Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
1,068개의 평가
309개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

최상위 리뷰

DL

Apr 18, 2016

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL

Aug 16, 2017

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

필터링 기준:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners의 304개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Ziliang L

Jul 13, 2018

overall, it's a good course. But it has many places to improve. It's better if you have the biological and programming background, or you gonna struggle. And some tricky and sometimes misleading parts can cost you a long time.

교육 기관: Srinidi V

May 27, 2020

Its a really interesting course.. Being from a computer and math background with interest in biology, this was a great inspiration. The tool helped me work and understand a lot. Its surely good for a beginner!

교육 기관: Nielay S

Apr 19, 2020

It was a very informative course!! but some technical and biological terms were hard to understand. It would've been much better if more detailed explanation was provided regarding the coding and the terms.

교육 기관: Veronica Y

Apr 09, 2020

It was challenging, but I learned a lot of tricks while coding. It will be useful if you teach how to install Python (Anaconda Spyder or Jupiter)

It took me more than 4 hours to complete all the tasks

교육 기관: Ivan L

Mar 22, 2018

A good course that gives an introduction to bioinformatics by applying programming in python. Overall, some of the challenges became difficult towards the end, but I definitely learned something.

교육 기관: Jane D

Jan 26, 2018

It was a challenging course but the support was good for the most part. There were some that I struggled a lot with and had to ask external help, but as a whole, the community was super helpful.

교육 기관: Elias S

Aug 26, 2019

Had a lot of fun doing this =)

Despite the fact that the images in the stepik.parts havnt been loaded at some times and the quizes kept annoying, when my computed answer should´ve been wrong :/

교육 기관: Laura L

Jan 31, 2017

Really liked the course and love the topic, however the algorithms section was very difficult and could use some more in depth explaining. Without that, I would not quantify it as "beginner".

교육 기관: Marek B

May 18, 2017

It's quite hard to complete this course without any knowledge of Python. I don't recommend it as introduction to programming. BUT as a course about bioinformatics it's great!

교육 기관: Patrick V E

Jun 06, 2020

In general a very good course. The problem is actually more that one is doing the programming too "mechanistically" by copy-pasting rather than having to think for one-self.

교육 기관: Ioanna B

Aug 04, 2020

Although a very good course, material and interesting topic, it can be quite challenging for a beginner. Nevertheless very happy and satisfied to have done and completed it!

교육 기관: MacKenzie K

Aug 09, 2017

You definitely need to complete the codecademy lessons or at least have Python experience before the end of week one for this course. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course.

교육 기관: sleimi w

Jun 16, 2020

well I'm a biologist & this is my first time learning python .. I 've loved this course even though it becomes kinda difficult after week 2 but I've learned a lot from it

교육 기관: Igor K

Aug 16, 2016

A good introduction to computational aspects of bioinformatics. However, the pace of the course might seem too low if you have a strong computer science background.

교육 기관: Nelson H C B

Jun 29, 2020

It is a great course. But stepik platform needs to be edited. There are some chapters with hard problems and typos, but if you work hard, you will learn a lot.

교육 기관: Greg T

Oct 28, 2019

A stimulating and engaging survey of elementary bioinformatics algorithms (searching and pattern matching) with the added bonus of practice with Python.

교육 기관: Kyle B

Jun 05, 2020

Difficult for beginners inexperienced in coding but so rewarding and extremely interesting! Awesome introduction into the field of bioinformatics

교육 기관: Abdullah D S

Jun 05, 2018

The course is alright. I learned a great deal from the challenges in the Stepik modules. The only issue is that the material is pretty dry.

교육 기관: Rohan S

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent course to learn Python programming and great way to learn very interesting topics in biology and be introduced to bioinformatics.

교육 기관: dong c

Sep 06, 2017

Novel knowledge and require some python base.More useful for leaners if printable handout with summarized information provided .

교육 기관: Caroline C

Jun 13, 2019

I already have python background so it is good for me. Maybe not suitable for beginner who doesn't touch python before.

교육 기관: Mohamed A

Jan 04, 2017

Very good introductory course to new learners in bioinformatics or students who are just curious about this field.

교육 기관: Afshin P

Apr 25, 2017

Thank you.

This course was very effective for me.

It has a lot of details, and I need to review some issues agian

교육 기관: Florent C

Mar 02, 2020

Très bon cours malgré le fait qu'il faille passer par une plateforme externe de Coursera pour les cours

교육 기관: Surabhi

Jun 04, 2016

Stepic issues with not syncing progress and assignment completion. All else was good. Well paced.