Chevron Left
Ecosystems of California(으)로 돌아가기

캘리포니아대학교 산타크루스캠퍼스의 Ecosystems of California 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
별점
39개의 평가
16개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course surveys the diversity, structure and functioning of California’s ecosystems through time and the ways they have influenced and responded to human activities and stewardship. Topics include ecosystem drivers such as climate, soils, and land use history; human and ecological prehistory of the state; comparative marine, freshwater, and terrestrial ecosystem dynamics; and managed ecosystems such as range, fisheries and agriculture in California. The course also emphasizes important skills to understand as a scientist or consumer of scientific information, including data collection, natural history, and writing....

최상위 리뷰

L
2020년 5월 31일

I learned so much in this class! Erika Zavaleta's video field trips and lectures taught me so much about the place I live in, and it's amazing that it can all be accessed for free!

JS
2018년 4월 1일

This shows California outdoors from top to bottom. Really good info on all the plants, animals and outdoor environments. Especially enjoyed week 3 on lakes and deserts

필터링 기준:

Ecosystems of California의 16개 리뷰 중 1~16

교육 기관: Begum O

2020년 4월 11일

The course was great, however, if you are taking it for a certificate, be aware that there aren't always a lot of people taking the course and your peer reviewed assignment may not get reviewed, thereby not allowing you to finish. If you need the certificate I would opt to purchase it at the end.

교육 기관: matt w

2018년 1월 19일

Wonderful course. I grew up in California, and I have spent a lot of time in many of the ecosystems covered in this class. It is always enjoyable for me to deepen my knowledge of the natural world, as well as the effects humanity has on it. Thank you to Erika Zavaleta for taking us through all of this in the field. I think it is very helpful when the lectures are conducted in the actual ecosystems they address.

교육 기관: Joy S

2018년 4월 2일

This shows California outdoors from top to bottom. Really good info on all the plants, animals and outdoor environments. Especially enjoyed week 3 on lakes and deserts

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 10월 18일

INTERESTING AND ENJOYABLE COURSE. TIMELY, TOO, AS I PLAN ON DOING THE PACIFIC COAST TRAIL THIS SPRING. THANKS SO MUCH!

교육 기관: Chantel W

2020년 5월 4일

Great information in this class! I love that we are able to save notes and refer back to them later. I thought there were a wide and interesting range of topics. I wish the quizzes would have had a little more info before taking them, such as some questions may have 2 or 3 correct answers. That was unclear to me, so I had to retake them several times before figuring that out. I also would have liked more help on the final exam project. I asked a question but there wasn't anyone in the discussion to answer before the submission deadline, so I am still unsure if I completed it correctly. Other than that, the course was a lot of fun and I enjoyed it.

교육 기관: Sean R

2020년 7월 18일

Final test was harder and more specific than expected. If the question has more than one answer, it really needs to say "Mark all that apply".

교육 기관: Laurie S

2021년 1월 11일

Such a great collection of information about the different ecosystems of California. The videos were excellent and allowed me to virtually visit each ecosystem and become aware of the unique characteristics of each. The instructor was easy to understand and she conveyed enthusiasm for the content. As I continue to reside and travel in California I will be better able to appreciate this great state !

교육 기관: Nancy L

2020년 10월 5일

I've never taken an Ecology course before, and I learned a lot from this course. It's changed how I look at the landscapes around me. The essay questions really force me to think and dive deeper into the material. The final exam was tough! This course has inspired to learn more about related topics like Meteorology and Oceanography.

교육 기관: Lucy I b

2020년 6월 1일

I learned so much in this class! Erika Zavaleta's video field trips and lectures taught me so much about the place I live in, and it's amazing that it can all be accessed for free!

교육 기관: Derek M

2020년 10월 5일

Amazing course! I learned so much, and had a lot of fun. Written questions were valuable, and extended my thinking. The final project was so much fun!

교육 기관: Alice P

2020년 4월 3일

Really interesting and easy to apply to your natural surroundings if you live in California. I really enjoyed the videos, and learned a ton!

교육 기관: Keshav a K B

2020년 7월 17일

Especially good insights, perspectives, and ways to better see our reality; Mother Earth, but 1 thing in particular, here, is that I am more interested in the very impactful-destructive human interactions with Nature - socioecology (rather than biology and ecology), like being able to see the forest from the trees.

few reasons for unperfect 5/5 include:

*no mention of rangeland/livestock link to important ill effects on health of people and the planet

*no (basic) mention of lunar cycle in segment about tides??

*would have liked more explanation re contrast between dams that are human vs. beaver made (minor)

교육 기관: Francine

2018년 2월 8일

An interesting course with beautiful videos, well-presented, however, no reaction whatsoever from the Staff. A pity!

교육 기관: Luis F L G

2018년 2월 28일

muy bueno

교육 기관: Anna T

2019년 7월 8일

Unfortuntaley, I had difficulty with keeping my mind on the lectures. it was not that they weren't fact filled and had lots of important information,but the speaker was not always excellent at keeping my attention like in other courses which I have taken.

교육 기관: roger a

2018년 12월 16일

Audiobooks are more engaging than the readings in some of the videos.