Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
1,067개의 평가
309개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

최상위 리뷰

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

필터링 기준:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners의 304개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: Fikrat T

Jan 01, 2017

The course was amazing!

교육 기관: david h

Oct 10, 2016

very challenging course

교육 기관: Michelle B V

Jul 27, 2019

It was a great course!

교육 기관: Mario E S

Jun 23, 2016

VERY GOOD. CONGRATS!

교육 기관: Nabisubi P

Oct 24, 2019

tasky

교육 기관: Miles D R

Jul 31, 2019

Fun!

교육 기관: Helena M

Dec 19, 2019

This course is pretty interesting, but I wouldn't say it's a course for beginners. It gets into some quite complex algorithms without a huge amount of explanation and expects you to do a lot of extra work in CodeAcademy (though if you have programming experience, you can obviously skip this). With the work in CodeAcademy, I'd say this course takes 2-3 times longer than it recommends. I'm not a computer scientist so did find some sections quite hard to follow, and the explanation isn't always great (I couldn't figure out one of the answers in the final quiz, even after going through all the explanation and FAQ again). However, the content is very interesting and I found the videos really useful.

교육 기관: Roger T

May 01, 2016

This is not a beginner's course unless you already have previous programming experience. The Python lessons are just samples taken from a completely different curriculum on Codecademy and poorly integrated into the bio-centric course content. The lessons are disjointed, taken out of context, and some of the examples are using the wrong version of Python and missing parentheses. It would be a lot better if they took the time to actually craft custom Python lessons designed specifically for this course instead of using ill-fitting lessons from other classes.

교육 기관: Carla M C

Jul 20, 2020

Es un curso que está bien para iniciarse en la Bioinformática con Python. Sin embargo, hacia la mitad del curso los contenidos son demasiado complejos para quienes no han trabajado anteriormente en este campo. Debería ser un poco más básico para que pueda seguirse hasta el final y aprender de verdad.

Además, creo que los problemas biológicos que se plantean son demasiado concretos. Estaría bien conocer, a un nivel básico, la utilidad de estas herramientas en Biología-Biomedicina.

교육 기관: Varad B

Aug 11, 2020

It's not a beginner's level course. You need to know python really well to do this. I had to take 3 courses on python before I could come back here and complete the course. Also their teaching method of leaving the page in the middle of one topic to learn another topic which you need to understand the first topic is a bit distracting and makes you lose your train of thought.

교육 기관: Joseph B

Oct 23, 2019

This is billed as a course for beginners, but it leans heavily on one's prior skill in programming. If you're not familiar with Python syntax or you are a coding neophyte, a lot of the concepts will likely go over your head. The biology is fairly cursory and easy to pick up along the way, or simply ignore if you don't have a strong background in molecular biology/genetics.

교육 기관: Renée H

Jun 15, 2020

If you have no experience with programming, I definitely recommend completing the Learn Python course on Codecademy first. I think Biologists will find the concepts introduced later in this course difficult to grasp, and I still don't fully understand them. Nonetheless this course is a good introduction into programming for bioinformatics.

교육 기관: Nethraa K

Jun 14, 2017

It's a great course for people who know Python or have some sort of a background in coding. However, for starters, it is not only tedious to learn both Python as well as this but is quite challenging and time consuming as well. Please mention Python as a prerequisite for this course-- it would definitely get 5 stars then.

교육 기관: Laura B

Jul 07, 2020

I'd give it a 2.5, but I managed to learn something in the end, even though it was through the other students rather than through the course lecture itself. The professors should really consider renaming the course to be a more accurate representation of the content. We learned more about DNA that coding in this course.

교육 기관: Xiaoyu L

Mar 31, 2018

The content is interesting, but the staff does not provide helpful feedbacks, and I really do not like the fact they assume the test case is always right, where it might not be. Quite frustrate when struggling on one question when the code is absolutely right.

교육 기관: Prashant M

Jul 23, 2017

Further reference material needs to be added in my opinion. There can be participants from only Computer Science background and there can be students from only biology background. Hence i think reference materials could aid a participant's understanding a lot.

교육 기관: Grzegorz A K

Nov 04, 2016

Pros: a lot of programming in automated online environment.

Cons: inconsistencies in code like changing parameter order in often used functions, changing structure of some variables (arrays become dicts). This can be unneccesarily misleading.

교육 기관: Clive T

Mar 26, 2020

Disappointing lack of feedback from any course organiser (most recent response seemed to be about two years old). The biological content tailed off to become much more of course in programming for search algorithms

교육 기관: Akinyi O

May 19, 2020

Some background knowledge on coding is definitely needed for this course, despite the info saying none is needed. The progress expected is way too fast for an actual beginner with no coding experience.

교육 기관: Saadman K

May 26, 2020

This is not for beginners. You need to know more about python to complete it easily and the time limits of Stepik is not correct. It needs far more time than mentioned.

교육 기관: Ajith M

Jul 20, 2020

This course is definitely not for beginners. I was on the verge of giving up throughout the course. But once you get ahold of the concepts, it is very interesting.

교육 기관: James O

Sep 16, 2019

The course tries hard to balance programming and biology but the programming can become quite a challenge for people with little to no experience in programming.

교육 기관: Pablo R M

Mar 13, 2020

Not truly for beginners. If you don't have previous knowledge of Python and algorithms expect to invest a lot more than 4 hours a week

교육 기관: Merna F

Sep 05, 2020

this course was very useful for me but it is very very difficult for a beginner, I was suffering from trying to understand it

교육 기관: Chahat B

Jul 26, 2020

Very difficult for no coding background people. It would be really helpful if you could describe the error in better ways