Chevron Left
Chinese Politics Part 1 – China and Political Science(으)로 돌아가기

홍콩과학기술대학의 Chinese Politics Part 1 – China and Political Science 학습자 리뷰 및 피드백

4.8
별점
280개의 평가
64개의 리뷰

강좌 소개

This course offers a conceptual framework for understanding China that highlights the intersection of politics and economics. It shows that rather than develop into a full blown market economy, state and party officials at all levels of the political system maintain significant influence in economic development. Such a “political” economy has had both positive and negative outcomes, which we will assess in detail. We also look at the origins, views, backgrounds and relations among leaders, and how those leaders make decisions about public policy and try to get those decisions implemented down through the system. China has few formal institutions through which citizens can participate in politics, but we will study the strategies Chinese people use to try to influence their leaders’ decisions. Finally, we assess China’s future and whether rapid economic development and the emergence of a vibrant middle class will push China towards greater democracy or whether the single party system is likely to survive into the future. The course is a quite useful background for Chinese Politics Part 2 – China and the World. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/7FpNL67EbE4...

최상위 리뷰

OB
2021년 11월 20일

Excellent course for anyone interested remotely in China studies. This course covers topics from Chinese policymaking to Chinese economy, Chinese trade policies and China's rural democracy

AM
2020년 5월 17일

Fascinating and informative course. If I had to change something, I found that too often the questions often focused on details rather then understanding the material and themes.

필터링 기준:

Chinese Politics Part 1 – China and Political Science의 63개 리뷰 중 1~25

교육 기관: Angel V

2017년 5월 26일

This course about Chinese politics is very good. Chinese politics are extremely complicated, especially for anyone coming from non communist states. This course is a very good introductory course on Chinese politics. China is the world’s second largest economy and one of the most influential countries today. The Middle Kingdom has a very unique political system. The professor is excellent and the institution providing this course is a world class university. I took Part I and Part II of this course. I really enjoyed both courses. I think even Chinese people would learn a great deal during this course. (我建议大家上这门课)

교육 기관: Fred I

2018년 10월 26일

Good lectures both for content and delivery. Good slides provided structure and direction plus they were available to download. This course is a must to understand relations between China and the U.S. I was confused by the papers. Since the quizzes just covered a module, I thought that the papers just covered the current module. Instead it required backup info from all the modules. This should be made clear in the paper directions. I will definitely take class two. I have taken plus 20 Coursera classes and I would rate it in the top 5.

교육 기관: Tuna B

2019년 3월 31일

Excellent course on China. A little bit demanding but I loved the historical examples and the comparision of other academics. Mr. Zweig is really an amazing proffessor and I hope he will do more courses like this.

교육 기관: Adam M

2020년 5월 17일

Fascinating and informative course. If I had to change something, I found that too often the questions often focused on details rather then understanding the material and themes.

교육 기관: Russil W

2020년 9월 21일

Provides a clear picture of all aspects of politics in China, as of 2015: its political structure (including the dominance and pervasiveness of the Party), the struggle to become leader and to consolidate power, policy implementation, societal engagement (including protests and passive resistance), political aspects of the economy (including the major waves of reform), and finally future developments. The instructor, Dr. David Zweig, is excellent: he presents the material clearly, and he has long experience in the field. I also found the readings quite helpful, although I should warn that you may need to use Google and archive.org to track them down.

교육 기관: Arusyak H

2020년 7월 25일

I've taken this course as I'm doing my research in Chinese foreign policy and I needed more insight on Chinese domestic and international politics. Prof. Zweig's lectures were interested, backed with surveys, facts, theoretical frameworks and his own experience as a researcher and a former student in China. I really enjoyed the course and I'm going to take Part 2 now!

교육 기관: Andrew

2018년 3월 26일

I did this course out of personal interest and to practice studying in case I want to return to university in the near future. I really enjoyed the course and found the content interesting. I also feel it helped me to practice studying and assignment writing. The structure (videos 5-15 minutes long) was great for me too as I'm a stay at home dad 2 days a week.

교육 기관: JOHN Q

2017년 11월 20일

I enjoyed this course tremendously, and discovered that there was a vast amount of information that I needed to learn about this SuperPower. China is an amazing country with an enormous population and economy, a history of remarkable achievement, and yet still unknown in many ways. Thanks for putting this course together.

교육 기관: quentin v

2019년 11월 17일

This course permitted me to catch the domestic economic and political changes of China to replace them in the global evolution of the country and its relationship with the rest of the world. The written .pdf and .txt support make easy to constantly go back searching informations in the whole course.

교육 기관: Mustafa N

2018년 2월 14일

This course is great! I learned a lot. More importantly, there were some well provided insights coupled with equally unique perspectives I simply never had before. Thank you The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. And thank you Coursera for hosting this course.

교육 기관: Trevor F

2021년 6월 14일

The course was a great overview of the structure of the Chinese political system, and some of the challenges it has faced since the Mao era. I thought the sections on Deng's economic reforms were especially interesting.

교육 기관: Matthew J

2019년 9월 3일

Very interesting class with a great teacher! Only complaint I have is that the tests have overly-specific questions (the questions bank on obscure dates and names), and that there are some typos on the notes slides.

교육 기관: SUN Y M

2017년 4월 20일

Great course with intense knowledge. Just because I had little history background of modern China. Another short course to state facts of history may be helpful. This one is challenging.

교육 기관: Omkar B

2021년 11월 21일

Excellent course for anyone interested remotely in China studies. This course covers topics from Chinese policymaking to Chinese economy, Chinese trade policies and China's rural democracy

교육 기관: Charlie W

2017년 4월 12일

Both enjoyable and informative. It is exactly the sort of crash course in Chinese politics I was looking for and I have been inspired to take my learning on the subject further

교육 기관: Claudio C

2017년 10월 15일

Excellent. One of the best MOOCs I have taken. The videos, the materials provided (articles and excerpts to read, slides etc.). Moreover, if one writes somebody answers!

교육 기관: Ariel K

2020년 5월 24일

As someone who had a lot of prior knowledge about Chinese politics, this course gave me more dept on the topic and put my previous knowledge in order. Wonderful course.

교육 기관: J D

2016년 3월 6일

A well-structured, thoughtful course delivered by a true expert on the subject. One of the finest courses available throughout the entire Coursera platform.

교육 기관: Huayu D

2020년 6월 10일

Great class! I learn a lot about Chinese politics even though I am a Chinese citizen. I hope that questions of quiz and final exams can be ameliorated.

교육 기관: Ralph R F

2019년 5월 20일

Comprehensive and practical. Prof. David Zweig's narrative teaching style and his first hand experience made the course content easy to understand.

교육 기관: Marisa C G

2020년 11월 5일

El mejor curso para comprender la estructura del sistema político chino, la retroalimentación del tutor complementa perfectamente cada sesión.

교육 기관: Kane M

2017년 9월 6일

Refreshingly vivid content and lectures. Above average discussions for social science/politics classes on Coursera. Overall big thumbs up!

교육 기관: Aditya S

2020년 8월 12일

The course opened up a rather obscure world of Chinese politics, and would greatly help me understand China more realistically.

교육 기관: Herve Y

2017년 11월 1일

I have learned a lot about my roots, professor Zweig is living what he teaches.

Thank you so much to Dr Zweig and Coursera

교육 기관: OLUFSEN, B

2016년 9월 5일

I am audting this course and intend to attend the second part. The Professor is outstanding !

Greetings,

Bjorn OLUFSEN