Chevron Left
The Truth About Cats and Dogs(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 The Truth About Cats and Dogs 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.7
793개의 평가
220개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

What is your cat revealing to you when she purrs? What is your dog expressing when he yawns or wags his tail? Understanding your cat and dog’s behaviour and the way they communicate with you, will enable you to better understand their needs and strengthen your relationship with them. This MOOC is divided into five topics, the appliance of science; behaviour and body language, senses and perception; challenges for the human-animal relationship, including pet problem behaviour; and how to improve the quality of life for cats and dogs in our care. At the start of the course we ask you to consider what you feel is important to your cat/dog and what your cat/dog means to you? We explore the world of cats and dogs and how our relationships with them vary around the world and have changed over time. We ask if we can really know what our animals are thinking or trying to communicate through their facial expressions and behaviours. From our beloved pets to street dogs, shelter dogs/cats and welfare challenges, we explore the world from their perspective and examine how their genetic make-up may influence their behavioural responses and choices. We dispel common behavioural myths by looking through a scientific lens, asking questions about the function and development of their behaviour.. We explore how their senses help them to interact with their world and how they communicate with each other and us! Finally, we ask whether we impose unrealistic expectations on our cats and dogs and how this affects their ability to live alongside us. We ask, what can we do to be more responsible pet owners and to ensure the welfare of all cats and dogs in society? This MOOC explores different scientifically validated methods that can help you to better understand your pet, to enrich their lives and help you to be a more educated and confident pet owner. We hope you enjoy the course!...

최상위 리뷰

HR

Mar 27, 2020

I learned so much about how to decrease stress for my pets and increase their happiness. I also learned how to better communicate with them. Thank you for helping improve my pets quality of life!

MB

Dec 07, 2019

I am enjoying this course and am learning quite a bit. Behavior is one of my main interests as a trainer as I think understanding it helps to design training and living programs for the animal.

필터링 기준:

The Truth About Cats and Dogs의 216개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Mihika G

Jul 29, 2019

Solid basis and introductory information for learning about cat and dog behavior. However, I felt it was a bit shallow and repetitive at times, and I found myself wanting more information within the course and not just provided in additional resources. I enjoyed the parts of lessons most when the instructors went into depth about a particular behavior with examples and videos, and especially when research studies were cited to explain behavior. To me this felt like a good first unit of a 101 course, and I found myself wanting 200-level course information.

교육 기관: E. J L

Sep 03, 2017

This course was well produced but very simple and repetitive. I was hoping for a much more in depth exploration of behaviour and maybe something that was new or exciting. I felt it was way too basic.

교육 기관: Corrina S

Jul 18, 2019

I must say, I agree that there is more information on dogs than there is on cats in this course. However, I understand why. Dogs have been domesticated and studied for longer. So of course we have more information about them than cats. I myself am more of a cat person and I still think this course thoroughly covers information about cats as well. I think this course is essential for anyone who is caring for or wants to care for a cat or a dog in the future, and is a great course to start with if you're interested in working with animals as well. Overall, I have nothing but good things to say about this course.

교육 기관: Antonia A B

Feb 17, 2019

I loved this course! It's my favourite MOOC I've done on here so far! Very engaging and enjoyable, lovely instructors and the other students have been really nice on the forums! The content was excellent, I would absolutely recommend this to anyone interested in the area or even just a pet owner or animal lover :) Amazing course!

교육 기관: Shannon S

Jul 06, 2018

This course was a great refresher on what I have already been taught and also full of new information to help me in my profession as an animal behaviour consultant and trainer. I was really impressed with the content and the professors were excellent. I am very impressed and hope they offer more MOOC's like this one.

교육 기관: Ana B d F

Mar 19, 2019

Very nice course for people who have or plan on having a cat or dog. I wish everyone had to take this course before owning pets.

교육 기관: Kellie S

Jun 21, 2018

The audio levels vary greatly between videos. Some are so quiet that I have to put the subtitles on while others are way too loud. Some of the transcripts are written up nicely with correct time stamps and others are just a wall of text. Other than these technical issues the actual course content is interesting and covers all aspects from commonly known information to more professional levels.This is a great course and would recommend it to those who are interested in animal behaviour in our daily lives.

교육 기관: bronwyn

Jul 11, 2017

Pretty basic stuff. Not sure that its relevant to cover cats and dogs in one course as the nature of the course is for animal owners to learn about their pet. i for one have no interest in cats so skipped those sections and thus had to guess on the quizzes. Not sure i learned anything much, this is a very beginner pet owner level. The instructors were good though.

교육 기관: Jade B

Feb 01, 2020

Great insight into cats and dogs and the care required for them. Love the videos and interactivity. Really enjoyable course. The title doesn't really do it justice really! Would be great to have a course just for the care of dogs which people who are considering getting a dog could take (cover puppies/dogs and rescue dogs). Just the basics and resources for what is actually required for a dog- rather than just running out and getting a puppy because they are cute! "Becoming a dog owner or becoming a better dog owner" Same for cats.

교육 기관: Rozana T

Mar 31, 2020

This course was very interesting, it gave me an opportunity to learn new things about dogs, which I did not know so much about & see the professionals' view on cats & compare it with my own knowledge & observations. I appreciated the instructors' genuine caring for both species' welfare. I also learned about the organizations, resources & laws governing animal protection in the UK & Scotland. Last but not least I am now most motivated to further study & pursue a more formal academic degree on the subject.

교육 기관: SHASHANK S

Jun 20, 2018

THIS COURSE IS VERY KNOWLEDGEABLE ABOUT THE BEHAVIOR OF CATS AND DOG . I DONT HAVE ANY CAT AND DOG YET BUT I TAKE THIS COURSE BECAUSE I LOVE THEM AND NOW I CAME TO KNOW LOTS ABOUT THEM . SO WHEN I TAKE THEM HOME THIS KNOWLEDGE WILL BE VERY HELPFUL. FOR ME.I WAS BITTEN BY A DOG 6 TO 8 YEARS BEFORE THEN I AFRAID FROM THEM BUT NOW I LOVE THEN.SO VERY THANKS TO EDX AND THE UNIVERSITY FOR SUCH A COURSE COME AGAIN WITH SOMETHING NEW. THANK YOU VERY MUCH ONCE AGAIN.

교육 기관: Samantha M

Feb 25, 2019

This course is especially helpful to anyone who is new to pet ownership, or even those who think they are experienced. It is full of the most up to date info on Cat and Dog behaviour and how we can help them live a good life with us. Although we love them, we might not always realize that what we are doing is perhaps not the best for them and could be done better - this course will make you think about this and find ways to improve their life with you.

교육 기관: Linda M

Jun 14, 2018

I learned some really interesting things about the way cats and dogs see their world. I have a difficult dog so I have spent quite a bit of time learning how to handle her and much of the information here was familiar to me. But, the information about cats was almost entirely new to me. I have been telling everyone I know who has a cat all about it. !!! Loved the course, people teaching it seemed so kind and focused on the well being of our pets.

교육 기관: Bright B

Feb 18, 2018

Great information, really thorough explanations. And I was able to apply most (if not all) of my new learnings in real life situations. I work at a cat and dog boarding/training facility and it helps massively to understand cat & dog body language. Obviously the goal is to provide the animals lodging with a safe and intuitive environment, their needs come first.

교육 기관: Jan M

Jun 28, 2019

Great course. I feel a real achievement finishing the course. It was a very professional course. I learnt some key concepts and facts about cats and dogs. I recommend this course if you want to care for your pets better. Thanks to the teachers at University of Edinburgh. You've improved my knowledge and now the animals around me will be happier!

교육 기관: Adriana P

Oct 31, 2017

Este curso, en conjunto con el curso "Animal behaviour and Welfare" de la Universidad de Edimburgo han sido de los cursos más completos, didácticos, dinámicos y "bonitos" que he tomado en Cousera.

Se agradece profundamente a todos los involucrados en su realización. Y la generosidad al compartir su tiempo, experiencia y conocimientos.

교육 기관: Hanna B

Mar 25, 2018

That was my first completed online course. It was extremely useful, thank you! Now there are more rational things rather than intuitive. I started to understand my friends better. It is sad that I can't improve everything, but this course gave me lots of practical information that can and should be applied. Thanks again!

교육 기관: Zeljka T

Feb 15, 2018

I would heartily recommend this course to any person who loves animals, owns them or wants to own them. It will give you a deep insight into the cat and the dog behaviour. It will instruct you wisely about pet owner's responsibilities, all in the effort to provide a better quality of life to a pet and an owner likewise.

교육 기관: Jessie C

Jul 12, 2017

Although the course was mostly review for me, I found it very easy to follow and understand. It provided a lot of internet links to awesome information. If you are thinking about taking this course, whether you are a seasoned professional or green to the industry, it is a good informative course to take. Thank you!

교육 기관: Loreta M

May 16, 2018

A brilliant course! Full of useful information - some already known and some new. The course talks a lot about our perception of our pets - dogs and cats, and gives us more understanding of what they're really about. Cat and dog natural behavior and welfare needs are discussed in more detail. Definitely recommend!

교육 기관: Aygul Y

Jan 27, 2018

I think anyone who is a pet owner should complete this mooc. It will help anyone to be a better friend and a more responsible owner to your cat or dog. It will help you built a better and healthier relationshis with your pet. I highly recomend this course to those who have or considering to have a pet.

교육 기관: Marianne T

Aug 13, 2017

Without a doubt, a course for anyone with a cat and / or dog. Very professional, understandable, motivational and educational. One of the many rewards you get is a better friendship. Another better health. A third you will feel that you can communicate, understand, help and even learn from your pet.

교육 기관: Divya N

Mar 25, 2018

This course is a must for anyone who has pets , planning to adopt or would like to just enhance their knowledge of dogs and cats. I have learnt so much from every week and would highly recommend this to friends and family. From the course content to the teachers , learning was an absolute joy !

교육 기관: Natalia M M C

Jul 07, 2017

I think the course improved my knowledge about the pets, not only about the behavior, I learned about de signs of my cats.

The course is well designed but I think the part of " ask to the expert" had a long durection, this part will can be divided in small fragments.

Thank you for this course.

교육 기관: Nicola J

Jun 02, 2019

A hugely enjoyable and informative course for anyone that owns a cat or dog, or is thinking of getting one. Even though I have been a pet owner for decades, I learnt many new things that will help me understand my pets even better. My thanks to the educators and course organisers.