Chevron Left
Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation(으)로 돌아가기

듀크대학교의 Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.9
별점
222개의 평가
70개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

Chimpanzees are one of our closest living relatives, yet almost nothing was known about their behavior in the wild until Jane Goodall started her groundbreaking study of the chimpanzees of Gombe, Tanzania in 1960. This study continues today, following the same chimpanzee families that Jane Goodall first encountered over 55 years ago. Guided by three course instructors who have lived and worked with the Gombe chimpanzees, you will learn how Goodall’s early discoveries changed our view of human uniqueness. By completing the course, you will gain a new appreciation of the deep similarities between chimpanzees and humans in intelligence, tool use, hunting, personality and social relationships, as well as some key differences. You will learn how chimpanzees interact with their environment and how their behavior is influenced by ecology, as well as the severe conservation challenges they face today. And you will employ your new knowledge of chimpanzees to construct a persuasive argument for their protection. This course is open to everyone interested in learning more about these fascinating and complex beings. Knowledge of high-school level biology is beneficial but not required. Please keep in mind, however, that the content of this course will cover all aspects of chimpanzee life, including scientific discussion of sexual and aggressive behaviors....

최상위 리뷰

AK
2020년 5월 8일

I knew some about chimpanzees, but this just furthered my love and knowledge even more. The course was clear and easy to follow. You get what you put into the course, so take the take and learn!

JJ
2019년 4월 10일

A very interesting overview of chimpanzee behavior, ecology, and preservation. This course makes you want to go to Africa and spend at least some time working with chimpanzee studies.

필터링 기준:

Chimpanzee Behavior and Conservation의 71개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Jessica K

2019년 7월 29일

Whether you're a zookeeper, anthropologist, or simply a great ape enthusiast, this course is great for learning about and/or furthering your knowledge about chimpanzees.

교육 기관: Petra F

2019년 8월 20일

I REALLY enjoyed this course. The instructors of the course are very knowledgeable and they presented the material in a clear and concise way; short videos followed by practice quizzes, discussion forums, occasional readings, and the weekly assessments. The videos were just the right length and the entire structure of the course made it possible for me (working a full-time and a part-time job) to complete this course. I wish there would be more courses offered by the same professors on this topic. Excellent course!

교육 기관: KateLyn M

2019년 5월 13일

Very much enjoyed the new information learned and the way that it was presented. Each video and activities were informative and interactive. Overall a great experience! Next, I would love to see Duke do further classes on other ape species.

교육 기관: Joseph B J

2019년 4월 11일

A very interesting overview of chimpanzee behavior, ecology, and preservation. This course makes you want to go to Africa and spend at least some time working with chimpanzee studies.

교육 기관: Sophie W

2019년 9월 8일

This style of learning fit perfectly with my current work/life routine and the course content was very thorough and easily accessible! Loved this 5 week course.

교육 기관: Christine C

2019년 9월 10일

Great course! I learned so many things about chimpanzees. It will help me as a new caregiver aid in a chimpanzees sanctuary. Thank you very much!

교육 기관: TIFFANY J

2019년 5월 22일

This course was so interesting and helpful! I really hope more courses like this are designed for the other great ape species!!!

교육 기관: John C

2019년 4월 29일

I learned so much from this course. Very excellent information.

교육 기관: TATIANA V R H

2019년 5월 8일

The best course about chimpanzee

교육 기관: marly u r

2019년 3월 21일

Excellent!!!!!!!!!!!!!

교육 기관: Editha S

2020년 11월 12일

I taught primatology at the University of Calgary from 1986-1991

and was curious to see new techniques or information from the field. I disgraced myself by not acing all the tests but you might want to examine the wording on the questions that I missed. In the question about advantages of group hunting I would agree that, in the long run, a lone hunter gets less meat but ,if he is successful in a single hunt and doesn't share, he gets more meat. Of course by age 76 my mind isn't what it used to be. Thanks for an interesting course.

M.E.Stephens

교육 기관: Abby L

2020년 5월 31일

I am a high school student, and this class was perfect. It was a fun and informative course that had its challenges but was understandable and wasn't too much of a time commitment. I learned so much and loved the professors of the course. This class inspired me to pursue some type of major in college that has to do with conservation/sustainability. I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to learn about chimpanzees and what they can do to help them.

교육 기관: Skye

2021년 2월 19일

I really enjoyed this course , I found it interesting and fun and I recomend it to people with a passion for wildlife , the environment and of course chimpanzees . This course has helped me understand more about maybe what I want to do as a caree in the future and it also taught me how I can help out with the environment. Also the instructors for this course are great and all their instructions are clear , so 5 stars,

교육 기관: Emily T

2020년 8월 18일

Incredibly informative, helpful and easy to digest. I know so much more about Chimpanzees and the important conservation efforts underway to preserve them and their environment. Considering how similar these great apes are to humans, learning all about their behavior was so interesting. I definitely feel a lot more informed. The modules were not difficult to follow and kept my interest throughout the whole thing.

교육 기관: Lynn H

2021년 2월 3일

I really enjoyed this course, it was well presented, in a level that was accessible and was enlightening!

Highly recommend this to anyone who has an interest in conservation, Chimpanzees, or rainforest.

This course interested me so much, that I went on a singed up for a degree in Animal Behaviour, welfare and conservation!

교육 기관: jessii p

2020년 5월 7일

Very interesting course, I learned a lot that I really had no clue about, especially how cell phones affect Chimpanzee populations and how hard they are to track and study. The professors made all the course work easy to understand and retain, and the peer review projects we had to do at the end were great.

교육 기관: Kylee S

2020년 6월 7일

All three instructors explained the information very well. The course was easy to follow, in a format that made it very easy to look back at any information or notes I needed to review. I took this class for fun, but I learned a lot of information that I believe will help me in my future career path.

교육 기관: Petra L

2021년 4월 26일

I learned a lot in this course. It was very interesting and fun to get to know so much about chimpanzees. What makes it even better for me is that the teachers had actual practical expierence of the subject they were talking about. I would definitelly recommend this to others.

교육 기관: Snigdhodeep M

2020년 5월 8일

This course was extremely helpful. I gained a lot of valuable knowledge from this. The course materials were very comprehensive and provided a lot of insights. This also shares a lot of information which has changed my perception on chimpanzees. Highly recommended!

교육 기관: Billie H

2020년 2월 7일

Up to date and relevant information throughout the 5 weeks, various topics are covered and it was fun to complete. This is a great course for any body instrested in Chimpanzees, Chimpanzee conservation or becoming a zookeeper. Thoroughly enjoyed this course.

교육 기관: Khalid A

2020년 5월 18일

I liked this course a lot. It was informative, mind opening and actually fun. I was enjoying each lesson. The instructors are well spoken and the material is clear. Nevertheless, don't expect to learn a lot of skills, it is mostly information.

교육 기관: Lorenzo G

2020년 7월 27일

Brilliant. One of the best courses I've ever taken. Just a shame you don't talk about other sanctuaries other than the JGI ones. Still, I strongly recommend this course to anyone who is interested in knowing our hairy relatives.

교육 기관: DANIEL S

2021년 10월 28일

By the end of this course you will have a full comprehension of chimpanzee behaviuor and activity along conservation. it has changed my perspective at a global scale. Thanks to the clear and easily understood presenters.

교육 기관: Laura I

2021년 2월 14일

This was great! I have started a number of other courses just for fun or to learn about a certain topic covered within that course. This was the first one I finished and it was excellent! I am so sad that it is done.

교육 기관: Martina

2020년 5월 26일

Beautiful and really interesting course where you will learn so much about this beautiful creatures. It was pleasure to listen lectures of great teachers and to be part of this journey with chimps. I will miss it!