학생용
Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
1,138개의 평가
340개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

최상위 리뷰

DL
2016년 4월 17일

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL
2017년 8월 15일

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

필터링 기준:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners의 336개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: José P S M

2019년 9월 3일

As a Computer Science undergrad that works with Python, I considered the programming tips very begginer-friendly and could easily follow the presented biological knowledge that was required to complete the course. The course certainly made even more interested in Bioinformatics and Biology.

교육 기관: Jeremy P

2020년 8월 4일

I found this course to be very engaging, and it helped my programming abilities immensely. I do wish that we would be able to see solutions on the stepik modules after a certain number of attempts, but this course helped me a lot and will definitely play a role it my career choices

교육 기관: Dasha P

2018년 11월 20일

I loved the course so much! I have never programmed before and I've always been afraid of mathematics, but this course happened to be so exciting! I liked, how difficult (for me, at least) concepts are explained step-by step. I am sincerely grateful to the authors of the course.

교육 기관: AHMAD A Z

2020년 3월 24일

Honestly, this course is very difficult and not suitable for a beginner. This course is suitable for matured programmers and biologists. More time is needed to answer all the exercises and quizzes. So far, thanks to the teachers and friends for helping me with this course.

교육 기관: Jordi M

2016년 12월 25일

Challenging and interesting. Only downside is the lack of help in the programming sections. I had been stuck on one of the last code challanges for more than a month without anyone of the staff answering my messages in the comments. Besides that, great course and content.

교육 기관: Ebrahim B

2018년 9월 27일

I found the course extremely challenging, having no background in programming. But I loved engaging with math's and statistics, and being introduced to some very difficult but fascinating concepts in bioinformatics. I hope to pursue this career path further.

교육 기관: Sri M K

2016년 11월 18일

I had great fun learning each week of the course. For students interested in understanding DNA, I would sincerely recommend. Also was the best experience I had learning Bioinformatics and python simultaneously. I believe in learning contextually. Thanks

교육 기관: Joao V P d S

2020년 6월 29일

The course presents several challenges for students from the biological field of sciences. Nevertheless, It was fun to challenge myself and the practical examples used for teaching code were really good. I extremely recommend the course!

교육 기관: Marc S

2017년 8월 7일

As a computer scientist I really enjoyed this course.

Learning about the complex problems, that biologists face, when analyzing DNA, was quite fascinating. I actually think, I will check out the specialization they are offering, as well.

교육 기관: 刘瑞阳

2017년 9월 23일

This course really fits for beginners with zero coding background... Personally, I struggled at first for a while(and the exercises took more than 4 hours per week, as suggested in the webpage), but things are getting better then.

교육 기관: Hugo A M A

2020년 7월 9일

This course needs a lot of time and dedication. You will learn a lot in only 4 weeks, I really recommend it. If you are a teenager in 11th or 12th grade interested in biological sciences, you must do this course during vacations!

교육 기관: Grey B

2019년 12월 21일

Great intro to python, still need essential backup reads on coding but the pace is good and the explanation of bioinformatics and how coding comes into play and is very useful is perfect if you want to do this specialization..

교육 기관: Angelo A d F

2020년 8월 3일

An experience I will always remember. I was introduced into a 'landscape' of bioinformatics, a valuable sharing of map for beginners like me so that I may be able to find my way whenever I get stuck in my own 'local optimum'!

교육 기관: Jessie G

2017년 1월 12일

It's a great introductory course for Python and Bioinformatics. I found the platform for completing assignments, Stepiks, to be very slick and easy to use. Completing this course was so satisfying, informative and fun!

교육 기관: Dunja P

2017년 4월 27일

Great course for biologists and non biologists. Materials well explained and interesting, stuff very helpful and eager. It opens a window to bioinformatics and is a good first step towards it. Very recommended!

교육 기관: Manuel A

2016년 7월 31일

Very good course, and very similar to the first course of the Bioinformatics Specialization. However be warned, it takes a lot of time and effort to complete this course (definitely more than 10 hours a week).

교육 기관: Do H L

2016년 4월 18일

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.

This is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.

What's not to love?

교육 기관: Mariia Z

2020년 4월 15일

A very good course for those who has some (at least a little) experience in programmimg! I really loved it, it was challenging sometimes, especially in the end, but I did it and learned a lot.

교육 기관: Felipe S

2020년 9월 5일

A nice and satisfying course aimed for beginners in programming and biology, but you need to be prepared to use google and do some research on your own to fill some knowledge gaps.

교육 기관: Irith K

2020년 7월 15일

I learned so much in this course and it was so cool to see the intersection between computer science and biology! Thank you so much to the instructors for making this course!

교육 기관: Tianyu Y

2018년 8월 8일

As the title saids, this course is pretty good for beginners. I major in biology and have no programming experience. Now I have more confidence to challenge advanced courses.

교육 기관: Isabella

2018년 2월 11일

Fantastic course. If you are a Python beginner it is a great way to practise solving problems with Python. While also learning about DNA, which was absolutely fascinating.

교육 기관: Matt W

2017년 6월 18일

Great introductory material for a new person to Bioinformatics, Python, or a both. Definitely feel more "natural" in Python and well versed in Bioinformatics concepts.

교육 기관: Prem T

2020년 6월 17일

I am gonna be honest .if you are a beginner level in python please make sure to practice some more or gain some more experience in python before beginning with this

교육 기관: Damian D

2020년 4월 30일

It managed to keep me interested in learning programming to solve biological questions. As a biologist its the most I can ask from any such course. Thanks a lot.