recommend it to everyone.

교육 기관: Hisham E

Oct 02, 2015

An excellent course. I ATTEND IT NOW FOR THE SECOND TIME.

교육 기관: Lizao L

Oct 31, 2015

Very nice.

교육 기관: Mark L

Oct 07, 2015

This course was excellent. I was exposed to many sonatas I was not familiar with before this class. Jonathan Biss is a great musician and did a great job of highlighting the key points of the sonatas presented. I would like to see him cover another composer.

교육 기관: kenneth j j

Jun 18, 2016

very good

교육 기관: Chris M

Sep 24, 2015

A fascinating course for any classical musician, or keen listener of classical music. Jonathan Biss' passion for his subject, his rich language and his emotion-laden playing combine to engage the participant, so that one is left with not just a better intellectual understanding of Beethoven's Piano Sonatas, but also, a much greater appreciation of the pieces themselves and the man who wrote them. Thank you to Coursera, Jonathan Biss and the Curtis Institute of Music for making this course available.

교육 기관: Dongfang S

May 10, 2016

Super good

교육 기관: Emily F

Jul 05, 2017

Excellent course that is accessible and easy to understand. A wonderful combination of music history and listening.

교육 기관: Leora W

Aug 23, 2015

Wonderful!

교육 기관: Anna W

Jan 08, 2016

Excellent course. I think I began to understand and — what is most important for me — feel the music. Thank you!

교육 기관: Nenad R

Jan 15, 2018

Excellent lectures by excellent professor

교육 기관: Karim T R

Feb 09, 2017

Incredible class.

교육 기관: Grace V

May 01, 2016

Going through it for the second time this summer. My all time favorite Coursera course, and I've done almost ten...

교육 기관: Jacob F

Aug 15, 2015

great teacher

교육 기관: Peter E

Sep 02, 2015

Just superb. Is there a better, more passionate and lucid guide to this extraordinary music than Jonathan Biss? The whole series is utterly compelling. It's made me listen to and absorb the sonatas in a whole new way, and it's opened my eyes to the full scope and scale, beauty and humour of Beethoven's genius in a way I'd never imagined possible. Can't wait for more new lectures in the future.

교육 기관: Miguel A V

Aug 21, 2015

amazing

교육 기관: Ronald J B

Apr 23, 2016

This course was excellent and I enjoyed it, but I was done with it when they offered more lessons and was very annoyed to get multiple emails telling me I needed to complete the course. I did complete it, as originally offered, and think that should be noted on my record.

교육 기관: Lauren L

Aug 15, 2015

I am about three-quarters of the way through this course and I am completely enamoured with Beethoven in ways that were impossible before taking this course. I love the depth that Professor Biss imparts without ever getting pedantic or overwhelming. I have now listened to all 32 sonatas, some several times more over the past several weeks and I feel so fortunate that I can love this music in a deeper, more passionate way because of the understanding I have gleaned from this class. Highly recommended for all musicians and music-lovers.

교육 기관: William D

May 19, 2016

Outstanding introduction to Beethoven's Piano Sonatas. It has sparked a great interest in me for these pieces.

교육 기관: Ignacio T A

Oct 18, 2016

Excellent.

교육 기관: Rogerio A G F

Aug 28, 2015

Awesome!!!