Chevron Left
Big History: Connecting Knowledge(으)로 돌아가기

맥콰리대학교의 Big History: Connecting Knowledge 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,634개의 평가
448개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

We currently face unprecedented challenges on a global scale. These problems do not neatly fall into disciplines. They are complicated, complex, and connected. Join us on this epic journey of 13.8 billion years starting at the Big Bang and travelling through time all the way to the future. Discover the connections in our world, the power of collective learning, how our universe and our world has evolved from incredible simplicity to ever-increasing complexity. Experience our modern scientific origin story through Big History and discover the important links between past, current, and future events. You will find two different types of lectures. ‘Zooming In’ lectures from multiple specialists enable you to understand key concepts through the lens of different disciplines, whilst David Christian's ‘Big History Framework’ lectures provide the connective overview for a journey through eight thresholds of Big History....

최상위 리뷰

SA

2020년 7월 1일

I absolutely LOVED Big History! It's so interesting and insightful!! I highly recommend everyone to take this course, you will learn a lot about the world! Thank you Professor Christian and Baker!! :)

BG

2016년 1월 6일

Finally! A creation myth based on evidence and multiple scientific disciplines for all humans is here! The time for stories based on speculation and superstition for the chosen group is finally over.

필터링 기준:

Big History: Connecting Knowledge의 444개 리뷰 중 76~100

교육 기관: Ella K

2015년 11월 28일

Incredible course in every way: Highly competent lecturers, excellent video quality in both content and production, great pacing and delivery of information and dozens of links to engaging resource material.

One of the best MOOCs I have ever participated in: fun, informative and intriguing!

교육 기관: Kseniia K

2020년 5월 6일

Amazing course that ties together various concepts and sciences to provide a holistic approach to the understanding of our Universe. Perfect for general knowledge and improving transdisciplinary skills. Special thanks to the Pr. David Christian - one of the best lecturers on Coursera!

교육 기관: Hassan H

2016년 9월 21일

Such an amazing experience for me.

I have always loved history and appreciated the sciences. This is the first I get exposed to the concpt of both being part of a bigger thing.

Big History has connected the dots between the different academic fields. Totally recommend it to all humans.

교육 기관: Joey S

2019년 7월 9일

This course taught me a new appreciation for the natural sciences by grounding them in a fascinating, evidence-based narrative. Anyone with a naturally historical mind who wishes to gain a fuller understanding and appreciation of science will have their life changed by Big History.

교육 기관: Mel F

2018년 2월 13일

I thoroughly enjoyed this course, I have always been interested i the "Big Picture" of history and the Universe and this course fit the bill. Easy to understand and very well done. My sincere thanks to the teachers that put their time and effort into making this course great!

교육 기관: Clifford L B

2016년 7월 16일

this course combines theories and ideas from many different disciplines to produce a coherent picture of the world we live in today. The picture does appear to match the real world far better than what we see when just using a single discipline. It is joined up thinking

교육 기관: madeleine d

2016년 4월 11일

Riveting lectures. Weaves knowledge from astronomy, physics, chemistry, economics, anthropology, genetics, geology, etc. into history. Enthusiastic presenters, unique assembly of knowledge, comprehensive coverage, entertaining and informative. Highly recommended.

교육 기관: Paul S

2016년 1월 11일

A very interesting and broad introduction to a new and exciting form of interdisciplinary form of history, that gives a wide perspective on a big range of sciences from biology and cosmology, to social and historical sciences. Would easily recommend for everyone.

교육 기관: Matej A B

2020년 7월 7일

This course exceeded my expectations. It didn't only grasp the topic of history, but also geology, astrophysics and much more. I don't see a reason why someone would not want to take this course, it will generate interesting thoughts beyond today's society.

교육 기관: N J

2017년 9월 13일

It's an amazing course. I took this course on account of curiosity. It change my whole way thinking about world. I learned so much and most importantly I learned how different subjects helped to change the world. I think everyone should take this course.

교육 기관: Mariana C

2016년 10월 15일

I'm impress and very amazed, with this course. I'm just starting, but I have my first insights and connections to the things I've written and research before, to help people, and our enviroment as well, through science, and now, BIG HISTORY <3 love it...

교육 기관: Yeghaneh V F

2022년 4월 26일

I​ loved learning about this course and found more information about our past, current and future and how the earth was developed in-depth. now having a clear understanding and knowledge, I can talk about it with people around me and express my interest

교육 기관: Pamela H

2020년 9월 3일

Best course I have ever done! It has enabled me to become scientifically literate in a short space of time. It has provided me with a scientific world view and given me the tools to make informed choices about how to face the challenges of the future.

교육 기관: Michael A S H

2017년 11월 22일

This course is engaging, informative and enlightening. It will broaden your views of yourself, the cosmos, humans, the environment and the world on a whole. I highly recommend anyone to enrol in this journey of discovery known as Big History!

교육 기관: Abelardo Q F J

2015년 12월 17일

A very pleasant narrative from our story from the Big Band to present days connecting many areas of knwoledeg from astrophysics to genetics, passing through geology, archeology, anthropology, ancient and modern history, economy amomg others.

교육 기관: bill w

2019년 10월 10일

Really enjoyed the course. In particular, the concepts of increasing complexity, thresholds and Goldilocks conditions and the knowledge testing tools gave me a very useful framework for organising my knowledge and for further learning.

교육 기관: Rohit A

2016년 1월 8일

Absolutely love this course. I would say this is the mother of all courses. It provides a very elegant framework to information and knowledge one may acquire. I am loving it. Apparently this course helped Bill Gates become a Polymath.

교육 기관: Patricia K

2015년 12월 8일

A great survey of the last 13.8 billion years of our universe touching on the sciences--physics, chemistry, astronomy, geology all viewed through the lens of history. A thought-provoking overview that whets the appetite for more.

교육 기관: Emilio C C

2021년 12월 8일

The course is very well designed, and it offer all kind of resources to think deeply on those aspects that involve big history. Videos are an excellent tool that resume information to, then, go deeper with a handful of texts.

교육 기관: NJriki

2019년 7월 19일

One of the best courses I've ever studied. The trans-disciplinary approach is amazing. It simplifies things, yet it opens windows to other fields. I now know more about universe, about life and most importantly about myself.

교육 기관: Cordelia M

2022년 5월 24일

This is a fantastic course that teaches about the history of the universe through a combination of science and history, it teaches complex scientific and historical terms through various forms inlcuding videos and readings.

교육 기관: Johannes G A B

2020년 4월 11일

Nice course to have a decent understanding of the history of the universe up until modern societies. Does a nice job at linking events in history and explaining the importance of the big picture. David Christian is great.

교육 기관: Billy P

2020년 12월 19일

I really think every single person should do this course. It gives you a very necessary overview of human knowledge. This is our origin story and it is still being written. And, most importantly, it is based on science.

교육 기관: Angelina W

2016년 1월 5일

This course covers a lot of complex material in a concise and approachable manner. It is possible to understand the content (and most importantly learn about the subject) without having a scientific background.

교육 기관: Megan A C

2020년 11월 23일

Great course! I was provided wide knowledge from the theories of the origin of life to how life will be wiped on Earth and on the Universe. It gives very specific intelligences and insights from professionals.