Chevron Left
Introduction to Big Data(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Introduction to Big Data 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
stars
5,709개의 평가
1,364개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

최상위 리뷰

HM

Sep 09, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

PB

May 25, 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Big Data의 1,305개 리뷰 중 26~50

교육 기관: Jiang Q

May 19, 2019

It's a entire introduction to Big Data.I get a lot of fundamental knowledge about this filed and full of interests to dig into this course.

But there is still a little shortage.As a course close to CS,maybe should practice us to build own development environment instead of using pre-set environment.Or make an optional module for this with universal consideration.

교육 기관: Peeyush J

Jan 01, 2018

Very good course for an introduction of Big Data- why, where and how it is useful in the real world. Thanks Instructors for making things so easy. It would be great if peer review quiz doesn't stop us from starting capstone project. It wastes a lot of time to complete the specialisation as passing all others courses is mandatory for enrolling in the project.

교육 기관: Onyeabor, P O

Feb 23, 2018

The course offers a very detailed introduction to Big Data. The teachers and the teaching method employed enhances understanding. I am now confident in my understanding of Big Data management and Big Data systems. I also have a basic understanding of Hadoop and MapReduce. I'm eagerly looking forward to the rest of the courses in the specialisation.

교육 기관: Syed M Z H K

Jul 21, 2017

I once did internship related to Hadoop, and I can say that I didn't learned much there. However, after taking this course I believe that my foundations have been built for more advanced courses. Thank you coursera for considering my request for fee waiver, as without your help I would have improved or gained new knowledge. Thanks again Coursera!

교육 기관: Keerthi C S

Aug 14, 2016

Really good course. But, I was unable to complete the final week as I had a lot of trouble installing the Cloudera platform for Hadoop. So, I would recommend others to get that installed well in advance or else if you wait till the last week you might not be able to finish it in time and 6 weeks of effort would go to waste like it did for me.

교육 기관: Ahmed H

Dec 08, 2019

the course is great except for the peer graded assignments it should be done by instructors for more trust , in addition if i finished my course earlier than the deadline why i should wait , all that time to get my certificate , which is really a very bad point in a great course , this course is awesome in total except for that bad point

교육 기관: Manuel H

Dec 05, 2016

It is a fantastic course for beginners. The modules and the teachers are very clear, and the content is so good.

After this course, I can say I know something about Big Data, no idea before do this course. The examples and the Virtual Machine was so helpful to understand how hadoop works.

Thanks a lot... a fantastic course... thanks true.

교육 기관: Vishnu V R A

Apr 23, 2017

I have got very useful information about Big Data and the need for mapreduce programming model and Hadoop Distribution Framework. I had also got very clear understanding of how to run a mapreduce framework using open source cloudera virtual machine. The entire course is easy to read and understand and fun. Thanks for the instructors.

교육 기관: Balaji N

Jun 25, 2017

The course was very useful especially foundation materials and the way in which concepts were presented in a simplified manner with examples, key points, slide text and additional study materials. With respect to my background in IT, project Management in HRIT and technical skills, the course fulfilled my expectations almost 80%

교육 기관: Allen J M A

Aug 23, 2017

Very comprehensive introductory course for big data. The course contains a number of materials which are very sufficient to allow students to know more about the topic being discussed. The quizzes are nicely structured to ensure that students study and understand all materials and video presentations. Kudos, UC San Diego!

교육 기관: Caio S

Apr 26, 2017

I have appreciated the course as it explains the main concepts of Big Data drilling through until several tools which can be used to implement important operations for Big Data analytics, for example, how does a search engine basically works. It has very interersting topics and will help me up in my daily job routines.

교육 기관: Biman D

Aug 28, 2016

I wish to thank you for such a fantastic course to introduce to the exciting world of Big Data. The concepts were explained beautifully with relevant examples. A special thank you note for Prof Altintas and Prof Gupta for making this so simple.

Looking forward to the next set of courses to explore Big Data in detail.

교육 기관: Naveen S

Aug 19, 2016

The course was in he sense truly introduction to Big data Domain and discusses the origin and reason Big Data technologies are required.

The only improvement, I would like to suggest is raise the difficulty level of quiz,so that they motivate student to review and understand the key points discussed during tutorial.

교육 기관: Jordi C

Jul 12, 2016

Much better than the previous version (2015) with all concepts very well explained, using examples to clarify them when necessary.

I would have liked to go deeper with Hadoop (in last version of the specialization, Hadoop was a separate course), but anyway, as an Introduction to Big Data, this is an excellent course.

교육 기관: Prospero-Martin R

Jan 31, 2018

I really liked this course! It take you from the ground up and smoothly ramps up little bit into more detail. Big Data is a vast area and I am aware that there's lots to learn, but now I have a better understanding of what Big Data is. Definitely I am taking the other 5 courses in the "Big Data Specialization".

교육 기관: Ananthakrishnan T M

Apr 08, 2018

It was a great introduction. The slides are packed with a lot of information, so do take copious notes if you are like me :). This does not delve too much into programming, but do remember you need a computer with 8 GB RAM, quad core processor, etc for the introductions to Hadoop implementation in Cloudera.

교육 기관: Swetha M K

Jun 25, 2018

Very detailed explanation of concepts, which though might be common but in the context of Big Data is good to go over. The course naturally transits over tops and finally leads you into the main Hadoop , MadReduce concepts which becomes very easy to understand thanks to all the explanation provided earlier

교육 기관: roman b

Nov 15, 2019

Great introduction to Big Data concept - just right pace, course design, and most importantly, very clear explanation of the ideas, with relevant examples. It appears that both instructors really love this field and doing their best to induce an interest in learners (they succeeded in my case, for sure:)

교육 기관: Sukanta M

Oct 25, 2017

I was looking for this type of course of BigData. I have spent hours to read through different blogs and articles. But couldn't get better idea/direction how to start or where to start. This is ideal course for getting started on Big Data. I enjoyed all the slides and hands on very much. Thank you.

교육 기관: Steve S

Apr 13, 2018

Based on a previous course I took, I didn't think that this course would be as informative and practical. As it turned out, this was a great introduction to big data along with a practical exercise using hadoop. Very well organized and professionally done. I will take other courses from UC San

교육 기관: MATHUMITHA .

Dec 04, 2018

Everything was explained in brief manner with day to day examples . Thanks to Ilkay Altintas and Amarnath Gupta for their clear cut explanations and also my reviewers for my assignments . Such an awesome course for beginners. Ample amount of time was given to finish this course successfully

교육 기관: Anton V

Jun 20, 2017

For me this is my first online course and I am flabbergasted by the quality and comfort of studying online. I think the course is well structured, very knowledge intensive, but well balanced. You learn a lot in a relatively short time frame. Thank you very much for this fantastic course.

교육 기관: Subhrajit R C

Oct 10, 2017

This course lays a good foundation for understanding what Big Data is, what it is good for, and also what it is not good for. The course is well structured and the quizzes and hands-on material test you and also and allow you to practice and get a taste of what lies ahead.

교육 기관: King W N

Oct 09, 2017

This is a terrific intro into what Big Data is for those who are interested but aren't sure if they want to dive into the technology behind how Google, Amazon or internet search engines market what you might be interested in. This course will definitely wet you appetite.

교육 기관: Parth S

Apr 07, 2017

Very useful course to start one's journey into the world of Big Data. Concepts were explained thoroughly and in a very easy-to-understand manner. The quizzes and assignment help in evaluating one's own progress. Must-do course for anyone wanting to learn about Big Data.