Chevron Left
Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas(으)로 돌아가기

커티스음악원의 Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
516개의 평가
121개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Our relationship to Beethoven is a deep and paradoxical one. For many musicians, he represents a kind of holy grail: His music has an intensity, rigor, and profundity which keep us in its thrall, and it is perhaps unequalled in the interpretive, technical, and even spiritual challenges it poses to performers. At the same time, Beethoven’s music is casually familiar to millions of people who do not attend concerts or consider themselves musically inclined. Two hundred years after his death, he is everywhere in the culture, yet still represents its summit. This course takes an inside-out look at the 32 piano sonatas from the point of view of a performer. Each lecture will focus on one sonata and an aspect of Beethoven’s music exemplified by it. (These might include: the relationship between Beethoven the pianist and Beethoven the composer; the critical role improvisation plays in his highly structured music; his mixing of extremely refined music with rougher elements; and the often surprising ways in which the events of his life influenced his compositional process and the character of the music he was writing.) The course will feature some analysis and historical background, but its perspective is that of a player, not a musicologist. Its main aim is to explore and demystify the work of the performer, even while embracing the eternal mystery of Beethoven’s music itself. This season's Curtis courses are sponsored by Linda Richardson in loving memory of her husband, Dr. Paul Richardson. The Dolfinger-McMahon Foundation supports Curtis's lifelong learning initiatives....

최상위 리뷰

JR

Aug 23, 2016

Fascinating trip through the marvellous Beethoven sonatas.\n\nAlthough I love them since many years, I'm very happy to see that It's always possible to progress.\n\nMany thanks Jonathan.

JM

Oct 16, 2015

I highly recommend this course to anyone that wants to look DEEPER into music. Believe me, after you are done with this course. You will see classical music completely different.

필터링 기준:

Exploring Beethoven’s Piano Sonatas의 120개 리뷰 중 101~120

교육 기관: John R

Oct 01, 2015

Enjoyed this course. Looking forward to listening to Beethoven's piano sonatas with a slightly more educated ear.

교육 기관: wang p

Nov 13, 2015

非常好!~!!!!!!!!一定要听

교육 기관: Do H L

Jun 22, 2016

I have always wanted to learn deeply about Beethoven's Sonatas as I listen to them on a daily basis.

교육 기관: Joe M

Nov 04, 2015

Fantastic! Thanks so much to Mr. Biss and Coursera.

교육 기관: Konrad

Jan 12, 2016

Outstanding course! Tremendous insight, extremely well articulated, and explained with real passion and depth! Would highly recommend this course to anyone who appreciates this kind of music; particularly those seeking to understand Beethoven's idiom better.

교육 기관: Alfredo B

Sep 22, 2015

excelent course, gives me the inspiration and motivation that i need!!

교육 기관: Alfred C S

Nov 01, 2015

Very interesting historical background and a paced, clear presentation of the musical techniques employed by the pianists. Very enjoyable if you are a classical music lover.

교육 기관: Indwen G

Mar 01, 2016

I like this course a lot so far. Thanks Mr. Biss.

교육 기관: Ronald J B

Apr 23, 2016

This course was excellent and I enjoyed it, but I was done with it when they offered more lessons and was very annoyed to get multiple emails telling me I needed to complete the course. I did complete it, as originally offered, and think that should be noted on my record.

교육 기관: Thaís F L

Jun 28, 2016

great

교육 기관: Sebastian G

Aug 23, 2015

Awesome!

교육 기관: Cary L C C

May 06, 2019

Absolutely fabulous teaching about music.

교육 기관: Luciano A d C

Aug 22, 2018

Oh Prof Biss, you're such a great pianist ! Really gifted ! Congratulations!

I'll search some of your recordings.

Very good course. Thanks for the opportunity !

From below the Equator,

Luciano

교육 기관: Aram G

Apr 03, 2017

Very nice time spent with an talented person... Highly recommend

교육 기관: Abhijit B

Jul 01, 2017

It is a beautiful course for the fans of classical music and specially for the fans of Beethoven! Prof. Jonathan is really passionate about the music of Beethoven which is evident from his style of analyzing his sonatas. Although sometimes the course becomes too technical we enjoy it once we listen to the music and understand the nuances of the composition. I thoroughly enjoyed the course and will join next course too.

교육 기관: Emeka N

Dec 24, 2015

Excellent.

교육 기관: Peter C

Oct 10, 2016

This was an enjoyable course taught by someone who is obviously not only a superb pianist and musician but also completely in love with Beethoven's piano music. The reason for my 4-star rather than 5-star rating was that I felt the teaching would have benefited from a few visual aids as well as demonstrations at the keyboard. As Mr Biss appeared equally enthusiastic about the music of Haydn, perhaps we might look forward to 'Exploring Haydn's Piano Sonatas' in the future?

교육 기관: Johhn W

Oct 06, 2017

The music and the pianist are as good as it gets. The structure of the course, however, is weak in that each of the sonatas focused on are really not easily taken apart and analyzed. Even if they were what would be the value of that? O suggest that Biss stress, what he actually does to a minor degree, the sonatas of other masters and show how Beethoven is the master and give plenty of comparison selections.

교육 기관: Rob E

Jul 11, 2016

The course is rich in information and I appreciated the fast pace of the professor's lectures (especially his enthusiasm and passion for the subject which I found delightfully infectious ha) - however I feel that for many people his very quick elocution was perhaps a bit of a minor hindrance for those that process information a touch slower. I definitely plan to resume this course as I enjoyed the professor's manner and passion.

교육 기관: Marco M

Apr 19, 2017

Insightful travel throughout Beethoven's music writing style, and more generally on musical structure of piano sonatas before and after Beethoven's contribution.