Chevron Left
Chicken Behaviour and Welfare(으)로 돌아가기

에든버러대학교의 Chicken Behaviour and Welfare 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
1,003개의 평가
369개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course explains the general principles of chicken behaviour and welfare, and the behavioural and physiological indicators that can be used to assess welfare in chickens kept in hobby flocks through to commercial farms. The focus is primarily on laying hens and meat chickens (broilers) although many of the principles are relevant to other types of poultry. The course is likely to be of interest to people who own chickens as pets or keep a small hobby flock, commercial egg and chicken meat producers, veterinarians and vet nurses. Learning Objectives: at the end of this course, you will be able to - - Describe avian sensory perception and motivation - Explain the main behaviour patterns of poultry - Define welfare and explain the bases of welfare standards - Assess chicken welfare, using behavioural and physiological means - Understand common welfare problems of chickens This course is taught by staff from Scotland's Rural College (SRUC), University of Glasgow, and St David's Poultry Team. You can follow us on Twitter! #chickenmooc © University of Edinburgh and Scotland's Rural College 2016 CC BY...

최상위 리뷰

NT

2021년 7월 30일

Thank you very much to the instructor at Duke University. This course has taught me a great deal of information. Things that I never knew before, it was interesting and rewarding. Thank you very much.

MS

2019년 7월 30일

Great information about chickens' instinctive behaviors and the advantages and disadvantages of various means of caring for them. I learned a lot about the various systems used throughout the world.

필터링 기준:

Chicken Behaviour and Welfare의 369개 리뷰 중 51~75

교육 기관: Anna P P C

2018년 8월 20일

If you are looking for very a very detailed knowledge about behaviour this is not what you are looking for, but if you want to have the general idea to start to get involved deeper in poultry farming is ideal, although it is perfect to start a backyard flock.

교육 기관: Diego F P S

2022년 5월 22일

El curso brindó de manera muy facil un entendimiento de el comportamiento de las aves de producción, evaluacion de bienestar, como se produce el alimento desde los seres vivos hasta su sacrificio. Sería muy bueno que ofrezcan un curso de sanidad en las aves.

교육 기관: Melanie D

2021년 1월 26일

Very interesting course, covering the many facets of chicken behavior & the many issues to be considered. A must course for anyone planning to raising chickens on a small or large scale. Especially appropriate for a person hoping to have backyard chickens.

교육 기관: Tesla G

2021년 9월 16일

THANK YOU for not showing images of the stunning/slaughter process. Much appreciated. I learned a lot about chickens in this course. Thank you for sharing the knowledge and I hope all other countries can catch up with the EU when it comes to animal welfare!

교육 기관: Christine C

2021년 5월 13일

I loved everything about this course. I've owned chickens for three years and learned a ton about behavior and welfare that I didn't know previously. This was like taking a master's course and the professor rocked this course. Thank you for offering this!

교육 기관: Maho C

2017년 8월 1일

The course is very easy to follow and informative. The advice I received was timely and clear, so my learning experience here made it so easy. The course structure was very good, and the videos were helpful. The instructor is clear on her explanation.

교육 기관: Scarlett M

2021년 5월 27일

​This course was awesome, I'd really reccomend it to anybody who wants to keep chickens or who's just interested. The course includes good in-depth videos that explain the subjects really well and links to other informational sites and PDFs.

교육 기관: Michele

2017년 6월 4일

I've raised chickens all my life. This course has given me much insight into the rearing of chickens for egg production and/or meat. I have been given a more in depth view of problems with raising chickens and their behaviors and causes.

교육 기관: Patricia R

2021년 1월 2일

Very informative and easy to understand. I've gained knowledge and confidence that will benefit me and my backyard flock. I believe everyone that has a flock or is interested in getting a flock of any size would benefit from this course.

교육 기관: Jill M

2020년 12월 6일

Excellent class! Really enjoyed the material. I would love to take a class that covers common chicken ailments and treatment at home (as well as when to consult a vet) - geared towards backyard chicken owners. Thank you for the course :)

교육 기관: Melinda C

2020년 9월 10일

This is a very thorough course for the small amount of time it takes to complete. This course gave me alot of information that was not only useful to myself but to my clients as well. It allows you to take better care of your chickens.

교육 기관: Belen V

2020년 4월 6일

This course taught me everything about chickens. I always wanted to start a farm and raise my own chickens but had no idea how, this course explains everything in detail on what a chicken is and the many ways to care for one or many.

교육 기관: Muhammad U b S

2021년 7월 21일

I learned a lot from this course. All those who are interesting to switch their career into poultry industry should avail this fully informative course delivered by a beautiful and lovely teacher who speaks politely and beautifully.

교육 기관: Chris K

2020년 7월 8일

Great course, very informative - I learned a lot of very useful information.

The format of the course material and delivery is brilliant, and enables quick, easy learning and retention.

Thank you for this and all your other courses.

교육 기관: Stephanie A A

2016년 10월 24일

This is a great introductory course for anyone interested in raising chickens or working in poultry science. Doesn't go much into biology of chickens; just the methods of raising and drawing conclusions based on observations.

교육 기관: Daniel D

2016년 9월 13일

This course was very very useful for my wife and I (backyard chicken owners). Dr. Sandilands's clear presentation makes it very easy to get the concepts and understand how to apply them in an actual flock. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Lillian L

2017년 8월 24일

This course was very interesting and educational. I learned a lot about chickens - why they do things and how to keep chickens healthy. I learned a lot about the welfare of chickens.

Thanks for the great course, Coursera!

교육 기관: Elijah B

2016년 9월 4일

Very well-explained information is given. Anyone who is a chicken-lover or keeps chickens should take this course. It's not too much to learn. The videos are short and to the point, yet well-explained. A very good course.

교육 기관: Michelle H

2020년 5월 27일

Dr. Sandilands is a fantastic instructor -- knowledgeable, great communicator and engaging. I signed up for this course just to see how the concepts were covered. I didn't expect to enjoy it as much as I did. Thanks!

교육 기관: Claire D M

2020년 4월 18일

Very good intro course about chicken welfare, behaviour, and overview of production industries, especially for animal science or pre-vet students like myself. Would highly recommend. I like that it is self paced too.

교육 기관: Shannon R

2019년 9월 19일

This was a great intro course for someone interested in chicken behavior and welfare. Although geared more towards commercial farming, chicken hobbyists will still learn important things about keeping chickens.

교육 기관: Naritsorn P

2017년 5월 8일

The course is logic and interesting, not boring at all. As a vet I can use this course to improve my skill in practice easily and I'm sure you will find it useful/enjoy like I did too.

Regards,

Naritsorn P, DVM

교육 기관: Nguyen A T

2021년 7월 30일

Thank you very much to the instructor at Duke University. This course has taught me a great deal of information. Things that I never knew before, it was interesting and rewarding. Thank you very much.

교육 기관: Dr.Muhammad M

2021년 10월 16일

It's an excellent course for understanding the Chicken behaviour and welfare.

Thanks to University of Edinburg & Coursera for providing this opportunity.

Regards: Dr. Moeen (Layer Consultant), Pakistan