Chevron Left
Introduction to Big Data(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Introduction to Big Data 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
별점
9,106개의 평가
2,167개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

최상위 리뷰

HM
2019년 9월 8일

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

AR
2020년 3월 30일

One of the best course to start learning new cutting-edge technology and to get deeper insights into Big Data. Thanks to the great instructors for amazing explanations of each module and e-materials.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Big Data의 2,100개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Isara A

2018년 10월 4일

I think the course could be shorten by half. The instructors extended the course into 3 weeks, but I think the real meat can fit into just 2 weeks. They use too many examples and several similar case studies to make the same points about why big data is important and beneficial -- repeatedly.

I know why it is important, that's why I took the course! Just give a few mins intro and move on already.

They even have a session discussing why should learn basic tools and theory and have a quiz about that; A quiz about why should you learn how to add and subtract before using a calculator. They can just explain once and people would understand.

Anyhow, I feel like I learned quite a lot, but those I can do my reading just first chapter of big data book or watch 1-2 YouTube tutorials.

Should not waste so many hours watching the course.

교육 기관: Abdul K

2016년 9월 27일

The course provided almost no value , and there was almost nothing covered that you couldn't find online for free. The presentation was probably the worst part of the course: It was extremely boring and made it hard to get through the videos.

I didn't expect much practical parts in the course, but there was even less than what I expected: What was described as setting up a hadoop cluster consisted of downloading a preconfigured VM image and running it, and then typing in a couple of commands that were provided to you. Again, nothing of value was added, and quickly going over the FAQ page of any of the products mentioned would be more helpful, faster and a lot more interesting.

교육 기관: Catherine B

2018년 11월 8일

Very interesting course. Explained concepts I'd heard of but didn't really know about. It is a foundation course for a specialization, it's not enough by itself but very good as a foundation course.

교육 기관: Raivis J

2019년 2월 5일

The general concepts of big data (week 1 and week 2) seemed a bit drawn out, much of the same was repeated over and over again. This was not necessary. The peer-graded assignment needs more detailed instructions - like mentioning that it is ok to resize the fields, and that shapes need to be copy/pasted as much as needed.

교육 기관: Rakesh R G

2017년 7월 14일

First of all i would like to take this opportunity to thanks the instructors the course is well structured and explained the foundations with real world problems with easy to understand the concepts.

교육 기관: Prabir B

2018년 5월 25일

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.

Very smooth learning experience.

교육 기관: Tarif B

2020년 2월 23일

The course material is 2014 or 2015. it needs to be updated as this is a fast growing field.

교육 기관: hatem m

2019년 9월 9일

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

교육 기관: Rongon C

2019년 5월 14일

Perfect for starters!

교육 기관: Hendrik B

2017년 12월 1일

I have participated in better courses on Coursera. I think the power point presentations are very very ugly. The colors really don't match well. This could be a lot more visually appealing. Also, for self learners, a bit more text would be cool, even though I know that not having too much text, but rather pictures, is beneficial. The presenter could speak a bit more natural. At the moment, it is very obvious that she reads text aloud. Also, there need to be some more FAQs in the practical parts, because there can be quite a few problems when trying to run mapreduce. I was only able to do it using Google, because I also had to install another hadoop version (5.12.) because my Intel Chipset was not compatible with the version you wanted me to download. There, the file path to map reduce was different from the example you proviided. To be honest, I did not check the Discussion Forums because I was not aware there were any. Maybe I could have gotten help there.

교육 기관: Patricia p

2018년 11월 7일

The intro part is too long. You will not start with the practice till the end of next week and I find that the lectures and videos by then are a lot less complete even when the content is harder. I would have prefer is the theoretical part was shorter and there was more support when we start learning about hadoop

교육 기관: Ahmed K A A

2019년 6월 9일

This course gives a basic view for Big data Analysis through introducing much information in the subject "much theoretically at the beginning and then become more piratical using basics of Hadoop program"

Merits:

excellent overview of the Big Data's concepts

gradual teaching techniques

having flexible time viewing the vids

Needs of improvements

Quiz need to stick on learning objectives (for example: instead of asking about Amazon or other companies practices in some area (which was included as an example), questions need to be practical on other non-mentioned companies.

The course has a deadline (one week after the week 3) it should be extended more

some videos are not directed to the point and much details are asked in the quiz

Some IT concepts need to be explain more (like in the last videos) because for me I'm ZERO IT experience

I had a good overview for the topic because I'm applying myself for Master in Big Data without having a single IT background

교육 기관: Nikhil C

2020년 7월 12일

It's a well thought out and well done course. It starts with a high level overview of the importance of big data and provides examples. It ends with having your download a virtual box and performing some simple hadoop programs yourself. I like that fact that you get hands on experience doing it yourself because especially for professionals, theory can only get you so far. I only wish perhaps there were a few more examples of "real-world" map reduce applications. The search engine one makes sense, but what about in finance? Retail? Is anyone using this effectively. Perhaps outside the scope this course, but would help with driving thought for the students.

Thank you for providing such a great course.

교육 기관: Prateek M

2020년 5월 25일

I will review the course first and yes you will get something practical to work on. The course id designed very well you actually moves form understanding the basics like Why Big Data is important, The 5 V's of Big Data with add on V's then HDFS, Hadoop, The MapReduce Algorithm and in the last week you gets an opportunity to work over it practically.But I thought they should try to make the course of 2 weeks but it is good they provide many examples applications etc. It is really good as beginner course, and i'm thankful to the instructors Madame Ilkay Altintas and Sir Amarnath Gupta from San Diego Supercomputer Center for their simple and smoother yet professional way of teaching.

교육 기관: Rukshan P M

2019년 1월 31일

I have learnt the new Big Data Concepts & modern technology that is used to unlock the value of massive data sets. This course has ignited my curiosity & interest in learning more about the Big Data technologies. I received the financial assistance to complete the course & earn a verified certificate for this course. Thank you Ilkay Altintas & Amarnath Gupta who are the instructors in this course. They organized & taught the course materials well so that even the new learners can understand. Thank you Coursera for giving me financial assistance to complete the course.

교육 기관: Luis A R

2018년 10월 13일

Excelente curso, muy explicativo los vídeos y de gran utilidad el material suministrado. Este curso me ha permitido comenzar mis conocimientos en big data, comprender el gran potencial de manejar la data que se genera en mi trabajo, en la sociedad y personalmente, lo cual permitirá contribuir a la toma de decisiones que permitan incrementar el valor de la data.

교육 기관: Jeffery T

2016년 8월 31일

This is a great introduction for Big Data. It helps me to revisit what I learned from the meetups and webinars, then put the fundamental knowledge and information in a solid foundation. Thank you.

교육 기관: Matthew L M

2019년 5월 11일

Good intro that also helped me understand some of my previous assumptions

교육 기관: Harshit S

2020년 8월 27일

Best course for making your fundamentals strong about Big Data Field.

교육 기관: Sean G

2016년 9월 24일

Less useful than reading an introductory chapter. Being able to reiterate acronyms or idiosyncratic mnemonics does not demonstrate any real understanding of this field. The minimal information provided and low level of the instruction at least clarified that this specialization is not worth pursuing.

교육 기관: Alexandra H K

2017년 4월 9일

The course content is okay and covers the basics well enough. However, the assignments are structured for memorization not learning and contribute little to the experience. I decided to cancel my subscription as there are better options on EdX and other Coursera courses.

교육 기관: Pranav V

2019년 3월 7일

This was absolutely useless. Lots of definitions with no motivation. The one saving grace is that the slides are comprehensive.

교육 기관: Mayank R

2019년 10월 3일

Too much theory, got bored. didn't serve my purpose. I completed some how.

교육 기관: Glenn B

2017년 1월 29일

I did this course and have been enjoying all of the subsequent courses. I find the content great and the examples and lecture fascinating. I have been working with Cloud computing for 5 years. This course really opened my eyes up on the applicability and the inner workings. It is not a programmers course. It is excellent if you are a Sr. manager or strategist that needs to work with people as part of a data science team. I think this should be a mandatory course for anyone who thinks they may need to deal with bid data and the new computing cloud universe

교육 기관: Apoorv S S

2020년 5월 30일

I found this course to be exceptionally well paced, all the concepts that were touched upon were explained properly, it never got boring and i felt excited after each video, i particularly enjoyed the assignment for the word count and was able to grasp the concept of map-reduce model intuitively, although the number of questions in quizzes could have increased and be more application based but i think that it might be a trade off between making a course that is beginner friendly and helpful at the same time.