Chevron Left
Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)(으)로 돌아가기

히브리대학교의 Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course) 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
3,159개의 평가

강좌 소개

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course* you will build a modern computer system, from the ground up. We’ll divide this fascinating journey into six hands-on projects that will take you from constructing elementary logic gates all the way through creating a fully functioning general purpose computer. In the process, you will learn - in the most direct and constructive way - how computers work, and how they are designed. What you’ll need: This is a self-contained course: all the knowledge necessary to succeed in the course and build the computer system will be given as part of the learning experience. Therefore, we assume no previous computer science or engineering knowledge, and all learners are welcome aboard. You will need no physical materials, since you will build the computer on your own PC, using a software-based hardware simulator, just like real computers are designed by computer engineers in the field. The hardware simulator, as well as other software tools, will be supplied freely after you enroll in the course. Course format: The course consists of six modules, each comprising a series of video lectures, and a project. You will need about 2-3 hours to watch each module's lectures, and about 5-10 hours to complete each one of the six projects. The course can be completed in six weeks, but you are welcome to take it at your own pace. You can watch a TED talk about this course by Googling "nand2tetris TED talk". *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

최상위 리뷰

AI

2021년 6월 13일

Undeniably one of the best computer science courses. The advertising isn't false! This course permanently changed my perspective on hardware and software along with the relationship between the two...

RD

2021년 5월 22일

Thanks to the instructors for bringing forth such an amazing course. The way the course is strucured makes it very interesting and easy to learn. Loved and enjoyed the course and learnt a lot from it

필터링 기준:

Build a Modern Computer from First Principles: From Nand to Tetris (Project-Centered Course)의 966개 리뷰 중 151~175

교육 기관: Matt J

2022년 3월 31일

Amazing course. I've always wondered how a computer just handles "information", displaying nice images on a screen and allowing magical user interaction. We live in a physical world, so what is physically happening? This course shows you what happens under the hood. And it's very project-centered, so plenty of hands-on learning.

교육 기관: Vishnu A

2020년 6월 20일

This course was amazing. Despite being a computer science student, I had no real intuition as to how the different computer abstractions worked or how the simple AND,OR gates did everything the a computer could do. I've just finished the firsst part and am already amazed at how much I've learned. I look forward to the next part!

교육 기관: Robert A

2017년 9월 24일

This is an excellent course that is very well-designed to include all the essential details and exclude the inessential ones. I recommend it very highly, especially to those who have some form of technical education, but may never have learned these topics in computer design that are needed to really get from logic gate to CPU.

교육 기관: Mark V M

2018년 2월 8일

This was a fantastic course. I'd bought the textbook a few years ago after reading about it on HackerNews, but never had the motivation to work through it until I discovered this class on Coursera. I feel like I now have a much better grasp of what's going on inside of a computer, after having programmed for over thirty years!

교육 기관: Erik U

2021년 2월 24일

Excellent course! I was left mind-blown (in a good, exciting way) at times when I learned how different parts of the computer, such as the CPU or ALU actually work with just logic gates. The programming exercises are a great way to test understanding and they each make one think hard to reach the solution. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Jinho L

2020년 2월 15일

I have always wanted to know how a computer actually works. This course helped me to deep dive into the low level implementation of a computer. In the meanwhile, the projects are perfectly well organized for better understandings. Overall, I'd like to recommend this course to literally everyone who is interested in computers.

교육 기관: Himanshu V

2019년 7월 9일

One of the best courses I have ever been through. If you like learning along with getting hands-on experience and the joy of building something ground-up, this course is definitely for you. I like how the designs are so simple yet completely functional. Thoroughly enjoyed making all the projects especially week 6 (Assembler).

교육 기관: Jeremy L

2018년 6월 20일

Great course, but tough. I'd suggest reading the relevant chapters from the professors' book 'The Elements of Computing Systems' (chapters available for free on the professors' course website) in addition to listening to the lectures. I also read 'Code' by Charles Petzold as I took the course and found it a useful supplement.

교육 기관: Diogo A d O S

2020년 4월 27일

A wonderful course. The tasks are not very hard, but challenging enough for a student to get things working. Even for auditing students, they provide ways to verify the knowledge. I think they completely achieved their goal of demystifying how computers work and are built. Thank you for the opportunity to attend this course.

교육 기관: Miroslav V

2020년 2월 22일

While some of earlier topics were a bit rushed, Week 6 videos were just about explaining the assembler algorithm to the programmer, which is something programmer should invent himself, it takes away the fun, while providing no further insight into the topic. Overall great course, but it did not go very deep into some topics.

교육 기관: Richard M

2016년 6월 17일

A fantastic course that should be considered as a requirement for any one working as a software developer. The tutors did an excellent job here, the course material was clear, and the assignments were fun and rewarding.

I can honestly say I've now built my own computer from simple Nand gates and it was fun and educational.

교육 기관: Balaji R

2018년 12월 13일

Excellent course, I could understand from a simple logic gate how a computer hardware is built. Very useful for both student and professionals in Computer field.

The presentation was to the point very clear and crisp. Both the faculty did an amazing job in presentng the material of the course as well as the assignments.

교육 기관: Peter C

2021년 9월 23일

Quality of teaching, materials is superb. The whole course concept is quite astounding and delivered brilliantly. The projects are superbly designed. A lot of superlatives in this review, but this is streets ahead of how the subject matter was taught in my university days. It is worth getting the accompanying book.

교육 기관: Antonios H

2017년 5월 21일

This course was amazing. I have been using computers, and programming, for 30 years (not full time). Now I finally have a deep understanding of what is going on under the hood. I have a new appreciation for the 1's and 0's that are machine language. The instructors were fantastic. I highly recommend this course.

교육 기관: Luke F

2021년 3월 13일

I originally learned a lot of this in university about 8 years ago, however this course was much better in its execution, the projects were fun and well defined and the presentations were succinct. It was a great sense of accomplishment at the end to have a working computer where you understand all the moving parts.

교육 기관: Yiğit A T

2019년 11월 29일

Even though I knew quite a bit about the later parts of the course, I still learned a lot from them. Not to mention that HDL and hardware parts thought me a lot as I lacked some knowledge on that front. Overall a great course that I would recommend to anyone who is interested in learning everything about computers.

교육 기관: Jonfranco S

2021년 2월 15일

Fantastic course! Very digestible and relatively well explained. I struggled a couple times with the projects but generally it was just syntax errors and I was able to find help with the course discussions. I knew very little about computer architecture before and now feel comfortable to take higher level courses.

교육 기관: adelaja q

2020년 12월 4일

This is the best course i have ever taken. It satisfied my quest to understand how computers work ground up with 100% practical and recommend it to anyone that wants to also.

Adding Quiz to test the understanding of the theory will make it even better.

A very big thank you to Shimon Schocken and Noam Nisan.

교육 기관: Christopher J L

2020년 11월 30일

This is such a great course.

It is very well taught and the material is thorough but understandable.

The concept of the course was so interesting to me and the execution was excellent.

This is an extremely enjoyable course and I would highly recommend it, whether you have a computer science background or not.

교육 기관: Chakir M

2019년 8월 31일

Excellent course! I have taken many in Coursera, and this one is by far the one I have enjoyed the most, not only because of the topic but also because of the professors. Both are great communicators and provided very well prepared classes and materials. 100% recommended, looking forward to starting part 2.

교육 기관: Damodaran R

2016년 12월 4일

It's an excellent practical approach to understand the inner workings of a computer at a very low level. The instructors teach at a comfortable pace and cover in great detail even the simplest of topics. More light could have been shone on how and why the control bits produce the desired output in the ALU.

교육 기관: Shiva H

2020년 8월 27일

Absolutely superb course! It's was supremely satisfying to build an actual virtual working computer from scratch and see it play Pong! I commend the course creators for distilling something that's usually seen as mysterious and complicated into an accessible and tangible form. Can't wait to finish Part 2!

교육 기관: Molderez

2020년 2월 13일

Nice project and interesting . The learning curve is not too steep for a beginner and the course itself can be considered as a solid funding block for a programmer interested in low level programming. The project which is spread over the 6 modules is an on going application of the abstraction principle.

교육 기관: Csaba S

2021년 2월 19일

It was quite challenging at certain points, and it also required more time on my part than what I had expected, but it certainly was worth the effort. Many concepts at the core of microcomputer technology have become much clearer. I have found the course very rewarding in terms of knowledge acquired.

교육 기관: Dylan B

2018년 9월 6일

Loved this course. Great progression from concept to concept. Huge feeling of accomplishment at each step of the way as you create a working, functioning 16-bit computer. Can't wait to do Part II. Fast, responsive help from the mentors as well. I was always able to get the answers to my questions.