Chevron Left
Introduction to Big Data(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Introduction to Big Data 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.6
5,402개의 평가
1,312개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Interested in increasing your knowledge of the Big Data landscape? This course is for those new to data science and interested in understanding why the Big Data Era has come to be. It is for those who want to become conversant with the terminology and the core concepts behind big data problems, applications, and systems. It is for those who want to start thinking about how Big Data might be useful in their business or career. It provides an introduction to one of the most common frameworks, Hadoop, that has made big data analysis easier and more accessible -- increasing the potential for data to transform our world! At the end of this course, you will be able to: * Describe the Big Data landscape including examples of real world big data problems including the three key sources of Big Data: people, organizations, and sensors. * Explain the V’s of Big Data (volume, velocity, variety, veracity, valence, and value) and why each impacts data collection, monitoring, storage, analysis and reporting. * Get value out of Big Data by using a 5-step process to structure your analysis. * Identify what are and what are not big data problems and be able to recast big data problems as data science questions. * Provide an explanation of the architectural components and programming models used for scalable big data analysis. * Summarize the features and value of core Hadoop stack components including the YARN resource and job management system, the HDFS file system and the MapReduce programming model. * Install and run a program using Hadoop! This course is for those new to data science. No prior programming experience is needed, although the ability to install applications and utilize a virtual machine is necessary to complete the hands-on assignments. Hardware Requirements: (A) Quad Core Processor (VT-x or AMD-V support recommended), 64-bit; (B) 8 GB RAM; (C) 20 GB disk free. How to find your hardware information: (Windows): Open System by clicking the Start button, right-clicking Computer, and then clicking Properties; (Mac): Open Overview by clicking on the Apple menu and clicking “About This Mac.” Most computers with 8 GB RAM purchased in the last 3 years will meet the minimum requirements.You will need a high speed internet connection because you will be downloading files up to 4 Gb in size. Software Requirements: This course relies on several open-source software tools, including Apache Hadoop. All required software can be downloaded and installed free of charge. Software requirements include: Windows 7+, Mac OS X 10.10+, Ubuntu 14.04+ or CentOS 6+ VirtualBox 5+....

최상위 리뷰

HM

Sep 09, 2019

I love the course. It goes deep into the foundations, and then finishes up with an actual lab where you learn by practice. I greatly benefited from it and feel I have achieved a milestone in big data.

PB

May 25, 2018

A step by step approach stating from basic big data concept extending to Hadoop framework and hands on mapping and simple MapReduce application development effort.\n\nVery smooth learning experience.

필터링 기준:

Introduction to Big Data의 1,252개 리뷰 중 1226~1250

교육 기관: Sergei P

Jul 30, 2019

A very basic and still confusing set of slides. It's much more productive to google Hadoop wiki.

교육 기관: Laurent S

Feb 10, 2019

I have rarely seen a course that is so terrible

교육 기관: Robin B

Sep 24, 2016

Very disappointing. Poorly written quizes and presentations. The level of the course is far too basic to be of value, but is required for the specialization. Why not offer an option to test out of basic introduction courses?

교육 기관: Darian H

Nov 17, 2017

The final quiz for Week 3 is broken.

교육 기관: Sean G

Sep 24, 2016

Less useful than reading an introductory chapter. Being able to reiterate acronyms or idiosyncratic mnemonics does not demonstrate any real understanding of this field. The minimal information provided and low level of the instruction at least clarified that this specialization is not worth pursuing.

교육 기관: Seth D

Aug 18, 2016

Extremely basic intro, not valuable if you have any understanding of the the space

교육 기관: William R

Oct 06, 2016

Honestly, for the price paid, the value given is quite low. I expected to have more hands-on working with the Hadoop ecosystem rather than this course's focus on background that really does not help one to become productive.

교육 기관: 佟铁

Mar 06, 2018

Sorry, I cant learning all classes. The terrible PPT, rigid teaching methods

교육 기관: Ray C

Oct 12, 2017

The lectures are just not very good. Terms are confused. Just not that good. The material is not difficult at all, it is just the lectures and slides are poor.

교육 기관: Atsuya K

Oct 30, 2017

Shallow. Perhaps useful for a student of management to skim over, but there is nothing that a student with technical background would gain from this course.

교육 기관: Jianan D

Oct 26, 2017

too easy

교육 기관: Jason R

Oct 20, 2017

I found this course mostly vague and the videos highly redundant and unorganized into a useful building of knowledge. This quizzes were hard but not because the material is difficult, but only because it quizzed you on subjective things the lecturer said instead of objective big data knowledge. Only useful thing I took away from this courses was a general view of the Zoo and the cloudera install. I think this course can be combined with the second course int he specialization and then cleaned up.

교육 기관: Abhi K

Jul 04, 2018

Instructors have very good knowledge but courseis very very theoretical with less examples and your subconscious mind is not even listening tovideo.

교육 기관: Chris G

Oct 26, 2016

Last exercise is half the course and took many frustrating hours to install and for me never worked. No support provided by instructors. You are on your own.

교육 기관: Alexandra H K

Apr 09, 2017

The course content is okay and covers the basics well enough. However, the assignments are structured for memorization not learning and contribute little to the experience. I decided to cancel my subscription as there are better options on EdX and other Coursera courses.

교육 기관: Hua Z

Jun 01, 2017

This course just introduce the basic definition but no practical issues. Useless somewhat

교육 기관: Vipin

Aug 28, 2016

Very basic. All this information of this course can be self taught by Googling and the hands on exercise at the end of the course is a joke. For the $59 price of the course, expected more.

교육 기관: Anup

Oct 07, 2016

Language is not good, and Lack of Info

교육 기관: Damián L

Mar 19, 2017

Presenter is very bad lecturer. She seems to be reading (badly) from a tele prompt, rather than lecturing. The quality of the slides is very poor. Not the level of a reputable University.

교육 기관: RUPINDER P

Aug 24, 2017

Unable to download and install cloudera vm instructions. Even after putting the request in discussion forum and flagging the assignment with details to issue. There is no assistance. Wasted so much time and unable to complete the course . Can't move forward to next step. There should be a message center to connect with instructors.

교육 기관: Carolay C S

Dec 11, 2016

Me estan cobrando el curso y se supone que me salia todo gratis

교육 기관: Dr. L A G

Oct 19, 2016

Too many things I already know and which are quite obvious, when you have some little computer science knowledge, less practical information; the explanations for installing Cloudera etc are insufficient!!!

교육 기관: Michele P

Jan 09, 2017

I cannot complete the course due to installations problem of the software required even if I have all the requirements needed on my laptop.

교육 기관: Roshan K

May 31, 2017

Its too slow

교육 기관: Abhinandan N

May 20, 2019

Everything at high level, people have to imagine things to really understand what is being said. Seriously has to work on the deliverable and plan.