Chevron Left
Chicken Behaviour and Welfare(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Chicken Behaviour and Welfare 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
748개의 평가
279개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

최상위 리뷰

MS
2019년 7월 30일

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

NW
2020년 10월 28일

I learned so much. I am a hobby farmer with a small flock, but I really enjoyed learning about all aspects of chicken welfare as it pertains to both small and large scale operations. Thank you!

필터링 기준:

Chicken Behaviour and Welfare의 275개 리뷰 중 251~275

교육 기관: SG

2020년 10월 12일

Quiz in French please

More information on organic breeding would be better..

교육 기관: Alexis B

2020년 5월 6일

was a little repetitive but i learned a lot over chicken welfare

교육 기관: Omar H

2017년 11월 10일

Good course, a little eurocentric but useful none the less.

교육 기관: Santiago E d

2020년 4월 18일

buen curso, pero le falta un poco de informacion tecnica

교육 기관: Andy W

2018년 3월 10일

Very interesting course for the home chicken-keeper

교육 기관: Diego F R D

2019년 2월 15일

Great information i learned a lot. Thanks everyone

교육 기관: Muhammad Q

2020년 2월 26일

That is very helpful and good learning platform

교육 기관: K S

2018년 2월 13일

Very well explained and pleasant to watch

교육 기관: Anne b

2018년 4월 12일

Very interesting, if a bit short.

교육 기관: Elizabeth W M

2020년 7월 22일

Great course! Very informative

교육 기관: JUSTO G S C

2017년 5월 10일

Good course. Congratulations

교육 기관: Simone P

2017년 2월 24일

Informative and interesting.

교육 기관: Richard K

2017년 8월 18일

very informative

교육 기관: Marie J

2020년 4월 29일

Very intere

교육 기관: Colin C

2017년 8월 1일

I would say this is a very helpful course for those interested in intensive/ factory farming chicken production. It touches on the basics of keeping backyard chickens, but does not offer many recourse on this topic. I would like to see a course similar to this one but more information on small scale organic/ free range set ups. I would also have appreciated a more in depth look into the economics and marketing of chicken products. Why is it that large scale operations tend to be more economically viable than their small scale counter parts. I would like to hear from more small scale produces and the problems/ benefits of their systems. Thank you for the free course non the less it was interesting to see how the different style and size of the operations operate and perform!

교육 기관: Emma W

2017년 9월 14일

I learnt a great amount about chicken behaviour (except their calls which I would like to know more about). However the course is too aimed at commercial breeders, so it wasn't as relevant to my backyard chickens as I would have liked. Weeks 1, 2 and 3 are quite relevant and helpful to backyard breeders (week 3 particularly for those who want to breed chicks). Weeks 4 & 5 I feel like they are justifying factory farms, more than educating about chickens. More information about backyard housing and specifics about diet (percentages of protein/carbs/fats & where to get these) would be appreciated. Well worth paying for if you would like proof of knowledge for the industry. Or even for weeks 1, 2 and 3, if you'd like a certificate to show your girls.

교육 기관: Ana B

2017년 4월 26일

Se trata de un curso bastante general sobre el B.A. que recomiendo a gente que se quiera informar sobre el tema, pero no necesita profundizar en ello. Lo que más me gustó fueron los primeros temas para aprender a diferenciar los tipos de picaje que presentan las aves.

Agradecería se profundizara más en algunos temas, como actualmente la polémica existente sobre la matanza de los pollitos macho de un día, el corte de picos, los sistemas en jaulas... Y se centra mucho en UK, en vez de en general.

교육 기관: dell s

2016년 10월 20일

pretty basic information with lots of repetition. course is short and really can be completed in an evening or two. instructor is knowledgeable. video of lecture doesn't add to presentation. there are few examples or interactive sessions and most of the time the instruction just speaks in front of a chicken cage. if i evaluate this course dispassionately then i don't think there is much difference between watching this course and reading a 5-10 page article.

교육 기관: Sarah H

2017년 8월 27일

The first few weeks were good - where it was actually about chicken behaviour. Not interested in the continued justification of industrial ag and the vilification of free range and home raised chickens.

교육 기관: Kelly L

2017년 5월 26일

This is geared more to the industry than it is to breeders and back yard flock keepers. Still has good information i

교육 기관: Claire C

2017년 1월 18일

nice teacher but the course is too succint.

Each lecture is very short and theoritical with little visual content. the course could/should be more detailed and a section of the course should relate to backyard chicken farming as well. i wish there also had been a section on how to recognise different illnesses in chickens and demonstration on how to humanely kill a chicken for example.

I enjoyed the course for what it was but i wish it had been taught with far more depth and breadth

교육 기관: Christine Y

2020년 6월 22일

I'm a backyard chicken flock owner in the US, much of this was not useful to me.

교육 기관: adeleke s

2020년 9월 21일

Is not ok at all, because I can't attempt my quiz

교육 기관: Theresa F

2018년 10월 11일

worth the work and time

교육 기관: Andrew d

2018년 8월 16일

I toke this course because I have some back-yard hens and wanted to learn more about hens. I didn't learned a lot from this course. There was a lot about killing chickens in this course.