Chevron Left
Chinese Politics Part 1 – China and Political Science(으)로 돌아가기

Chinese Politics Part 1 – China and Political Science, 홍콩과학기술대학

4.8
141개의 평가
29개의 리뷰

About this Course

This course offers a conceptual framework for understanding China that highlights the intersection of politics and economics. It shows that rather than develop into a full blown market economy, state and party officials at all levels of the political system maintain significant influence in economic development. Such a “political” economy has had both positive and negative outcomes, which we will assess in detail. We also look at the origins, views, backgrounds and relations among leaders, and how those leaders make decisions about public policy and try to get those decisions implemented down through the system. China has few formal institutions through which citizens can participate in politics, but we will study the strategies Chinese people use to try to influence their leaders’ decisions. Finally, we assess China’s future and whether rapid economic development and the emergence of a vibrant middle class will push China towards greater democracy or whether the single party system is likely to survive into the future. The course is a quite useful background for Chinese Politics Part 2 – China and the World. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/7FpNL67EbE4...

최상위 리뷰

대학: CW

Apr 12, 2017

Both enjoyable and informative. It is exactly the sort of crash course in Chinese politics I was looking for and I have been inspired to take my learning on the subject further

대학: CC

Oct 15, 2017

Excellent. One of the best MOOCs I have taken. The videos, the materials provided (articles and excerpts to read, slides etc.). Moreover, if one writes somebody answers!

필터링 기준:

28개의 리뷰

대학: Ralph Romulus Frondoza

May 21, 2019

Comprehensive and practical. Prof. David Zweig's narrative teaching style and his first hand experience made the course content easy to understand.

대학: Tuna Bozalan

Mar 31, 2019

Excellent course on China. A little bit demanding but I loved the historical examples and the comparision of other academics. Mr. Zweig is really an amazing proffessor and I hope he will do more courses like this.

대학: Joy Smith

Jan 28, 2019

ok class. Good facts about China

대학: Fred Irvine

Oct 26, 2018

Good lectures both for content and delivery. Good slides provided structure and direction plus they were available to download. This course is a must to understand relations between China and the U.S. I was confused by the papers. Since the quizzes just covered a module, I thought that the papers just covered the current module. Instead it required backup info from all the modules. This should be made clear in the paper directions. I will definitely take class two. I have taken plus 20 Coursera classes and I would rate it in the top 5.

대학: Adam Real

May 21, 2018

Professor Zweig is brilliant, very well put together course. Lots of fun and I learned a lot.

대학: Andrew

Mar 27, 2018

I did this course out of personal interest and to practice studying in case I want to return to university in the near future. I really enjoyed the course and found the content interesting. I also feel it helped me to practice studying and assignment writing. The structure (videos 5-15 minutes long) was great for me too as I'm a stay at home dad 2 days a week.

대학: Mustafa Niyazi

Feb 14, 2018

This course is great! I learned a lot. More importantly, there were some well provided insights coupled with equally unique perspectives I simply never had before. Thank you The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. And thank you Coursera for hosting this course.

대학: Renato Gomez

Jan 24, 2018

Amazing course..very useful for gaining a better understanding of the Chinese political system

대학: Nabraj Lama

Dec 05, 2017

Anyone interested on China Studies must go through this course

대학: JOHN QUINCY

Nov 20, 2017

I enjoyed this course tremendously, and discovered that there was a vast amount of information that I needed to learn about this SuperPower. China is an amazing country with an enormous population and economy, a history of remarkable achievement, and yet still unknown in many ways. Thanks for putting this course together.