Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
1,209개의 평가
368개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

최상위 리뷰

DL
2016년 4월 17일

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

MZ
2020년 4월 14일

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

필터링 기준:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners의 366개 리뷰 중 226~250

교육 기관: Surur K

2021년 1월 11일

Coding questions should require a larger breakdown of the solution you intend to get for the datasets. I come from a cs background however I can see how otherwise, students will struggle immensely in this course

교육 기관: Florencia M

2020년 11월 9일

This is a very challenging course which taught me plenty but failed to explain some statistical thing with precision. Though, I really recommend it, but I would also advise people to lean some Python in advance

교육 기관: Srinidi V

2020년 5월 27일

Its a really interesting course.. Being from a computer and math background with interest in biology, this was a great inspiration. The tool helped me work and understand a lot. Its surely good for a beginner!

교육 기관: Nielay S

2020년 4월 19일

It was a very informative course!! but some technical and biological terms were hard to understand. It would've been much better if more detailed explanation was provided regarding the coding and the terms.

교육 기관: Veronica Y

2020년 4월 8일

It was challenging, but I learned a lot of tricks while coding. It will be useful if you teach how to install Python (Anaconda Spyder or Jupiter)

It took me more than 4 hours to complete all the tasks

교육 기관: Ivan L

2018년 3월 21일

A good course that gives an introduction to bioinformatics by applying programming in python. Overall, some of the challenges became difficult towards the end, but I definitely learned something.

교육 기관: Jane D

2018년 1월 26일

It was a challenging course but the support was good for the most part. There were some that I struggled a lot with and had to ask external help, but as a whole, the community was super helpful.

교육 기관: Elias S

2019년 8월 26일

Had a lot of fun doing this =)

Despite the fact that the images in the stepik.parts havnt been loaded at some times and the quizes kept annoying, when my computed answer should´ve been wrong :/

교육 기관: Laura L

2017년 1월 31일

Really liked the course and love the topic, however the algorithms section was very difficult and could use some more in depth explaining. Without that, I would not quantify it as "beginner".

교육 기관: Marek B

2017년 5월 18일

It's quite hard to complete this course without any knowledge of Python. I don't recommend it as introduction to programming. BUT as a course about bioinformatics it's great!

교육 기관: Patrick V E

2020년 6월 6일

In general a very good course. The problem is actually more that one is doing the programming too "mechanistically" by copy-pasting rather than having to think for one-self.

교육 기관: Ioanna B

2020년 8월 4일

Although a very good course, material and interesting topic, it can be quite challenging for a beginner. Nevertheless very happy and satisfied to have done and completed it!

교육 기관: MacKenzie K

2017년 8월 9일

You definitely need to complete the codecademy lessons or at least have Python experience before the end of week one for this course. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course.

교육 기관: sleimi w

2020년 6월 16일

well I'm a biologist & this is my first time learning python .. I 've loved this course even though it becomes kinda difficult after week 2 but I've learned a lot from it

교육 기관: Igor K

2016년 8월 16일

A good introduction to computational aspects of bioinformatics. However, the pace of the course might seem too low if you have a strong computer science background.

교육 기관: Nelson C B

2020년 6월 29일

It is a great course. But stepik platform needs to be edited. There are some chapters with hard problems and typos, but if you work hard, you will learn a lot.

교육 기관: Greg T

2019년 10월 28일

A stimulating and engaging survey of elementary bioinformatics algorithms (searching and pattern matching) with the added bonus of practice with Python.

교육 기관: Amanda F

2021년 7월 8일

Great course, easy to follow. However, if you are new to coding, this can be a headache. Otherwise, awesome material and the videos were very helpful!

교육 기관: Kyle B

2020년 6월 5일

Difficult for beginners inexperienced in coding but so rewarding and extremely interesting! Awesome introduction into the field of bioinformatics

교육 기관: Abdullah D S

2018년 6월 5일

The course is alright. I learned a great deal from the challenges in the Stepik modules. The only issue is that the material is pretty dry.

교육 기관: Rohan S

2017년 7월 24일

Excellent course to learn Python programming and great way to learn very interesting topics in biology and be introduced to bioinformatics.

교육 기관: dong c

2017년 9월 5일

Novel knowledge and require some python base.More useful for leaners if printable handout with summarized information provided .

교육 기관: Will V P

2021년 1월 18일

Very technical.... I certainly would recommend this to someone with a prior experience in Biology. Regardless, very good course

교육 기관: Caroline C

2019년 6월 13일

I already have python background so it is good for me. Maybe not suitable for beginner who doesn't touch python before.

교육 기관: Mohamed A

2017년 1월 4일

Very good introductory course to new learners in bioinformatics or students who are just curious about this field.