Chevron Left
Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아 샌디에고 대학교의 Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.3
별점
1,130개의 평가
334개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Are you interested in learning how to program (in Python) within a scientific setting? This course will cover algorithms for solving various biological problems along with a handful of programming challenges helping you implement these algorithms in Python. It offers a gently-paced introduction to our Bioinformatics Specialization (https://www.coursera.org/specializations/bioinformatics), preparing learners to take the first course in the Specialization, "Finding Hidden Messages in DNA" (https://www.coursera.org/learn/dna-analysis). Each of the four weeks in the course will consist of two required components. First, an interactive textbook provides Python programming challenges that arise from real biological problems. If you haven't programmed in Python before, not to worry! We provide "Just-in-Time" exercises from the Codecademy Python track (https://www.codecademy.com/learn/python). And each page in our interactive textbook has its own discussion forum, where you can interact with other learners. Second, each week will culminate in a summary quiz. Lecture videos are also provided that accompany the material, but these videos are optional....

최상위 리뷰

DL
2016년 4월 17일

I give this course 5 star because I did Bioinformatics I and I totally enjoy it.\n\nThis is where programming can be fun, and practical, and you'll learn some basic biology too.\n\nWhat's not to love?

HL
2017년 8월 15일

I learned a lot from this difficult and time-consuming course! It covers biological concepts using Python. It made learning Python more interesting for me, since I have always loved biology.

필터링 기준:

Biology Meets Programming: Bioinformatics for Beginners의 330개 리뷰 중 201~225

교육 기관: Carlos A E S

2020년 1월 8일

Very good course to get an introduction to bioinformatics. I would also recommend taking an R language oriented course. On the other hand, this course would benefit from an update in its feedback system so that students are more likely to finish and avoid getting stuck at certain points.

교육 기관: Kie V I S

2017년 7월 2일

Overall it was a good experience. I had so much fun learning the connection between molecular biology and programming. The programming assignment was okay but the theory of molecular biology was still out of reach for me. We had to use a third party application (stepik), which is good.

교육 기관: mohammad m n

2020년 11월 1일

a really great way for leaning what bioinformatics is but for me, who is a bachelors in computer science, the biology parts of it were a bit hard to understand, and the programming parts were a bit boring, especially when I had to copy-paste my codes every time for the next step

교육 기관: Rafael N

2020년 10월 22일

The course is not really for beginners. As a molecular biologist and chemist with little programming experience, I had to do crash course in Python 3 programming. In contrast, there's a lot of study resources made available. People from the comments section were very helpful.

교육 기관: Yangjiexue L

2020년 10월 6일

I enjoyed this course and it is really helpful for me.

But I have to say this is NOT for programming beginners. If you are a programmer with no biology background, you probably will be fine. But if you are a biologist with no programming background, big chance you'll be lost.

교육 기관: Sarvanshi s

2020년 4월 21일

Course is well defined and stepik tool is very good and useful. But sometimes it becomes a bit confusing to understand and there is no option to find the fault in code or correct answer. After a particular number of efforts, there must be option for correct solution.

교육 기관: Jonathan N

2018년 1월 14일

Very interesting course, but its estimated time is about 17 h 20min. I took about 53h and am an absolute beginner in this, so this took a lot longer than I thought it would. I think the estimated time should be revised up to take programming beginners into account.

교육 기관: Michael G

2017년 10월 12일

The Stepik textbook needs to be updated. The quantity of test cases and the quality leave a lot to be determined. The format of input on the quizzes needs to be specified more clearly. Otherwise a great course but I would not market it towards beginners.

교육 기관: Stuart W

2020년 6월 14일

I enjoyed this course a lot. It was very challenging. I am an experienced Python programmer so the programming side was pretty straightforward however the exercises took a lot of determination to complete. I can definetely say that I learnt something.

교육 기관: Ziliang L

2018년 7월 13일

overall, it's a good course. But it has many places to improve. It's better if you have the biological and programming background, or you gonna struggle. And some tricky and sometimes misleading parts can cost you a long time.

교육 기관: Surur K

2021년 1월 11일

Coding questions should require a larger breakdown of the solution you intend to get for the datasets. I come from a cs background however I can see how otherwise, students will struggle immensely in this course

교육 기관: Florencia M

2020년 11월 9일

This is a very challenging course which taught me plenty but failed to explain some statistical thing with precision. Though, I really recommend it, but I would also advise people to lean some Python in advance

교육 기관: Srinidi V

2020년 5월 27일

Its a really interesting course.. Being from a computer and math background with interest in biology, this was a great inspiration. The tool helped me work and understand a lot. Its surely good for a beginner!

교육 기관: Nielay S

2020년 4월 19일

It was a very informative course!! but some technical and biological terms were hard to understand. It would've been much better if more detailed explanation was provided regarding the coding and the terms.

교육 기관: Veronica Y

2020년 4월 8일

It was challenging, but I learned a lot of tricks while coding. It will be useful if you teach how to install Python (Anaconda Spyder or Jupiter)

It took me more than 4 hours to complete all the tasks

교육 기관: Ivan L

2018년 3월 21일

A good course that gives an introduction to bioinformatics by applying programming in python. Overall, some of the challenges became difficult towards the end, but I definitely learned something.

교육 기관: Jane D

2018년 1월 26일

It was a challenging course but the support was good for the most part. There were some that I struggled a lot with and had to ask external help, but as a whole, the community was super helpful.

교육 기관: Elias S

2019년 8월 26일

Had a lot of fun doing this =)

Despite the fact that the images in the stepik.parts havnt been loaded at some times and the quizes kept annoying, when my computed answer should´ve been wrong :/

교육 기관: Laura L

2017년 1월 31일

Really liked the course and love the topic, however the algorithms section was very difficult and could use some more in depth explaining. Without that, I would not quantify it as "beginner".

교육 기관: Marek B

2017년 5월 18일

It's quite hard to complete this course without any knowledge of Python. I don't recommend it as introduction to programming. BUT as a course about bioinformatics it's great!

교육 기관: Patrick V E

2020년 6월 6일

In general a very good course. The problem is actually more that one is doing the programming too "mechanistically" by copy-pasting rather than having to think for one-self.

교육 기관: Ioanna B

2020년 8월 4일

Although a very good course, material and interesting topic, it can be quite challenging for a beginner. Nevertheless very happy and satisfied to have done and completed it!

교육 기관: MacKenzie K

2017년 8월 9일

You definitely need to complete the codecademy lessons or at least have Python experience before the end of week one for this course. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the course.

교육 기관: sleimi w

2020년 6월 16일

well I'm a biologist & this is my first time learning python .. I 've loved this course even though it becomes kinda difficult after week 2 but I've learned a lot from it

교육 기관: Igor K

2016년 8월 16일

A good introduction to computational aspects of bioinformatics. However, the pace of the course might seem too low if you have a strong computer science background.