Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
1,206개의 평가
366개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

최상위 리뷰

DL
2016년 4월 17일

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
2020년 4월 14일

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

필터링 기준:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners의 363개 리뷰 중 301~325

교육 기관: Grzegorz A K

2016년 11월 4일

Pros: a lot of programming in automated online environment.

Cons: inconsistencies in code like changing parameter order in often used functions, changing structure of some variables (arrays become dicts). This can be unneccesarily misleading.

교육 기관: Clive T

2020년 3월 26일

Disappointing lack of feedback from any course organiser (most recent response seemed to be about two years old). The biological content tailed off to become much more of course in programming for search algorithms

교육 기관: Akinyi O

2020년 5월 19일

Some background knowledge on coding is definitely needed for this course, despite the info saying none is needed. The progress expected is way too fast for an actual beginner with no coding experience.

교육 기관: Barby S

2021년 6월 9일

The course is EXCELLENT. But... It's not for beginners!!! If you don't know anything about programming, python and bioinformatics it's nearly impossible to do without help.

It was really frustrating.

교육 기관: Saadman K

2020년 5월 26일

This is not for beginners. You need to know more about python to complete it easily and the time limits of Stepik is not correct. It needs far more time than mentioned.

교육 기관: ajith m

2020년 7월 20일

This course is definitely not for beginners. I was on the verge of giving up throughout the course. But once you get ahold of the concepts, it is very interesting.

교육 기관: James O

2019년 9월 16일

The course tries hard to balance programming and biology but the programming can become quite a challenge for people with little to no experience in programming.

교육 기관: Sanjit R

2020년 12월 21일

Although this course was uniquely interesting and insightful, I did feel at times that the lesson material was insufficient to fully understand a concept.

교육 기관: Preethi N

2021년 2월 24일

Although this course is possible for beginners, some of the programming problems were frustrating and a hint would have been appreciated.

교육 기관: Pablo R M

2020년 3월 13일

Not truly for beginners. If you don't have previous knowledge of Python and algorithms expect to invest a lot more than 4 hours a week

교육 기관: Merna F

2020년 9월 4일

this course was very useful for me but it is very very difficult for a beginner, I was suffering from trying to understand it

교육 기관: Chahat B

2020년 7월 26일

Very difficult for no coding background people. It would be really helpful if you could describe the error in better ways

교육 기관: Christopher C

2021년 4월 3일

This course requires advanced programming skills, the first week has taken 3 weeks from me and I am still stuck.

교육 기관: Osi A

2020년 4월 28일

This course although well taught does not take into account those that know nothing about programming

교육 기관: Linyi Z

2017년 6월 21일

the instructions in the stepik notes were unclear. i would say the optional lecture video was better

교육 기관: Nesrine K

2020년 11월 16일

quite difficult for a begginer we have to practice python first before starting the course

교육 기관: ISIAKA B A

2020년 6월 18일

This course is not for beginners. It is for those with background computer knowledge

교육 기관: Rubén d S I

2017년 2월 19일

Very interesting but i don't like switching e-learning platforms

교육 기관: Laura D C L

2020년 5월 4일

Useful but terribly difficult, it is not for beginners

교육 기관: Aravind S

2020년 7월 31일

I am not able to find the unenroll option

교육 기관: Dr. A A M

2020년 5월 20일

The coding is too tough for beginners

교육 기관: Youssef A

2021년 1월 16일

Not really for Beginners at all !!

교육 기관: Akshita J

2020년 7월 16일

its quite tough for beginners

교육 기관: Alexis W

2021년 6월 6일

This course has you perform work through the Stepik platform, which then directs you to codeacademy to learn Python2. The content of Stepik is reasonable enough, but occasionally makes huge leaps in the coding and bio content that one is expected to know. However, the real problem for me was with the glitchiness of codeacademy. As someone with limited coding experience that is totally new to the Python language, I absolutely need this learning. However, I have reached an impassable point where even when using the website's given solution to 'get unstuck', I can't move forward even though both my code and the given code run and output as required! Multiple computer engineers and CS majors from my department have checked the solution, and just been baffled.

This course is a great idea, but is totally dysfunctional for new learners.

교육 기관: Megan K

2021년 4월 23일

I think this is a fascinating topic, but NOT as advertised. I have studied computer science for two years and consider myself confident in coding for my level. However, this course is not for beginners. A very strong coding skillset is needed for this course. Also, the time commitment is very underestimated. I worked through around 30% of the Week 1 modules, which were supposed to take an estimated 4.5 hours total, and it took me around 3 hours. At this rate, I don't think I will be able to finish the class and retain the material. I would love a more basic approach to bioinformatics for those who can not commit 40 hours to this course.